Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners
It has everything you need for a beginner, I was recommended to get this by my friends in first year physics.
Great service of delivery aswel.
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by C. O. Chan

versus
12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice try
This is a new edition of an old book which was great at the time it came out, but which hasn't changed all that much. It would be very good for anyone new to the amazing world of quantum physics, but if you've read the original version I wouldn't bother with this. Perhaps the problem is thst nobody understood quantum physics ten years ago, and they still don't!
Published on 30 Oct 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 3 Dec 2009
By 
C. O. Chan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Quantum Universe (Paperback)
It has everything you need for a beginner, I was recommended to get this by my friends in first year physics.
Great service of delivery aswel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It did it for me., 1 Jun 2007
By 
S. Maxwell "Sam Maxwell" (Newark England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quantum Universe (Paperback)
I did science at school but lost interest after leaving. Then (8 years ago)I read this book. I am now studying sciences at degree level. It is THAT good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 26 July 2004
This review is from: The New Quantum Universe (Paperback)
This is a beautifully presented book, which is also extremely informative. Even if you have read the original edition then this updated version is still worth perusing. It is a superb introduction to the world of particle physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Physics for dummies, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Brian Pomeranz (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Quantum Universe (Paperback)
This book is simply amazing!
I have no formal trainning, I know no mathematics, I'm no new age guru, and still I have allways been interested on the subject of quantum physics. I tried with "the elegant universe" from brian green (wich I intend to re read in a few days) and couldn't really get a hold of everithing, but "The new quantum universe" explained things in such a SIMPLE non theoretical molstly practical way IT WAS ACTUALLY FUN TO READ! this easter I went to the beach and in spite of being called a geek I couldn't drop this book.
If you whant something really easy to understand yet absolutely complete, if you whant the level of mathematics you can do with your fingers and still undesrtand the complex world of quantum reality and it's many applications YOU are using every day then invest your time here, I promess you won't be dissapointed.
however, if you're a lectured person with a degree in physics/math or anything like that and you really wanna get into the abstract theoretical heart of this subject then go for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent, 17 Jun 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Universe (Paperback)
How so few people actually even heard of quantum science is a mystery, when it lies at the heart of just about everything. (For example, the number of times you need to use quantum mechanics to explain how a CD player works is staggering.) But it need not be anymore, with this simply excellent book, which explains just about everything with stunning clarity. Even my dad could understand some of it. Another name for this book could be "Life, The Universe and Everything" (if it hadn't already been used.) If you want to know how *everything* works (including yourself) get this book.
FOOTNOTE: Judging by the relatively few people who found my original review helpful, either I didn't express myself adequately clearly, or people have a remarkable lack of curiosity about "How Everything Works." Surely, you want to know, just a little bit. Don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice try, 30 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Quantum Universe (Paperback)
This is a new edition of an old book which was great at the time it came out, but which hasn't changed all that much. It would be very good for anyone new to the amazing world of quantum physics, but if you've read the original version I wouldn't bother with this. Perhaps the problem is thst nobody understood quantum physics ten years ago, and they still don't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its good, really good. Very interesting!!, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Quantum Universe (Paperback)
This really is VERY interesting. I cant stress it anymore than that. Its got soooo much information but be warned, if you're not doing A level physics then u mind not understand a lot of it. Its really is superb tho, its amazing how the world works, and this books explains it and more!
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Is Real (John Lennon), 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Quantum Universe (Paperback)
This book should constantly be in Print, and simply donate a copy to the Physics department in every school. They then run an after-school club where they read it, try to understand it (fail) and then try again. There are plenty of other books that attempt the same sort of thing:"A Brief History of Time" by John Gribbin also works. Two by John Polkinghorne "The Quantum World" and "The Particle Play".Oddly enough, he's the one who gave up and became an Ordained Priest instead... Then the complete works of Richard Feynman. You even get the occasional hint in the works of Lucretius. The next worrying bit is you have a look round the room and try to work out which bits would be left if none of it worked. Just about any of it:Nothing would stick together (DNA wouldn't work. Chemical elements wouldnt get made. So there would need to be a New Periodic Table...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0acbdbc)

This product

The New Quantum Universe
The New Quantum Universe by Patrick Walters (Paperback - 23 Oct 2003)
28.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews