Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for copy-editors and authors!
This book is an absolute must for (copy) editors. It is also invaluable for authors, as it makes clear what happens to their book before it is being published. Copy-Editing explains first what copy-editing is and from there it guides you through all stages and aspects of it, including what to do with, e.g. illustrations, preliminary pages, indexes, bibliographical...
Published on 12 Jan 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An over-hyped book
This book is the bane of my life. It may be `a must for copy-editors and authors', it may be `the bible', but it certainly isn't a `great book'. As a professional copy-editor, there are times when I have to refer to it. But it is useless as a reference book. Information which should be in one place is scattered around the book, seemingly without rhyme or reason. Even...
Published on 2 July 2008 by Andrew O'Thinny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for copy-editors and authors!, 12 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
This book is an absolute must for (copy) editors. It is also invaluable for authors, as it makes clear what happens to their book before it is being published. Copy-Editing explains first what copy-editing is and from there it guides you through all stages and aspects of it, including what to do with, e.g. illustrations, preliminary pages, indexes, bibliographical references and others. It instructs how to edit literary material (e.g. poetry, plays), multi-author and multi-volume works, science and mathematic books and others. There are chapters on house style, proofs, and 13 appendixes, which include, for example, an extensive, 20-page checklist of copy-editing; a table on phonetic symbols; tables on French and German terms and abbreviations; mathematical symbols; notes on Hebrew and Arabic; non-western calendars; a table of proof correction symbols. Together with its 27-page, easy-to-use index, it is not only a ‚handbook', but a complete encyclopedia. Buy it, and you will use it time and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible, 3 Dec 2003
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
I've been working as a production editor in academic publishing for 6 years and this book is my bible. I use it every single day and I always find something interesting and useful in it. It's a real treasure. What were people doing before it came out I really can't understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An over-hyped book, 2 July 2008
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
This book is the bane of my life. It may be `a must for copy-editors and authors', it may be `the bible', but it certainly isn't a `great book'. As a professional copy-editor, there are times when I have to refer to it. But it is useless as a reference book. Information which should be in one place is scattered around the book, seemingly without rhyme or reason. Even with the help of a not-too-bad index (pity the poor indexer!) it is extremely difficult to find the information you want. And, I'm afraid, it is not very well written, so that even when you find what you want it may not be at all clear what the point is that's being made. Whether the new edition is any better I simply don't know, and I'm not eager to fork out 45 to find out. Although nothing quite covers the same ground as Butcher, the Oxford Guide to Style and the Chicago Manual of Style are much better books and are indispensable as reference works for editors - and they are both far, far better organised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 27 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
This is a great book for anyone who is just getting started in proofreading and copy editing. It is really helpful and is one of the recommended books on proofreading and copy editing courses. It covers all the rules of copy editing and how to mark up typescripts for editing. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a copy editor or would be author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not ordered, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
I did not order this item but it was sent to me and charged to my Amazon card! I returned the book but apparently I have to take that cost! Very unfair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the new edition, 10 Oct 2006
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
The latest edition of this classic comes out in two days. It's called Butcher's Copy-editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Copy-editors and Proofreaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of copy-editing book, 6 Oct 2009
By 
H. Swain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers (Hardcover)
The book arrived later than expected but the customer service when I enquired about this was friendly, polite and informative and the product itself is in excellent condition. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Copy-Editing: The Cambridge Handbook for Editors, Authors and Publishers
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews