Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-quality guide
I recently went to see Patrick Stewart in an RSC production of The Tempest and thought I would buy a copy of the play to look again at some of the speeches. Although I'm a little way past GCSE level I found this Cambridge School edition provided clear presentation of the text, with the play displayed down the right hand side and study notes opposite.

However,...
Published on 7 May 2007 by T. Bently

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition almost unusable
I bought the Kindle version of this great play to facilitate reading out loud in a group. But the erratic pagination, with the text suddenly broken by blocks of footnotes, often in the middle of a sentence, made me give up and return gratefully to a properly printed edition - albeit one with a much smaller typeface.
It is also extraordinary that the Acts and Scenes...
Published 19 months ago by J. A. R. Willis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition almost unusable, 22 Jan 2013
By 
J. A. R. Willis (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tempest (Kindle Edition)
I bought the Kindle version of this great play to facilitate reading out loud in a group. But the erratic pagination, with the text suddenly broken by blocks of footnotes, often in the middle of a sentence, made me give up and return gratefully to a properly printed edition - albeit one with a much smaller typeface.
It is also extraordinary that the Acts and Scenes are not individually indexed in the table of contents. The whole play has but a single heading! To find your place you have to page through the whole text, or search for a key phrase. To have set this up properly would have meant but an hour or so of editing work. Not to have done so takes away one of the main benefits of an electronic version.
Similarly, the footnotes could surely have been better placed all together at the end with live links from the text. The way they are done at the moment is simply infuriating.
The impression I am getting is that Kindle editions are sometimes created carelessly by people who have no love of the text or concern about presentation. Or even, extraordinarily, awareness of the potential of the new medium.
Frankly, this was a complete waste of the admittedly modest amount of money it cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-quality guide, 7 May 2007
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I recently went to see Patrick Stewart in an RSC production of The Tempest and thought I would buy a copy of the play to look again at some of the speeches. Although I'm a little way past GCSE level I found this Cambridge School edition provided clear presentation of the text, with the play displayed down the right hand side and study notes opposite.

However, the book's real selling point is the inclusion of wonderful colour and black and white photographs of various productions of The Tempest. Several of these are from The Globe Theatre, London so provide a glimpse of what Elizabethan theatre (probably) looked like.

On the downside, some of the further study suggestions are a little simple-minded ("Draw a theatre poster advertising The Tempest featuring Ariel") but overall this is an attractively-presented guide which implicitly steers students towards the idea that Shakespeare's plays were meant to be seen and heard rather than read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arden Shakespeare, 1 Mar 2009
By 
A. Mcclean (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tempest (Paperback)
Shakespeare with a good set of footnotes to explain anything thats difficult to understand, short explanations as to any references. All of which is easily ignored if you dont want/need it. Definately usable as a basic Shakespeare text (perfect for GCSE or A Level) or usable for English at Degree level with a really useful introduction and the articles at the back are perfect for Literature.
I strongly recommend this version of the text for anybody studying The Tempest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare is as always his good fine self, shame about th formatting of this book for kindle., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tempest (Kindle Edition)
Good read, not my favourite Shakespeare play. The critical essays at the intro and at the end are very useful for students, however the format of the book for kindle isn't great. Internal references are not linked, there are no internal bookmarks for each act or scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Version, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant edition of The Tempest, including the history of the play and its adaptations, complete with pictures. The actual script itself is superb - the play itself runs along one side of the page with various notes explaining the meanings of words and speeches, the way it should be delivered and on occasion the way the audience would have reacted. A brilliant version, essential for understanding The Tempest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic copy of the text at a reasonable price, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Assuming most people will be buying this text due to it being on a reading list at school/college/ university, I will review on that perspective. I needed this text for my university course and priced at 1.99 this is a bargain. It suited my needs well and while it lacks academic notes on the text this was not a problem - there is enough material out there on 'The Tempest', and as wide reading is required for my course anyway, it did not matter. So if you are a university student (or school/college student) and need this text I highly recommend this version.

As for the play itself, it is one of Shakespeare's most famous works, and very interesting to study or read for pleasure, particularly when you read into what influenced the play. It is defined as a Shakespearean comedy, and while it may not be as entertaining as Midsummers nights dream, it's still worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tempest (Paperback)
Personally, I think Arden are the best editions for anyone doing Shakespeare as a student or for leisure. They have far more notes than other editions which are very useful and help to gain context on the lifestyle of Renaissance England. It really made me enjoy reading The Tempest as it explains all archaic words at the bottom of the page rather than having to look them up in the back which can soon get monotonous. Overall I highly recommend Arden copies (as if you couldn't tell!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magical as ever - and a good edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Used for Uni work, 31 Dec 2013
By 
R. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book, simple story line with various plots and characters, even better for using to make a paper mashe model!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars storm of a teacup book, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderful pocket-size edition at a brilliant price. superb preface, notes and glossary..all Shakespeare plays should be printed like this: easy to read, to carry when travelling,and on the wallet. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tempest (The New Cambridge Shakespeare)
The Tempest (The New Cambridge Shakespeare) by William Shakespeare (Hardcover - 1 April 2002)
Used & New from: 19.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews