Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information, highly accessible
This encyclopaedia is simply brilliant for language lovers. It is clear and concise, brilliantly illustrated and laid out, and it makes the subject matter interesting. Once again David Crystal has managed to convey his love of language.

This encyclopaedia covers a wealth of information:

Part I. The History of English: The origins of English; Old...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by Little Miss Average

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great value. Positively surprise by its quality.
Published 3 months ago by enalee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information, highly accessible, 18 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
This encyclopaedia is simply brilliant for language lovers. It is clear and concise, brilliantly illustrated and laid out, and it makes the subject matter interesting. Once again David Crystal has managed to convey his love of language.

This encyclopaedia covers a wealth of information:

Part I. The History of English: The origins of English; Old English; Middle English; Early Modern English; Modern English; and World English.

Part II. English Vocabulary: The nature of the lexicon; The sources of the lexicon; Etymology; The structure of the lexicon; and Lexical dimensions.

Part III. English Grammar: Grammatical mythology; The structure of words; Word classes; and The structure of sentences.

Part IV. Spoken and Written English: The sound system; and The writing system.

Part V. Using English: Varieties of discourse; Regional variation; Social variation; Personal variation; and Electronic variation.

Part VI. Learning about English: Learning English as a mother tongue; and New ways of studying English.

As you can see, it's wide in scope so each section is concise and to the point, brilliant for referencing or just dipping in and out of for something interesting.

I would definitely recommend this to English language students and anyone with an interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT all round look at the English Language., 24 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This book is excellent for looking at linguistics surrounding the English language. It gives good summaries of topics including most of the relevant details, without overloading you with unnecessary information. The book is as its title says 'an encyclopaedia'. It's meant for quick reference. There are a range of tables, graphs and maps, which makes interpreting data quick and simple. This book is good for all those studying linguistics and those who have just a remote interest in the subject. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 17 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
This book is essential for anyone studying language or linguistics at degree level. Crystal is the man when it comes to this subject and I'm sure this book and many more of his will be assisting me with the MA in Linguistics that I plan to pursue. It is books like this that have fed my enthusiasm for the English language and encouraged further study!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bible, 6 Jan 2006
Superb! Must have for anybody interested in or studying English language, it is fascinating and has been my bible throughout my Alevel and now in to my degree. Really worth the money. David Crystal is an inspiration to Language users and students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linguistic wealth, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Alan Lovejoy "ancient brit" (ROSS ON WYE, HEREFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
I've long since lost count of the number of copies of Crystal's outstanding book that I've purchased as gifts. All my teenage grandchildren have been given copies. And now one ten-year-old has explained that she "needs her copy" for her next birthday.

I never fail to find linguistic riches whatever page I turn to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language, 14 Mar 2010
By 
M. Popovic "Maya" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
If you are studying English language, you will find this book invaluable. It has so much information, backed up by brilliant pictures and examples of language. I recently did a presenation on the History of English and used the enyclopedia for my research. The presentation was brilliant - thank you David Crystal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT but where to start?, 17 Jan 2000
By 
elu497@bangor.ac.uk (University of Wales, Bangor) - See all my reviews
A: At anypoint of interest .As a student of Linguistics and the English language at the University of Wales, Bangor, this is an invaluble book. As an introduction to the English language you'll find you can't put it down. Facts you never knew before from the history of the English language to English as a global language. For general reading, you'll discover a facinating insight to the language that we use every day without much consideration. Easy to pick up, impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English Language, 17 April 2012
By 
J. Roberts (Rochdale,Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
Bought for my next Open Uni course and, it would seem, for the one after that...Bargain.
Suitable and fun reading for all those interested in all aspects of the English language from dialects to countries who speak it as a first language...You will be surprised and amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for any student of literacy or English, 30 July 2008
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Paperback)
This book was essential reading for me during my literacy specialist tutor training, and two years later it is still in regular use. If you want to check your use of grammar, wonder what word is used for truanting in South Wales, or are puzzled as to what a morpheme is, the answers are here. It never let me down when I wanted to check something. Not the cheapest or most portable book there is, but definitely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A valuable tool for any student of the english language, 5 Jan 2000
By A Customer
Crystal's encyclopedia is well referenced and gives a good introduction - often more - into a wide range of issues relating to the development and use of language. An easily accessible and fascinating reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by David Crystal (Paperback - 4 Aug 2003)
£26.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews