Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best you can buy
Possibly the best and most authoritative grammar book today available. Just go for it if you are serious about learning how English grammar works. I reccommend it to anyone studying at an upper-intermediate/advanced level.
Published 22 months ago by Andrea66

versus
6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn`t recommend
This is the most useless book on English grammar I`ve ever had. It might be useful for teachers who are not native speakers but it doesn`t actually help with the language if you want to improve your English. It just describes how the things are but lacks any logical explanations so all you can do is to memorize thousands of rules. This really isn`t my way of learning.
Published on 6 Jun 2009 by Kathy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best you can buy, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
Possibly the best and most authoritative grammar book today available. Just go for it if you are serious about learning how English grammar works. I reccommend it to anyone studying at an upper-intermediate/advanced level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cambridge Grammar of English, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Canon C. R. Evans "Canon C. R. Evans" (Dawlish Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
About as comprehensive as a grammar could be, yet readily accessible for checking particular points of usage. Appears equally useful to a teacher of Engish as a foreign language.

Its terminology is not the one older people learned at school - but none the less useful for that.

Hard to fault - unless there is just too much information overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Useful, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
I'm teaching English abroad and this has helped massively with learning about the grammar rules. English is complicated and most things we just know doesn't sound right but don't know why. This book explains it and has examples and is easy to read. It came quickly and it's extremely useful. Definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for the CD-ROM?, 19 Mar 2013
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
ISBN: 0521581664 is not intended to contain a CD-ROM.

ISBN: 0521674395 offers a Paperback with CD-ROM.

Cambridge Grammar of English Paperback with CD-ROM: A Comprehensive Guide

Or alternatively ISBN: 0521857678 is a Hardback with CD-ROM.

Cambridge Grammar of English Hardback with CD-ROM: A Comprehensive Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Condition was excellent. Really happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ratel, 14 April 2011
It's really good book for people who learn English.
I had been quite confused about which tense I should use and when.
This book explained me everything.
I'm satisfied in a 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am satisfied with the purchase, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
It is the kind of thing I was looking for to support and progress in my studies.
It is a good item for a good price, full of data, information and ideas about the
language of English, as I already said, perfect for the work and studies I am doing
at present. Excellent!!! I would buy another one if I needed it. Sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advanced grammar, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Ms. A. L. Squires (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
This book is extremely detailed with many examples. It is really for teachers who already have a good basic knowledge of English grammar. The grammar of "spoken" English is also included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
Very fast arrival from initial payment and in excellent condition, I only wish I didn't have up read the whole thing but I suppose that's life. Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
easy learning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide
Cambridge Grammar of English: A Comprehensive Guide by Michael McCarthy (Paperback - 6 Feb 2006)
£32.98
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews