Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great self-study book
This is a great book not only for those whose English is not their first language. Like every other book from the "English Vocabulary" series it contains exercises with key and an index. It also includes a good foreword section explaining the strategies for learning, word meanings and how to make the most of this book. Each section of the book is based on a prticular...
Published on 31 July 2010 by fatemeh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book but not for me
I have done my masters in pharmacy and bought this book to improve my English further...but too boring to encourage me to read...finally give up and donated this book to local library
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. A. Kaur


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great self-study book, 31 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book not only for those whose English is not their first language. Like every other book from the "English Vocabulary" series it contains exercises with key and an index. It also includes a good foreword section explaining the strategies for learning, word meanings and how to make the most of this book. Each section of the book is based on a prticular topic such as for instance "Relationships - problems", "British politics" or "Number: statistics and assessing quantity" with an article or a text and some useful explanatory notes and then the exercises section. There are 100 units of vocabulary reference and practice.
Obviously a good, at least intermediate level is required but in my opinion people who have a good command of grammar and look forward to enhance their technical vocabulary (business in this instance), especially foreign business students should definitely buy this book.
The experience of the Cambridge University Press speaks for itself once again. A brilliant self-study book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dificult but extremely good to inprove our english., 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Vocabulary in Use Advanced with Answers and CD-ROM (Paperback)
In this book you have a hundred units to improved your english. At the first ones you will have a some considerations of the languague and the meaning of the words such as the metaphora and the collocations. In the rest of the units you will not have the grammar aspects of the language, instead of it you will have advanced vocabullary with grammar aspects and the meannings that the word have in various type of situations.
The words cover many situations and areas, and you can pick the units to study that are related to what you want and need. and also you have exercises to study with results at the end of the book. And the cd have more exercises to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book but not for me, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Kaur "Aman" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: English Vocabulary in Use Advanced with Answers and CD-ROM (Paperback)
I have done my masters in pharmacy and bought this book to improve my English further...but too boring to encourage me to read...finally give up and donated this book to local library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read some reviews, I decided to buy the book, which is very well written. I will highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Room for Improvement, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This may be a slightly earlier edition that the 2006 one, but from what I could tell much of the content is the same. Of course the layout and use of colour in the later edition is a vast improvement, but my comments here will principally apply to both editions as far as I can tell.

On the plus side :
1, The authors do make attempts to categorise the vocabulary into useful topics and concepts. Students can therefore select chapters which are either relevant to their present study or are of interest to them personally.
2. What's more, many of the model sentences have the ring of authentic English about them and so students wouldn't sound foreign if they used them directly from the book.
3. Attempts have been made to make the student's first encounters with vocabulary more inviting through the use of articles, mini dialogues, a few pictures etc.
4. There is a fairly good range of (mainly) controlled practice activities to familiarise students with the meaning, word class, etc. of the vocabulary items in question.

On the negative side :
1. There is far too much listing of vocabulary with accompanying definition in the presentation stage. Not only is this off-putting for all but the most resolute student, but it also speaks of sheer laziness on the part of the authors. There are many many ways to enliven new vocabulary and more importantly get students involved right from the word go. Far too often I've worked through a section wondering whether I wasn't just looking at some glorified thesaurus and dictionary dressed up to look like a study book.
2. It's ironic that although the authors mention register they have very little regard for when and where certain types of vocabulary could be used - and, more importantly, - what sort of individual would use certain of the "informal" language chosen by the authors. Personally, I find expressions like "living from hand to mouth" ("scrimp and save" not mentioned) and "she'll get over it" (referring to health) rather idiotic - the sort of thing that would lower my estimation of whoever was saying them and make me cringe if spoken by a non-native speaker. All this is reminiscent of the worst from the otherwise excellent (though undoubtedly "best ideas plundered from my past DELTA/DipTEFL students") Headway series (eg. "That's corny". "Tell me about it" ad nauseum). Especially at proficiency level students really ought to be encouraged to be aware of at least 4 degrees of register, AND warned about certain words, phrases and structures. Nuances of meaning are also frequently overlooked in this book. Although there is some work on collocations, I would have preferred more and for it to form part of nearly every unit.
3. There seems to be little purpose to some of the units except the possible recognition and recitation of set words. Consequently, on these occasions, students might well lack confidence in actually integrating the vocabulary into their own use and practising it in the real world. Now that really is an indictment of these Cambridge authors...Will I get a job as a Cambridge consultant? Probably not. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many thanks. Nothing more to comment on it is just an English vocabulary for all students out of education older or young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: English Vocabulary in Use Advanced with Answers and CD-ROM (Paperback)
I bought the book to use in my English as a Second Language course. I used it through a year. The book will enrich your vocabluary. It will teach you vocabluary that no other book will! It is really worth to buy! My whole family loved the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Esencial para estudiantes de nivel avanzado de inglés, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Vocabulary in Use Advanced with Answers and CD-ROM (Paperback)
Una forma muy sencilla de aumentar tu vocabulario, el cd-rom es muy útil para la pronunciación y el listening y trae gran cantidad de ejercicios con sus correspondientes correcciones para que no necesites la ayuda de un profesor a la hora de prepararte para un examen. Mi valoración de este artículo es: excelente e imprescindible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Vocabulary in Use Advanced with Answers and CD-ROM
English Vocabulary in Use Advanced with Answers and CD-ROM by Felicity O'Dell (Paperback - 21 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: 15.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews