Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for all English undergrads, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
With a whole new chapter on pragmatics Yule addresses all the key issues necessary for all English Undergrads. As a first year myself, I found the text extremely easy to follow, simple to understand and a good starting point. It is a necessity to read this if you are studying English and it is well worth buying. Other great books include Aitchinson, Linguistics and Montgomery, Ways of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easiest read on this out there, 27 Feb 2007
By 
Sergio Angel Verbo (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
This book is an amazing read for those wanting to learn about linguistics. It has clear examples and explanations, it covers every topic, from the theories about the origin of the language, phonetics or phonology, on to pragmatics, discourse and the like.

Obviously, it is not a thorough linguistics manual, it is for beginners, so to speak. But there's no better starting point than this. Every concept is introduced with really helpful examples, so it's easy to grasp everything. As an analogy, this is like a "popular science" book: it does not use special vocabulary without introducing it first, it assumes little prior knowledge fromt he reader, etc.

The choice of colour and font is superb as well. It always helps reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 17 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
I just couldn't put it down until I finished reading this book. This book deals with wide-ranging, complicated issues on linguistics in the plainest English. Well done. It has inspired me, who know little about linguistics, to look further into specific topics that interest me most. If you feel like knowing what's the language all about but don't know where to start, this book is definitely your best choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a fantastic book!!!, 25 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
i am un undergradtuate at york st john university studying linguistics. i was introduced to this book by a friend and once i started to read it i couldn't put it down. it has brief yet informative chapters on all aspects covered in the field of linguistics and the engish language. it explain difficult topics like semantics and pragmatics in an easy to understand manner without sounding patronising. this book is well worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i think it is a very useful book especially for students who are interested in understanding ..., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
i think it is a very useful book especially for students who are interested in understanding linguistics.indeed a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
such an easy book to read. good prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
Exactly as described, arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Study of Language (Paperback)
Good quality and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Study of Language
The Study of Language by George Yule (Paperback - 28 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: £0.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews