Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fourteenth century feminism??
Chaucer's middle english is at first confusing but the content is worth the trouble. The good detailed notes and glossary at the end of this edition explain the fourteenth century jokes and references, even if they are not so funny after six hundred or so years. The messages of the Prologue and Tale are however very relevant, showing the problems and contradictions of a...
Published on 6 Dec 2000 by andrewn@compuserve.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor! Not as described!
I am disappointed with not the book itself, but the quality of the book I was sent. I was told that although the book "has been read" the "pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting" (these are exact words from the description! However, nearly EVERY page in marked with highlighting or notes, and it's not as though I can even rub them out as...
Published 12 months ago by Mrs S Lees


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fourteenth century feminism??, 6 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale (Selected Tales from Chaucer) (Paperback)
Chaucer's middle english is at first confusing but the content is worth the trouble. The good detailed notes and glossary at the end of this edition explain the fourteenth century jokes and references, even if they are not so funny after six hundred or so years. The messages of the Prologue and Tale are however very relevant, showing the problems and contradictions of a woman seeking equality in a male dominated society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor! Not as described!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am disappointed with not the book itself, but the quality of the book I was sent. I was told that although the book "has been read" the "pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting" (these are exact words from the description! However, nearly EVERY page in marked with highlighting or notes, and it's not as though I can even rub them out as they are in biro! Not very happy whatsoever, and this means I have to go out and buy another copy of the text when this copy should have been as described. If it had notes in it, I wouldn't have bought it, however would be more inclined to by something from someone whose being truthful over the quality. I don't mind a book looking a bit worn but for an A Level course I expect a book I buy that is depicted as having "no page markings" to not have them, except for perhaps having a name of someone at the front! VERY disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition without most features, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wife of Bath (Kindle Edition)
There is no indication of the difference between the kindle and print edition. Very sloppy Amazon! This was cheap in the kindle edition but includes only the text (in modernised spelling) with a paraphrase or gloss of difficult words or phrases, in what would be the right margin if there was one. It can be difficult to disentangle the paraphrase from the text and to understand what's going on, owing to the lack of formatting. Unless you are reasonably familiar with Chaucer I wouldn't recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful and informative, 4 Jan 2011
I'm studying 'The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale' for my A levels and am finding it to be of great help. There's a summary of each section of the prologue and tale, and plenty of sections to do with background and different approaches to the text, as well as information about the themes, characters, and the literary techniques used. I've got two other study guides for 'The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale' and although this one was a bit more expensive, it was definitely worth it! The only thing it doesn't really have is any critical information written by other people, but this is easily found in other places if your course requires it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange book, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale (Selected Tales from Chaucer) (Paperback)
Only buy this if you know Olde English. Again I studied this at A level and bought it to remind myself of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay really, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale (Selected Tales from Chaucer) (Paperback)
Copy okay, bit waring on the sides and cover and page ripped out at the front. Not as advertised but in readable condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needed this for A level, and I got an A overall, a very good and awesome book. Funny as anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Preowned..., 21 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale (Selected Tales from Chaucer) (Paperback)
Considering this was preowned I was surprised at how little was written in it, and this saved me a lot of money so I was happy, thanks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Insight, 12 Jan 2013
By 
William Reed (Portsmouth. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Wife of Bath is a chosen work on my study course. Without doubt this has given me a chance in the struggle I'm having with Chaucer's middle English.

I would recommend it to anyone studying explorations in literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent for starters, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives more information about Chaucer and the tale itself than most other books available on the market, recommend to those who want a glimpse of Chaucer 's literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale (Selected Tales from Chaucer)
The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale (Selected Tales from Chaucer) by Geoffrey Chaucer (Paperback - 21 April 1994)
8.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews