Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and precise
I bought this book for university and found it really useful to find the background to the events that we were studying. Certainly very useful for historians and learners of Portuguese.
Published 12 months ago by Rosemary Hyam

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A distorted picture
In my view, this history of Portugal gives a distorted image of the country. It stresses the country's problems and plays down its achievements. The book pictures Portugal as a country struggling to establish a place on the world scene; modernise its economy and society; and secure political stability (!). In contrast, one can not find much on Portugal's gold age of the...
Published on 19 Feb. 2004

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A distorted picture, 19 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
In my view, this history of Portugal gives a distorted image of the country. It stresses the country's problems and plays down its achievements. The book pictures Portugal as a country struggling to establish a place on the world scene; modernise its economy and society; and secure political stability (!). In contrast, one can not find much on Portugal's gold age of the voyages of discovery and a worldwide maritime empire in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. In fact there is not much on the first centuries of Portugal as a country. The whole book is rather biased, giving a one-sided and not particularly flattering picture of Portugal. I much prefer the more objective and well-balanced approach of 'Portugal: A Companion History, by Jose Hermano Saraiva et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not 'concise', biased, 7 Nov. 2011
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
Anything positive about the history of Portugal is given a low profile or has chunks missing or is missed altogether. Anything less glorious is given ample development, with debatable historical accuracy. The 'golden age' apparently didn't merit a chapter of its own, had to be put together with the Lisbon earthquake, which occurred later, and dwell mainly on slavery and religious oppression. This is an example of what another reviewer has pointed out as a 'distorted' image of the country and its people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars History or fiction?, 14 Dec. 2012
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
If there is something good you can say about Portugal, let's keep it short and low profile. If there is something negative you can say about the country, let's blow it out of proportion. These appear to be the two criteria in this so-called history. On the age of Portuguese maritime expansion, not much credit is given to Portugal for its role in opening the way subsequently followed by other European nations. There is a lot though on corruption in Portugal's colonial presence, which in truth may have been less than the corruption from other colonial powers. Anyone wishing to know the country's history will be better off with a more objective work; and this can be easily found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and precise, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
I bought this book for university and found it really useful to find the background to the events that we were studying. Certainly very useful for historians and learners of Portuguese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
a good history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Valuable Purchase, 6 Oct. 2001
By 
Sam Browne (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As a student of Portuguese at KCL with very little prior knowledge of the country and it's history, this concise yet informative guide is proving to be a most rewarding purchase. Although it may not go into immense detail, the information provided gives a good grounding in the fascinating history of this wonderful country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise (alas), 19 July 2007
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
This is mainly a reaction to the reviewer who claims that this book gives a distorted picture. I do not agree at all: the book gives what its title promises. It is a well-written and objective account; only in the final chapters the author allows himself some understatement. The only problem I have with the book is its conciseness - there are many episodes in Portuguese history I would love to read more about.
I also read -with equal pleasure- the even more concise 'Portugal: A Companion History' by Jose Hermano Saraiva. Saraiva's style is a bit (only a bit) more formal and drier than Birmingham's. I do not have a preference for either one of the books. Both are recommended for anyone interested in Portuguese history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Portugal, 24 Nov. 2009
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
This is a very good introduction to Portuguese history. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it is well written and entertaining throughout.

It is just the right length too, I've since read "Portugal A Companion History" by Saraiva which whilst also good, was a little too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History at it's best, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
Peter R. Townsend (Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) (Paperback)
Whatever your interest in Portugal this book promises a truly rewarding read. Although relatively brief, it covers the entire history in a thorough and erudite fashion. It is strong in all areas but I particularly enjoyed the coverage of the turbulent 20th century. I'm sure you will want to read it all but it is a book which is easy to dip into. Excellent.
Peter Townsend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     The Portuguese History? opens new browser window
  www.visitportugal.com/   -   Try a cool tour by the sun In our shinny culture.

This product

A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories)
A Concise History of Portugal (Cambridge Concise Histories) by David Birmingham (Paperback - 13 Nov. 2003)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Portuguese:A Modern History
The Portuguese:A Modern History by Barry Hatton (Paperback - 30 Jan. 2011)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21)   
Buy new£12.99
In stock

Portugal: A Companion History (Aspects of Portugal)
Portugal: A Companion History (Aspects of Portugal) by Jose Hermano Saraiva (Paperback - 27 Nov. 1997)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)   
Buy new£9.95
In stock

A History of Portugal and the Portuguese Empire 2 Volume Paperback Set: A History of Portugal and the Portuguese Empire: From Beginnings to 1807: Volume 1
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   
Buy new£20.99
In stock