Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book is very good!
It is not that small because it is VERY condensed and there is no waist of space as in other language books.

As for the content, it is exactly what students preparing for IELTS Academic need. It is not a textbook on how to take the test. It explains how to say and write correct phrases on IELTS topics. It has very good explanations on the first academic essay...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Assya Ostroukh

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good complement but not enough to prepared IELTS
This book is quite small (for its price). However, it is divided in around 25 units. Each unit is about a specific grammar point in English. The rule is well and simply explained and followed with short exercises (with correction at the back of the book). After a few units, there is a "global" test with exercises about the specific points just seen. I would say this book...
Published on 4 Nov 2008 by C. Herrador


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good complement but not enough to prepared IELTS, 4 Nov 2008
By 
C. Herrador (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
This book is quite small (for its price). However, it is divided in around 25 units. Each unit is about a specific grammar point in English. The rule is well and simply explained and followed with short exercises (with correction at the back of the book). After a few units, there is a "global" test with exercises about the specific points just seen. I would say this book can be a good complement (for someone with already a good level in English) but definitely not sufficient to practice or prepare the IELTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book is very good!, 28 April 2011
By 
Assya Ostroukh (Krasnodar, Krasnodar region Russian Federation) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
It is not that small because it is VERY condensed and there is no waist of space as in other language books.

As for the content, it is exactly what students preparing for IELTS Academic need. It is not a textbook on how to take the test. It explains how to say and write correct phrases on IELTS topics. It has very good explanations on the first academic essay (the report). Use of articles and prepositions is explained well too.

Briefly, it is not a study-book that prepares you for exam. But it is very useful as a supplement. Strongly recommended for someone who wants to score at more than 6.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
Excellent book, certainly helped me to improve my writing for my exam and has a good explanation of normal mistakes that sometimes we do not realise when we write in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all you need, 14 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
I can recommend this book not only as a preparation for IELTS but for every student of English. It gradually builds up in difficulty and brings the most difficult and tricky rules/questions to the point. I'm glad it's not a lengthy book with pages over pages the explaining the same issue until you forgot what you were actually looking for, or where. Perfect companion for IELTS preparation with short and easy to understand explanations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pros and cons, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
The book is rather tiny, so that can be a bit of a disapointment. however, some of the units are very effective and the grammar is well explained. i would say that it is certainly a useful book, but maybe a bit overpriced. i'll still recommend it to someone preparing ielts though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so useful for a native English speaker, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
I had to do the IELTS test as although English is my first language it isn't the primary first language of the country I grew up in (South Africa).

I've not written any exams in many years so was hoping for a quick brush up to help me avoid common pitfalls. This book did not do this.

It has indepth grammatical errors that commonly occur, syntax, that type of thing. Things that as a native English speaker I don't really have to think about all that much, it just happens naturally.

I didn't use this book at all in my prep, however, I did get an 8.5 (out of 9).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
It does really revise the common mistakes on the IELTS exam and after studying it I've got excellent scores. Good for the value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
It is a thin and good to have as you can take it with you everywhere! Good to practise at any time!
Quite handy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Study Tool, 18 April 2014
By 
S. Smith (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
This book is based on the actual mistakes that students commonly make in the IELTS exam, and gives clear guidance on how to avoid them. Its thirty sections are arranged broadly in order of difficulty, with the easiest and most common first. These sections are divided into ten groups, each followed by a revision test: there is also an answer key for all the tests. Each of the sections gives concise guidance on its topic followed by a short exercise to consolidate this.

I have used this to prepare students for the IELTS exam and have generally found it very useful for teaching in conjunction with other study aids. It may not be so useful for self-study, for two reasons. Firstly, there is no introduction or other guidance on how to use this book and, secondly, the brevity of its explanations can lead to misunderstandings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but it should have been more complete, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them (Paperback)
It's ok, but I expected more about the IELTS exam, not just grammar and exercises. It doesn't talk about the tests, but only the most common errors in grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them
Common Mistakes at IELTS Advanced And How to Avoid Them by Julie Moore (Paperback - 29 Mar 2007)
7.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews