Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2000
With a whole new chapter on pragmatics Yule addresses all the key issues necessary for all English Undergrads. As a first year myself, I found the text extremely easy to follow, simple to understand and a good starting point. It is a necessity to read this if you are studying English and it is well worth buying. Other great books include Aitchinson, Linguistics and Montgomery, Ways of reading.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
This book is an amazing read for those wanting to learn about linguistics. It has clear examples and explanations, it covers every topic, from the theories about the origin of the language, phonetics or phonology, on to pragmatics, discourse and the like.

Obviously, it is not a thorough linguistics manual, it is for beginners, so to speak. But there's no better starting point than this. Every concept is introduced with really helpful examples, so it's easy to grasp everything. As an analogy, this is like a "popular science" book: it does not use special vocabulary without introducing it first, it assumes little prior knowledge fromt he reader, etc.

The choice of colour and font is superb as well. It always helps reading the book.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
I just couldn't put it down until I finished reading this book. This book deals with wide-ranging, complicated issues on linguistics in the plainest English. Well done. It has inspired me, who know little about linguistics, to look further into specific topics that interest me most. If you feel like knowing what's the language all about but don't know where to start, this book is definitely your best choice.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2004
i am un undergradtuate at york st john university studying linguistics. i was introduced to this book by a friend and once i started to read it i couldn't put it down. it has brief yet informative chapters on all aspects covered in the field of linguistics and the engish language. it explain difficult topics like semantics and pragmatics in an easy to understand manner without sounding patronising. this book is well worth every penny!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
i think it is a very useful book especially for students who are interested in understanding linguistics.indeed a great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
such an easy book to read. good prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Exactly as described, arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Good quality and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)