Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most practical atlas
The main star charts in this volume are quite superb - even better than those in Norton. What's more, unlike Norton, the book is reasonably priced and printed on paper of acceptable quality (although this could be improved still further, at least for those sheets on which the main charts are printed).
The lists of interesting objects are also first-rate.
My...
Published on 1 Nov 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality and content
My requirement was a simple identifier for navigational stars and planets. This book is very well produced, excellent quality and content, but unfortunately not suitable for my purpose.
Published 16 days ago by Bill Attwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars general, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
Great product. Shame the paper used is so thin!
Probably best to use as a reference as I certainly won't be taking it outside!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
This is the best book i have ever had and the only book i will ever use if like me you have goto and a manual dob then this is for you goto is great but a big manual dobsonian reflector this is the best book for you
Pros great to use very easy with a red torch every page is easily read
Cons ,none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent full sky star atlas, 13 Jan 2012
By 
R. Say (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
This star atalas has become an almost indispensable part of my kit in the last 12 months. The individual charts are at a large enough scale that you can visually scan great chunks of the sky to get your bearings and match what you've seen to the information on the page. The charts are then sufficiently detailed to give a range of targets.

If you want to take your telescope/binoculars beyond 'Ooh look at the moon' and 'which is the red one in Orion' and get a feel for the whole sky then I'd recommend this atlas. I'll typically work out a list of ideas for the next few weeks (on the computer) and then simply pop out when the clear nights arrive, open the atlas and start tracking stuff down. I've now wiled away many an evening star-hopping with these charts in my back yard.

The spiral binding is excellent, I've not had any problem with damp pages and I haven't even looked at buying any other companions to support direct observation. The charts are limited in that they don't go beyond a certain magnitude - the payoff is the clarity of what is there. For deeper / more detailed views and star hopping plans I'd switch to computer generated mapping, but there's plenty to get interested in and understand before going down that route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Atlas, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
Good value for money. It is very informative and descriptive but not too difficult for a beginner. A good source of reference to any budding or experienced astronomer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars astronomer, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
My brother has a telescope. He loves this book allows him to know what he's looking for. Great way to see a clear sky at night. This is for all those star gazers out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
Makes it so much easy to locate stars, messier objects and more.

Very good value for money in an easy to follow layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
New to stargazing and found this book very useful. Pleased I brought it. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys stargazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars But it now!!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
C. J. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
It's simplest the best star catalogue available. The charts are clear and concise. The information given is perfect for amateur stargazers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the beginner astronomer, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cambridge Star Atlas (Spiral-bound)
Having just invested in my first telescope i bought this as a companion guide to the night sky and to aid my learning of what to see out there.
As much as the "star walk" app for the ipad is great in navigating the sky, this book has helpful guides and takes a step by step approach to the maps, getting into more and more detail each time. This explains how to use the maps and get the most out of the information in them. I often sit with both the book and the ipad planning out a night's observations.
The book is robust enough to be taken outside and leafed through rapidly (aided by the ring type spine) and can be read easy enough in red light.
The mirrored map of the moon is also really useful, though it would be even better if this was larger (a fold out map style?) or broken down into more detailed regions like the star maps themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star gazer, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly as needed to help recipient identify stars seen through a telescope. Bought as a birthday present and much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cambridge Star Atlas
The Cambridge Star Atlas by Wil Tirion (Spiral-bound - 27 Jan 2011)
£22.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews