Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
An excellent book which prepares students for the examination very well. Very good reading and listening material. Imaginative exercises for students
Published 1 month ago by lynn oldfield

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a 'complete' and disgraceful rip-off
As noted by others, the student's book is not complete at all - no audio cds were included, and had to be bought separately - even worse, the book and the cd tracks don't always correspond - the Unit 2 'Speaking' track for example is simply absent from my copy, although the transcript appears as normal in the key.

I was initially fooled by the presence of a cd...
Published 21 months ago by T. P. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a 'complete' and disgraceful rip-off, 5 Nov 2012
By 
T. P. Jones "Tim Jones" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
As noted by others, the student's book is not complete at all - no audio cds were included, and had to be bought separately - even worse, the book and the cd tracks don't always correspond - the Unit 2 'Speaking' track for example is simply absent from my copy, although the transcript appears as normal in the key.

I was initially fooled by the presence of a cd inside the back cover, but this is NOT the audio component of the various units, and the audio cds had to be ordered separately, at no small cost - appallingly sloppy production, and I wouldn't buy titles from these authors again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing Audio CDs, 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
I bought this book after browsing it for a while in the library. I had noticed there were "listening" sections that might have turned out particularly useful. I thought I would fine the tracks in the included CD-ROM, only to discover that they were on some audio CDs not shipped with book. I got so pissed off! That the CDs are missing is not clearly explained anywhere on the front/back covers, and now I have to spend other 45 pounds to get them! be advised that this book is almost useless without the CDs and you have to buy them separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars its not complete at all. no cd's, not good value for money, 2 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
This book is not COMPLETE, the cds required for all the exercises have to be bought seperately. Something not highlighted when purchasing the book. Be aware!!! the cd's cost about 34 pounds extra. You'd think the description 'with cd rom' suggests the book is complete with the cd needed for the book itself. but its not. The cd has nothing to do with the listening exercises. i dont think its value for money at all. This sort of info should be highlighted , its vital when buying off the net. I've waited for this and find it very frustrating that i have to buy the cd's and wait even longer , i dont even know for sure if the 3 cds advertised here on amazon actually go with the book. not very happy with this at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars problem to find out how I can do my activities book without the cd, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
The book is good but but it came just with the cd rom and i cant do the listening activities without the cd .
Can some one give me an answer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
An excellent book which prepares students for the examination very well. Very good reading and listening material. Imaginative exercises for students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book is very good but absence of class CDs is very misleading, 25 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
I really think the book is very well structured and written, and the workbook is also quite useful, especially for homework. I would have given it a 5 star easily. But I was also fooled by the fact that the included CD is actually NOT the listening content for the exercises in the book. This is very upsetting, especially because the 3 CDs cost 45 pounds or so. That is double the price of the book.

My advice: get the teacher's book and have someone with a good accent read the texts out loud. :)

Another thought: why is it that these audio tracks only come as CDs? Personally, I have 2 last generation laptops, a MacBook pro and an ultraportable computer and none of them have a CD tray anymore. Would it not be much easier if they made the book a little bit more expensive and offered the tracks as downloads from the Cambridge website? They could save some money on the accompanying CD which is some sort of e-learning oh-gimme-a-break gimmick.

Good book otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good product and used many times with pupils who also ..., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
A good product and used many times with pupils who also have their own copy of the book.
The activities are challenging and varied and are appropriate for first certificate level.
A vocabulary list would be a helpful addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reasons for choosing "Complete First Certificate", 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
It's a useful tool for my job as an English teacher.
I'll be using it with the students who intend to carry on their
academic and professional careers in an English-speaking
country.
I'll be using it this year and probably
the following years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's a good book, 5 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
This is a very good choice indeed. Very informative book with lots of exercises.
It will help a lot the people who are getting prepared for an FCE related exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best FCE Text Book, 8 Dec 2009
By 
J. Svensson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM (Paperback)
I have gotten a few other text books for the FCE, but this one was by far the best. Very well organised, interesting articles and with exercises very much like the FCE test, but in a friendly way, I can say. (I even bought the Workbook and the CDs) It was definitely a good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM
Complete First Certificate Student's Book with answers with CD-ROM by Guy Brook-Hart (Paperback - 24 April 2008)
23.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews