Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Cambridge Uni. press book I've read, 1 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammar Practice Activities: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Although it doesn't have the makeover of Rinvolucri's More Grammar Games et al this is the best Tefl book I've come across, and the one I miss most in the language school I am teaching in now. Like most of the Cambridge press there's an introduction, which is worth reading, and then the invaluable games with which to suddenly create interest in the otherwise lifeless grammar point.
If you're struggling to find something to ignite the imaginations of your students, or have avoided the present perfect, despairing of ever getting the rule across, or need something for conditionals (as in the sentence here), then buy Ur's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consistent and in keeping with the excellent Cambridge Handbook series, 23 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Grammar Practice Activities: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
This book is packed with interesting, easy to follow and simple (yet effective) grammar based classroom activities. All the major grammar points (tenses, conditionals, modals, articles etc) are included with each containing a number of different exercises covering a range of different learning abilities. Most exercises contain illustrations of some description meaning you can knock out good quality activities quickly and at short notice.

The Cambridge Handbook series is consistently good in terms of being accessible, easy to use and affordable. This Grammar Practice Activities book is no exception and should be included on any serious EFL teachers bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Grammar, 7 Feb 2004
This review is from: Grammar Practice Activities: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Use this book to bring a bit fun into dry grammar lessons. At first this book does not look promising, but the contents are brilliant. There are many ideas how to teach grammar items in a less dry manner. There is a photocopiable section and good indices. The indices help you find the right activity: by level, by name or by grammar item.
If you ever wondered how you could teach grammar items in a more interesting way – this is the book to get inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 24 May 2009
By 
G. R. STANDISH (Torun, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grammar Practice Activities: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Penny Ur is a legend in the ELT industry and this book is packed with useful activities to help bring grammar alive. Yes it is a little outdated now (the black & white photos are circa.1988) but it is still a very useful tool for the English language classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 April 2010
By 
Dara Colwell "darc" (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grammar Practice Activities: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
This is a very useful book for my work and I was pleased that it arrived quite quickly--and in great condition, brand new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most useful TEFL book I have ever bought., 17 July 2011
This book is a revelation and I cannot praise it highly enough. It is a bible of great activities, games and exercises for TEFL teachers, well arranged and nearly covers everything and most levels. Although it would still be excellent without the CDROM, this is what really does it for me. It is an excellent resource, in fact I am in the process of printing out and laminating everything on it for easy use, as I have already used everything so many times. It is all in colour, easy to print, and great pictures, ideas and graffics. In addition, if you have a laptop and interactive whiteboard like me, it is really great as you don't have to even bother printing some stuff, you can just put it up on screen. As I said though, even without this, it is still fantastic with really great quick plan exercises with minimum prep. Along with the 700 Classroom Activities, this is now always in my bag, and I am always consulting it before class, and before starting a new grammar point. Really great stuff, whether you're a new or experienced TEFL teacher, I would definately recommend these two books, they are a great combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how to teach grammar and have fun, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book teaches you how you can teach grammar by playing games. It's really fun,both for
the teacher and the student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very creative, 21 July 2011
This is a great book, very creative which gave me many ideas of how to teach
grammar lessons using pictures and games. The students enjoyed all the grammar activities I tried with them very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Packed full of ideas, 2 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On first receiving the book it didn't impress me as much as other grammar games books I've seen, but this was deceptive. It's true that there is a lot of text and the resources are printed as fairly small pictures scattered throughout the book rather than having a separate photocopiable section with whole-page activities. However, the book actually has far more activities listed under each section than other books I've looked at, so you're much more likely to find something that will work in your context. In addition, this new edition comes with a CD-ROM so the photocopiable resources that didn't look so impressive in the book, can be opened as PDF files and printed out (usually enlarged from the picture in the book itself).

It might not have many flashy pictures but I can see myself referring back to this book for new ideas much more frequently than the 'photocopy-and-go' style resource books I was using previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews