Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Universtity
This was on the reading list for University, so I bought it before I started. Smart writes a work that is easily absorbed while providing enough detail to engage. As a review of the worlds major religions and what it is that constitutes a religion this work has been a valuable asset throughout my first year.
Published on 12 Jun. 2009 by C. Savage

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars world religions
So stodgy! Has rather dampened my enthusiasm to do religion as my final OU subject. Very good if you want to know every minute religion there has ever - ever - ever been! But very handy if you are into amazing people with your knowledge of extremely obscure religions.
Published on 26 April 2009 by Mrs Enid M Holgate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Universtity, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
C. Savage ((Lincoln, England)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
This was on the reading list for University, so I bought it before I started. Smart writes a work that is easily absorbed while providing enough detail to engage. As a review of the worlds major religions and what it is that constitutes a religion this work has been a valuable asset throughout my first year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive text, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
This book is a masterpiece; well researched and comprehensive which shows unparalleled knowledge of the 'big six' religions whilst not ignoring the depth of minority religions and belief systems out there. In particular, I really enjoyed the sections on communism which I found incredibly insightful. So why did I give it four stars instead of five?
First of all, through no fault of it's own,it's quite outdated. I can't help thinking this would have been a different book if it had been written 3/4 years later.
Secondly, Smart has a tendency to jump around in his explanations which can confuse the reader's perception of chronology and his approach, unsurprisingly, emphasises the phenomenological and historical aspects of religion. I would often find myself unclear as to what a particular group actually believed in.
Third, in terms of content, I would have preferred more of an emphasis on some of the minority religions.
Overall, this book to me is a perfect reference text, for especially talented a-level students, undergraduates and interested adults. Yes, it's dry and yes, it has the faults listed above, but if you want to start the study of religion, I honestly don't think their is a better place to start... assuming you can get through Smart's prose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the definitive book on this subject., 4 Jun. 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It is probably the most in depth book on this topic i've ever read. It focuses on the main world religions, as well as some of the more obscure faiths/beliefs from around the world. It has beautiful photographs and a clear, engaging style. You could just as easily read it in one go, or dip into it as the mood takes you. Unsurpassed reading.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant look at the world of religion, 5 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Religions (Hardcover)
This is possibly the best book on Religion I've ever read. It covers not only the major and some minor religions, but it looks at how they interacted, and how they influenced each other.

This is more than just religion though, this is a timeline of the history of human thought, and shows how each religion has had to adapt and change to meet changes in society from the earliest times.

There are also two brilliant timeline graphics which show the evolution of the various religions side by side.

Truly enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone who is interested in comparative religion, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Religions (Hardcover)
Ninian Smart was the world's leading comparative religionist. I bought this book for few cents. It was used and in very good condition. The only problem is that it was not the newest edition (which is something that I was well aware at the time of the purchase)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A detailed book, 14 Dec. 2010
By 
M. J. Dedman "Misty Mountain" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
This covers world religions from different country's viewpoints and it goes into great depth. It does not cover each religion in turn, but most religions will be found in the various country reviews. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star for OU Religion Courses, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
Very useful to have on hand for reference for any religious study. Very learned and interesting. It looks at the worlds religions and discusses a seven dimensional model to understand them that I found invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Nov. 2008
By 
EW KING - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
This book is most certainly a must have for those interested in the study of religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any one remotely interested in this subject., 3 Sept. 2001
By 
timrobsund@aol.com (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
This is probably one of the best books around ont his subject. It takes every Religion from around the world looks at what they beleive, where they like how many are around the world, where ti all started and so much more. A must for any one remotely interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cover alone makes you want to read this book, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Religions (Paperback)
What I very like on this book is he it make a big travel journey with you around our lovely planet anf focusses on the world religions. From Polynesia to Russia and it is rather up to date regarding the split up of Russia. Good contents, good backgrounds. Compliments for the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World's Religions
The World's Religions by Ninian Smart (Paperback - 28 Jun. 1998)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews