Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for Pre-Entry Esol tutors and learners, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
A distinct lack of relevant, 'adult' material for pre/semi literate learners of ESOL led me to try this book and I can thoroughly recommend it for teachers of ESOL. The units are a good length for learners and utilise a range of different activities which allow for differentiation and expansion as required. It has helped my lesson planning enormously and I would recommend it to anyone teaching this difficult level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifesaver!, 12 July 2011
By 
T. West (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
There are so few resources for absolute beginners with ESOL, it is such a relief to have something so good and useable!

These lessons are well thought out and work well with a variety of backgrounds.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
I have just started teaching pre-entry class and resources for this group of students are really limited. This is actually really well put together. I have started using bits of it already. It is really useful, tells you exactly what to do and what part of the syllabus it is too. Straight forward to use and put in a lesson plan. I recommended it to my friends and they thought it was good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice resource to supplement my own!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book as I needed something to use with Pre-Entry learners which supplemented the DfES materials. It has activities which can be used as individual lessons or part of a lesson - useful for mixed ability classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for teaching real beginners, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
A really useful resource book for teaching real beginners - covering a good range of content including: basic vocabulary, learning the alphabet, letter sounds, etc, also greetings, introductions, families, shopping, likes and dislikes and much more. It's well designed for ESOL learners in the UK. Each pair of pages has ideas for teaching, including warmer activities , suggestions for differentiation, extensions and resources to use with learners. Curriuclum Refs also included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely useful resource, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
This book is a lifesaver! It is invaluable for teaching pre-entry pre-literate ESOL students. The activities are well presented, photocopy well and enlarge clearly, and can be readily adapted to specific class needs. There are so very few lesson-planning resources and textbooks available for this level of class but this one is excellent, providing structure, clarity, and a realistic curriculum. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 15 April 2014
By 
Mrs. N. De Matos (UK Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
I haven't used enough of this book , but so far so good. Very simple lesson plans, plenty of worksheets. You need more resources that this to teach a Pre-entry class, but still very good. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for working with ESOL beginners, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. H. A. Booley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
Fills a gap in material for true beginners learning English. Provides helpful guidance for inexperienced teachers. But a bit too much "cut and stick" for some classroom contexts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESOL Activities Pre-entry with Audio CD: Practical Language Activities for Living in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge for ESOL) (Spiral-bound)
Excellent product with really useful activities.
Would and have recommended this item.
Prompt postage and quality of item just as described. Extremely happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews