Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2010
As this is a very useful book for self-study or for homework for a class, it really can be described as an essential resource. Grammar is split into easy steps and students can practise points they aren't sure of and check their answers in the back. This latest edition now has colour which helps some students. It is a little difficult for beginners unless they are very academic but is fine for elementary and pre-intermediate. The Intermediate and Advanced versions are available for higher students.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
I teach English as a foreign language, and this is the perfect book for beginner to intermediate level students. It teaches grammar in a practical, easy to understand way. Highly recommended.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
This book was bought for my wife who is Chinese and is used by her tutors at the local college, highly recommended for people who have basic English and wish to have a good understanding of grammar, best buy this year
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
I have used this book and the others of this series with an ESL class as well as when tutoring. The use of traditional in my title is not negative: I have found that sometimes an old method can work as well as a bagful of new ones. I find the explanations and examples in this book clear and suitably short as not to confuse the student. While there are a varied set of exercisers, each set gives plenty of practice, including the traditional repetitive kind (that makes it easier to "see" the grammar point) to ensure success. Tests and answers to the exercises make this book suitable for self study as well as in the classroom. While it does not do away with guided tuition, it complements nicely whatever coursebook you are using.

The only niggle is the binding: the pages of my copy are glued and are already coming apart after less than two years of what I wouldn't call as heavy use.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Essential Grammar in Use is one of the best books on the market for elementary learners of English... and new teachers who need to understand grammar fast! It's got simple explanations and a variety of exercises so it's simple to use and easy to learn from, even if the student has limited knowledge of English. (The book can also be used for self study if you buy the version with answers.)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
The book is very useful for people who just started learning English. A learner can use it on his/her own as there are explanations of certain grammar rules and exercises with answers. Also teachers can find it useful in their classroom as an additional source of grammar exercises. It's simple to use. The layout is very clear and there are some colourful pictures.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
This is an extremely useful study and teaching aid. It does away with scary grammatical explanations and instead leads the student through various models in common english to provide real experience. Each section comes with an exercise to cement ideas in the students' minds and these are not complicated and provide useful conversation points for lessons. On the whole a book which concentrates on 'when' we use as opposed to 'why' and while it is important for foreign language students to learn grammar, this is invaluable as a first step.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
I'm currently teaching English to 5 students in Italy and all are working from this book. It moves in a logical order, is easy to understand. I couldn't do without it!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is not intended that ISBN: 0521675804 should include a CD-ROM.

For that version, please refer to:

Title: Essential Grammar in Use with Answers and CD-ROM Pack
ISBN: 052167543X

Essential Grammar in Use with Answers and CD-ROM Pack

Alternatively, the CD-ROM can be purchased separately as

Title: Essential Grammar in Use CD-ROM
Binding: CD-ROM
ISBN: 0521675448

Essential Grammar in Use CD-ROM
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
I'm an ESL teacher and find this book invaluable for teaching my elementary students. The explanations are clear and easy to understand. The exercises are perfect for both oral and written practice by the students. This book is constantly with me during both lesson planning and classes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)