Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£31.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2009
It has everything you need for a beginner, I was recommended to get this by my friends in first year physics.
Great service of delivery aswel.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2005
This book is simply amazing!
I have no formal trainning, I know no mathematics, I'm no new age guru, and still I have allways been interested on the subject of quantum physics. I tried with "the elegant universe" from brian green (wich I intend to re read in a few days) and couldn't really get a hold of everithing, but "The new quantum universe" explained things in such a SIMPLE non theoretical molstly practical way IT WAS ACTUALLY FUN TO READ! this easter I went to the beach and in spite of being called a geek I couldn't drop this book.
If you whant something really easy to understand yet absolutely complete, if you whant the level of mathematics you can do with your fingers and still undesrtand the complex world of quantum reality and it's many applications YOU are using every day then invest your time here, I promess you won't be dissapointed.
however, if you're a lectured person with a degree in physics/math or anything like that and you really wanna get into the abstract theoretical heart of this subject then go for the next book.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
This is a beautifully presented book, which is also extremely informative. Even if you have read the original edition then this updated version is still worth perusing. It is a superb introduction to the world of particle physics.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2007
I did science at school but lost interest after leaving. Then (8 years ago)I read this book. I am now studying sciences at degree level. It is THAT good!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2001
How so few people actually even heard of quantum science is a mystery, when it lies at the heart of just about everything. (For example, the number of times you need to use quantum mechanics to explain how a CD player works is staggering.) But it need not be anymore, with this simply excellent book, which explains just about everything with stunning clarity. Even my dad could understand some of it. Another name for this book could be "Life, The Universe and Everything" (if it hadn't already been used.) If you want to know how *everything* works (including yourself) get this book.
FOOTNOTE: Judging by the relatively few people who found my original review helpful, either I didn't express myself adequately clearly, or people have a remarkable lack of curiosity about "How Everything Works." Surely, you want to know, just a little bit. Don't you?
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2003
This is a new edition of an old book which was great at the time it came out, but which hasn't changed all that much. It would be very good for anyone new to the amazing world of quantum physics, but if you've read the original version I wouldn't bother with this. Perhaps the problem is thst nobody understood quantum physics ten years ago, and they still don't!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2003
This really is VERY interesting. I cant stress it anymore than that. Its got soooo much information but be warned, if you're not doing A level physics then u mind not understand a lot of it. Its really is superb tho, its amazing how the world works, and this books explains it and more!
BUY IT!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2001
This book should constantly be in Print, and simply donate a copy to the Physics department in every school. They then run an after-school club where they read it, try to understand it (fail) and then try again. There are plenty of other books that attempt the same sort of thing:"A Brief History of Time" by John Gribbin also works. Two by John Polkinghorne "The Quantum World" and "The Particle Play".Oddly enough, he's the one who gave up and became an Ordained Priest instead... Then the complete works of Richard Feynman. You even get the occasional hint in the works of Lucretius. The next worrying bit is you have a look round the room and try to work out which bits would be left if none of it worked. Just about any of it:Nothing would stick together (DNA wouldn't work. Chemical elements wouldnt get made. So there would need to be a New Periodic Table...
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)