Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridget Jones does MRI!
This book is actually funny, the laughing type of funny. It's not just the Bridget Jones' style week in the life of an MR radiographer, but hidden in the text are various one-liners - like the bit about taking off you watch and emptying your pockets when you visit CT! As well as lightening the subject the humour shows that the authors are not merely remote academics (it...
Published on 24 April 2003

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What Picture?
I can only think that the reviews of this book were by Physicists or by Radiologists who are tied to K-space
For Radiologists new to MR it is very limited.
If you are a Radiologist buy Leyendecker: Abdominal and Pelvic MRI, it has a good technical introduction and actually does relate the technical detail to the images.
Published on 24 Oct 2008 by P. Mcdermott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridget Jones does MRI!, 24 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: MRI from Picture to Proton (Paperback)
This book is actually funny, the laughing type of funny. It's not just the Bridget Jones' style week in the life of an MR radiographer, but hidden in the text are various one-liners - like the bit about taking off you watch and emptying your pockets when you visit CT! As well as lightening the subject the humour shows that the authors are not merely remote academics (it is a book primarily about MR physics) but real hands-on MR practitioners and excellent communicators.
So how hard is the physics? Well you have to read far into the book to get any. That's because it's written in a "back-to-front" manner. This ingenious trick enables the reader to become familiar with scanners, scanning and images without having to get bogged down with those bothersome protons and flipping and the like. Eventually the basic physics is introduced but by this time you are so well grounded in the practical aspects of MR - the pictures bit - that you are better equipped to handle the protons.
Another clever idea is having a main text, which is exceptionally easy to read, and optional advanced boxes (printed in a different colour). This makes the book accessible as a basic introductory text and also for more advanced students. It is possible however to learn almost all you need to know without reading the advanced blue bits (well at least I did). All the maths is in the advanced boxes -there are no equations in the main text (thankfully). Also, very handy for exams and interviews, each chapter starts with a summary of what you need to know from that chapter before it delves into the whys and wherefores.
So what does it cover? All the basics: scanners and the scanning suite, safety, basic clinical protocols, image contrast, pixels and matrices, image optimisation, artefacts and how to avoid them, image formation, resonance and relaxation, contrast agents, equipment and bioeffects. That's part A, the bit you can read backwards (and you really can). Part B consists of more specialist topics including all those difficult to remember sequences, angio, cardiac, spectroscopy and a useful chapter on QA. Finally chapter 16 includes EPI, functional, perfusion and diffusion, hyperpolarised gases and parallel imaging (SENSE and SMASH).
MRI from Picture to Proton contains probably more than any one MR professional needs to know but it's hard to imagine why you would need any other MR physics book ever. It's very easy to read, beautifully produced (2 colours on every page and a full colour section) with loads of images and very clear diagrams and in paperback (a hardback version is also available) at £34.95 it's not too expensive. I loved it. They should make it into a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May sound backwards! It couldn't be more foreward!!, 18 Jan 2003
By 
Andrew Heath (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MRI from Picture to Proton (Paperback)
Probably the most significant MRI book that covers the physics, safety and basic clinical applications. The book has a novel approach by working from picture to proton. It is easy to read due to the excellent writing. The diagrams are fantastic, being clear and well anotated. The book is excellent for the first time reader through to the advanced reader. Complex physics is there but is separated in boxes that can be read by those who like that sort of thing. If you want to dip in to check something out, it is well referenced within the book so that links to underpinning knowledge can be checked out in other chapters (it works).
The week in a life of an MRI radiographer introduces humour for the first time into a text like this.
I firmly believe that this will become a key text for many courses and departments with MRI and replace other popular texts as the essential first book to buy and hopefully be very fullfilling for much longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful and current, 2 Mar 2004
This review is from: MRI from Picture to Proton (Paperback)
I bought this to help my practice in reporting MRIs rather than to pass exams. It has proved a good buy and has demystified pulse sequences to a certain extent. I am particularly pleased that specific pulse sequences on both siemens and phillips scanners are explained.
I still am confused about spatial encoding and fourier transformation but i dont think any book can make these subjects understandable!!
I would reccomend this book to radiologists who are interested in learning what those numbers in the top corner of the film actually mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank heavens !, 29 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MRI from Picture to Proton (Paperback)
At last a book about MRI which I didn't want to put down and which actually made me laugh out loud!
It is the best book I have read as far as understanding MRI physics and principles goes and makes a dry subject bearable and understandable.
I would thoroughly recommend it and think it will soon be indispensable in MRI depts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great text -especially clear approach!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a primer for PG study in Cog. Neuroscience and can't put it down - only four stars because I haven't finished it yet so I can't say whether it's perfect or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a radiography student trying to get your head around the physics of MRI, this book is the 'Bible' of the physics. I can't not describe enough how much I have used this book and how incredibly helpful it has been. The design of the book and the reading of it is amazing. If your learning MRI or working in MRI and want a great book to learn from, then this book is an absolute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What Picture?, 24 Oct 2008
I can only think that the reviews of this book were by Physicists or by Radiologists who are tied to K-space
For Radiologists new to MR it is very limited.
If you are a Radiologist buy Leyendecker: Abdominal and Pelvic MRI, it has a good technical introduction and actually does relate the technical detail to the images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MRI from Picture to Proton
MRI from Picture to Proton by Martin R. Prince (Paperback - 5 Dec 2002)
Used & New from: £14.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews