Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information, highly accessible
This encyclopaedia is simply brilliant for language lovers. It is clear and concise, brilliantly illustrated and laid out, and it makes the subject matter interesting. Once again David Crystal has managed to convey his love of language.

This encyclopaedia covers a wealth of information:

Part I. The History of English: The origins of English; Old...
Published on 18 Jan. 2010 by Little Miss Average

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Bought as a present.
Published 1 month ago by Aerovision


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond mere words, 19 May 2012
By 
F. M. Muse "headspace traveller" (Leicester, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a very well thought out piece of writing this is. One can read this in a linear fashion, as there is much that will be new to perhaps many readers, however the work is so well conceived, that one can dip into it selectively, by subject or concept. I can't think of another book which even comes close, both in terms of it's comprehensive coverage of the subject matter and for sheer readability. The text is a delight and surely a reflection of the authors lifelong love of his subject. Every school library ought to have a copy and every teacher of English ought to think creatively about how this wonderful work might be introduced into the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 5 May 2010
This is a cracking book that will last you ages.. it will take that long to read it all! good information well put together. You can see David Crystal on you tube, he speaks as well as he writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear, 28 April 2009
Crystal's magnum opus is an intricate study of everything to do with the study of English Language. As an A-level English teacher I have habitually dipped into my copy when preparing lessons, and have shared numerous excerpts with my students, as well as reading myself. This weighty tome is a must have for all English Language students, teachers and lecturers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly comprehensive encyclopedia!, 30 Aug. 2011
Since I saw it in the book shop I made up my mind about buying a language encyclopedia. It is incredibly useful as reference, deeply interesting if you are fascinated by the language, its structure, uses and dialectal and regional variations across the world. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything should know these things!!!, 20 Jan. 2013
This is a great book to be conversant in language issues. People always talk about accents and grammar but for some reason very few know anything about linguistics. Easy to read,.comprehensive and very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great delivery, 5 May 2011
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
The delivery on this item was unbelievably fast and in brilliant condition. the book is a mine of information for anyone wanting to know about the development and use of the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough and visually appealing, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute MUST HAVE for all English linguistic fans. Answers more Qs than any other linguistic publication, and I read it for pleasure as well necessity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Useful, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
Vee "Vee's Views" (Middlesex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a mature student taking English Language 'A Level' and this is a useful source of information and explanations. Nicely laid out and accessible too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Resource., 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect for anyone taking their AS/A levels, the book offers extensive coverage of the English language.

A must have in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars University Book List so necessary to read for degree, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
University Book List so necessary to read for degree. A necessary read for all students wishing to complete a BA in English Language Teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by David Crystal (Paperback - 13 Aug. 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews