Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good route into real Latin, 14 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
If you've finish learning basics of Latin grammar but don't yet feel ready to tackle Roman Latin without a bit of hand holding, then you'll get a lot out of this collection of interesting excerpts.

The anthology is half poetry and half prose. All the pieces come with glosses which define unusual words, provide left-out words and, most helpfully, clarify the word order of the more complicated sentences. The glosses provide that all important help for those attempting the originals for the first time.

I am slightly disappointed that the prose has been adapted. Having checked the originals, all available on the web, it appears that some of the duller bits and some of the harder bits have been removed or rephrased. But that is not unreasonable given the target, GCSE-level, readership of the book, and despite the adaptation the voices of the original authors still shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect next stage for Latin, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
I lead a U3A class for Latin for those in year 2 and beyond. This is the perfect introduction to classical Latin. There is text on the left hand side, and specific vocab. on the right. There is a general vocab. at the back.

All the principal authors are there, with the strange exception of the playwrights Plautus and Terence.

The book looks very good, is good to hold and fits easily into the pocket. It is very well supported through the Cambridge Latin Course website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleasing and thouroughly educational, 22 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
This book has proved indespensible to my understanding of Latin literature. It is well-written, presented and is lucid in it's masterly exposition of the key Latin classical texts. I would highly recommend it to any student of GSCE Latin who is looking to attain a high grade. The co-author, Mr Philip Parr, is an accomplished and excellent Latin teacher and I can personally vouch for his wit and intergrity as i myself have personally benefited from his knowledge for 3 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what was needed, 16 April 2013
By 
Ellen Ann (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
Item fulfilled all needs to complete the course, it is an easy format to follow and clearly set out. Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A concise collection of well-chosen Latin texts, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
I found this anthology very intriguing, with its choice of texts and the additional vocabulary given. I believe that in this book, the authors, particularly Mr Parr, has shone through as an incredibly well thought out person, who has chosen the texts with particular care. I am impressed by the way he accompanies his careful texts with impressive teaching, explaining everything with in-depth detail to illustrate fully the meanings of the anthology.
[Review posted by a former student of Mr Phillip Parr]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Ashley..., 8 May 2009
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
Salve! This is the best book I've ever read however, I think around 80% of it needs to be spellchecked as some of the words were a bit funny. I really love some of the characters, and I could really relate to Pyrrha. Definate 5 stars and I would recommend it to anyone else who is interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 15 Jun 2007
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
The book proved extremely useful with an intriguing set of texts.

I am also a current student of Mr Parr, who has given the most enjoyable Latin lessons I have had.

JH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Item arrived as expected, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
Item arrived as expected is functioning correctly and I have had no problems with it since I have started using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course)
Cambridge Latin Anthology (Cambridge Latin Course) by Cambridge School Classics Project (Paperback - 1 Aug 1996)
10.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews