Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable reference for Latin grammar, 15 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
The Cambridge School Classics Project series of books has an excellent reputation for the teaching of Latin, and "Cambridge Latin Grammar" is no exception. Although it is only 127 pages long, it is nevertheless an invaluable handbook for any student of the language, particularly for those working at GCSE standard or above.

The book is divided into three main parts. The first, 'Accidence', sets out the entire system of Latin word-endings, with a number of tables that make it easier to learn all those pesky declensions and conjugations, pronouns and irregular verbs. The second, 'Syntax', is a complete guide to all the various types of sentence construction (ablative absolutes; uses of the gerund, gerundive and supine; subordinate clauses etc.) that the student will be faced with in translation. The third part deals with word order and sentence structure - helpful if you want to try your hand at composing your own Latin. A fourth and final part covers miscellaneous topics, from pronunciation to how to correctly use a Latin-English dictionary.

There is a lot of information densely packed into these pages, but it is all presented clearly and concisely, and without unnecessary waffle. This is not a book to read straight through, but to dip into as a reference; as a result, the index has been made extremely thorough, which makes searching for the topic you need incredibly simple. Throughout the book (generally at the end of every chapter) there are a number of short exercises and further examples - excellent translation practice and especially helpful when it comes to revision, although sadly answers are not provided. At the back, too, is supplied a list of selected vocabulary - helpful for working through the book's own exercises, but for other translation work it is well worth having a proper dictionary to hand, such as the Chambers-Murray Latin-English Dictionary by Smith and Lockwood.

All in all, "Cambridge Latin Grammar" is an excellent guide and indispensable for any student of Latin. I referred to it extensively when studying for my A-level and found it extremely useful. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one!, 24 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
If you are just starting out with Latin and need a grammar reference book, this is the one. Everything is beautifully clearly laid out and easy to understand. So it's not as comprehensive as Kennedy, but that is for more advanced students. This book makes nonsense of the oft heard criticism that the Cambridge Latin Course does not cover grammar properly. This is the best introductory Latin Grammar in existence! Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Latin book, 24 Jun. 2011
By 
Guess Who (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
This is an excellent Latin refresher,to revive memories of Latin at school and to explain all you need to know about the Ablative Absolute, in case you were trying to recall it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars latin for beginners, 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
this helped me when I was accessing a Latin course at the ou. it was particularly useful in placing the tenses of the verbs in a concise manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to school, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
F. Bailess (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
I am attending a Latin class nearly 50 years after GCE 'O' level. This book is perfect for all the revision I need. Very clear, and light years away from the primer I used as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son has found it really useful, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
C. Nicholls "Pickles 020" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
Brilliant book my son has found it really useful for his studies and has made it more easier to study.
Delivery brilliant and efficient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have had a copy of this grammar with me ..., 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
I have had a copy of this grammar with me for at least 20 years.I bought this one so that I would have a grammar reference On hand during an extended overseas holiday.

It is a second hand book but looks as though it has not been opened;in contrast to my first copy, the binding of which has remained secure and intact despite many, many openings to clarify points of Latin grammar and usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
M. Stevens (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
Well-laid out and includes all essential Latin grammar for anyone studying Latin at school. Bought for my daughter as it was on her school book list. She's taking Higher Latin in Scotland, similar level to AS level in England, but this would have also been a useful reference book for earlier stages of study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cambridge Latin Grammar, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
The product wasn't actually for me it was for my 14 year old brother who is taking Latin at GCSE, he was happy with the book both the content and the condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) (Paperback)
Excellent grammar for revision. Concise and essential, it covers all the main topics a student is expected to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course)
Cambridge Latin Grammar (Cambridge Latin Course) by Cambridge School Classics Project (Paperback - 23 Jan. 1992)
£14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews