Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Primer for all amateur stargazers
I have an earlier copy of this book - it is a "must have" for everyone who has an interest in practical astronomy! Forget glossy, colourful, Hubble - quality images; instead you get simple, black and white drawings - why? The book replicates what you can expect to see in the eyepiece in the field whilst observing. In fact, the pages have been designed to be visible whilst...
Published on 25 Dec 2011 by Cjgreenfield

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the formatting.
This review is for the Kindle edition.

As the other reviews say, this is an absolutely superb book. It explains things clearly and describes exactly what you can see, when to view and exactly what to expect. Too many astronomy books show glossy pictures taken using large professional scopes, leaving you with a sense of disappointment. This gives it to you how...
Published 24 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Primer for all amateur stargazers, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Cjgreenfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
I have an earlier copy of this book - it is a "must have" for everyone who has an interest in practical astronomy! Forget glossy, colourful, Hubble - quality images; instead you get simple, black and white drawings - why? The book replicates what you can expect to see in the eyepiece in the field whilst observing. In fact, the pages have been designed to be visible whilst using red light, so you can pack it with your scope for use at the eyepiece!

If you do not want to be reliant on a GoTo telescope system, then you learn to "Star hop" and this book is without doubt the best way to learn to see the most interesting objects in the night sky with a small telescope. For those starting out, this is a practical guide to help you "learn your way around the sky".
You get a section on "Where to look" an "in the finderscope" diagram and description to help you find the object and then an "in the telescope" description and diagram. The book is broken down into seasons, so you will not waste time looking for something that is below the horizon.
Does exactly what it says on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should be packed with every new telescope ., 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
quite simply the best book a novice can have by his/her side when looking at the heavens.
very well presented. realistic drawings and diagrams.
each object shown through the apeture of small scope(3-4") as well as larger apetures(8-10")
large sections on the moon and planets,when and how to observe them.
this should be packed with every new telescope ,it really is that beneficial to a beginner .
large pages,large text ,spiral bound.and all tables up to 2024.
brilliant .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 16 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
Quite simply, this book delivers what is said on the box.

This version is bound into a spring binder as opposed to a conventional book spine, so it lays flat and neatly on a collapsible table next to the telescope (a favourite arrangement of mine when observing).

There are plenty of comparisons of the merits between the various types of telescope at the start before the book moves on to cover what the main topic is about - planets, moons, stars and other heavenly structures.

It's a pity that telescope manufacturers do not include this book with the equipment they sell. I'm sure their sales would increase as a result.

I'm the fourth reviewer of this book and the three previous ones have all given it a rating of five, and this is well deserved.

A great buy for the novice (like me now) and advanced users (like the one I hope to become!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
This book was recommended to me on a stargazer's forum and it's the best astronomical purchase I have made since the telescope. There are clear diagrams to help you find lots of interesting objects, including double stars, star clusters and galaxies. It can be hard work: depending on the set-up of your scope you may have to follow the diagrams in mirror image. However I can testify that there is immense satisfaction to be gained from following a trail from this book and finding a faint smudge of light in exactly the right place to be another galaxy. It has to be more fun than using Goto mounts, and a lot cheaper too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astronomy masterclass, 1 Mar 2012
By 
P. JACKSON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
Too often people get interested in astronomy on the back of some excellent TV program or other, think Prof Brian Cox, only to lose interest. They seem to think everything is in glorious technicolor and will be absolutely huge. This is the book not only for them but for established astronomers as well. It takes you gently and clearly into an understanding of just what there is to see,how to navigate to the areas and a realistic description of what you will see. I would thoroughly recommend this to anybody thinking about taking up astronomy, get it even before you get a telescope. I have even turned off the computerized controls on my own telescope and gone back to basics with this book and had some great nights observing. This is not a book just for the library it's something you should take with you every time you go out. And on those oh so frequent UK cloudy nights, plan your next observing session and learn a bit more about the phenomena you will be seeing, without being blinded by science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for a new telescope owner, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. S. TREW "www.thetrews.com" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. My daughter, aged 11, asked for a telescope for Christmas so we decided to buy a beginner scope - a Skywatcher Heritage 130 - and some books to go along with it. I read other reviews about this book and based on them we purchased it too. It really is what you need when you buy a telescope, it has superb sections on the moon, the most important stars to learn your way about the night sky, and it shows what the sky will look like to the naked eye, through a finder scope or binoculars and a telescope - this is its unique feature that sets it apart from other books. There is enough in this book to set you going in the hobby and keep you at it for years to come. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the formatting., 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
This review is for the Kindle edition.

As the other reviews say, this is an absolutely superb book. It explains things clearly and describes exactly what you can see, when to view and exactly what to expect. Too many astronomy books show glossy pictures taken using large professional scopes, leaving you with a sense of disappointment. This gives it to you how it really is.

Now for the bad news. The tables, pictures and diagrams are too small and of too low resolution to be read easily, many cannot be read at all.

This, of course, is no fault of the authors, but is a failing of the publisher's transcription to ebook. Yet again a good book fails on Kindle because the publisher cannot be bothered with quality control.

So, while it makes me sad to do so, I give the Kindle edition only 3 stars because of the poor quality of the scanned images and tables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would have given up had it not been for this book, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
I had just bought a very nice telescope (8" SCT).. but after struggling with simplest of alignments etc I had to do some reading. And this book was exactly what i needed. All the reviews said the same thing (about how good this was) so i was i little sceptical - it can't be that good. But they were all right. This book is simple easy (yet very very informative) and the maps included are simply brilliant.

NOTE: I had first bought this as a kindle addition, and that was useless. Not that anything was missing or that, just you have to have the big open book physically in hand to make any sense of it. Don't by the kindle addition, and even if you have get the real thing you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL YOU WILL EVER NEED !, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
I Have bought several books on stargazing over the years, most have been either basic, or specific on a particular aspect on stargazing, but this wonderfull large thick book has the lot !!
Everything you need to know about stargazing is covered in this wonderfull book, were to find planets and constalations including easy to read sky maps , and in words we can actually understand.
This is quite a large and heavy-ish A4 size manual, and it has a clever spring wire spine so you can open the pages completly flat without having to bend the pages and risk damage to the book.
Dont be put off by the price, its actually very good value.
A wonderfull purchase for when outside stargazing or some light interseting bed time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the binding, 12 Dec 2012
This review is from: Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them (Spiral-bound)
The content of this book deserves the 5 star ratings given by other reviewers. I have deducted a star because the book has a major problem - the binding. It is a metal wire spiral binding. Normally this allows the book to open flat. In this instance, because the diameter of the wire binding is too small it makes the spine edge of the pages push against each other. Within 2 hours of the book arriving, the pages have suffered minor damage - I am a very careful reader! I have no doubt that within a year the binding will fall apart and the pages will need to be rebound in a loose-leaf binder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn Left at Orion: Hundreds of Night Sky Objects to See in a Home Telescope - and How to Find Them
£24.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews