Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rip-roaring tale of treachery and retribution
The last time I read any Shakespeare was in my teens and I did not really grasp it. Now as a pensioner with the time to sit down and concentrate I was completely gripped and amazed at the story and language. How Richard murderered and lied his way to grab the Throne,the cut and thrust of the conversations with his adversaries and his final come-uppance,is not a book to...
Published on 13 Jan. 2011 by David Wisdom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but an acceptable free text
This version differs from others around - dialogue does not constantly match the more authentic sources. Gloucester is written as Gloster, for example. However, if only wanting to read great stories and not having to learn lines or study for exams, this serves
Published 13 months ago by Keith Lawson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rip-roaring tale of treachery and retribution, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
David Wisdom "davewizzy" (cheltenham,glos,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
The last time I read any Shakespeare was in my teens and I did not really grasp it. Now as a pensioner with the time to sit down and concentrate I was completely gripped and amazed at the story and language. How Richard murderered and lied his way to grab the Throne,the cut and thrust of the conversations with his adversaries and his final come-uppance,is not a book to read in a hurry.It is written as a play,so must be read slowly and in a kind of rhythm,as a free download it is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study guide for Richard III, 13 April 2011
By 
E. Marshall (North Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Cambridge School Shakespeare) (Paperback)
This is an excellent study guide for Richard III - ideal for various age groups. I used it with an A Level Performing Arts group and they found it very accessible, with the extra information such as the family tree, incredibly useful and helpful to appreciate the plot fully. The activity suggestions are particularly useful from the drama point of view. It also contains the full text of the play with useful notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King Richard III Script/Study book for GCSE, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
Dancing Queen (Whitstable, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King Richard III (Cambridge School Shakespeare) (Paperback)
This is a very useful study resource for GCSE drama. Clearly presented pages, the text of the play has intelligent teaching notes printed alongside, along with photographs from various productions, they are used to help explain the the plot, and to pose questions to the reader to make you really examine and think about the play, the characters and the different ways they have been and can be portrayed. There is a useful family tree to help you understand the relationships between the main characters, and exercises are suggested for individual and group participation. My daughter found it a very useful preparation resource for the Richard's Rampage workshops at the Kevin Spacey Foundation earlier this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST MURDERER Remember our reward, when the deed's done, 3 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
SECOND MURDER Zounds, he dies: I had forgot the reward.

There is no good place to start on the play "The Tragedy of Richard III" by Shakespeare without having spoilers. Yet people that know history or at least Shakespeare's version 1592 or 1593, or familiar with Virgil's "Historia Angliae" will want this book for a good copy of the details of the play.

This is the GLOUCESTER: "Now is the winterer of our discontent" play.

I have several hard copies but the kindle adds portability and text-to-speak.

I have a hunch we have not seen the last of Richard III. No telling what can be dug up now days.

The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

Richard III DVD ~ Ian McKellen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars from quill to kindle, and still utterly wonderful., 26 Sept. 2014
By 
ron the dog (rothes, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
shakespeare's controversial version of the story of richard III may be disputed for it's historical accuracy but there is no doubt whatsoever about it's entertainment value. whether watching the play being performed or reading it in print (e-print in my case), it's a tale of a bad guy of epic proportions, and his horseless comeuppance. as my favourite shakespeare play it follows that i will naturally give it my highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but an acceptable free text, 9 April 2014
By 
Keith Lawson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
This version differs from others around - dialogue does not constantly match the more authentic sources. Gloucester is written as Gloster, for example. However, if only wanting to read great stories and not having to learn lines or study for exams, this serves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
I found this play very interesting at times but other Shakespearean plays such as the plays which are popular and well known are much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Shakespeare……!, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
Just got to read it if you like English Lit. Needed this Kindle download for a student so re-read for the first time in decades. More esteemed writers than I have written pages about this play so I'll not add to…..

It is my aim to get all my students to love Shakespeare - and for many English is not their first language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
I was very glad to get this free of charge, and enjoyed reading it. I plan to recommend it to my friends. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is good, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Richard III (Kindle Edition)
It is good. It is worth the price and it is set out very well. A must have for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Richard III (Cambridge School Shakespeare)
King Richard III (Cambridge School Shakespeare) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 14 July 2005)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews