Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful item indeed. Simply wonderful! Sept 9 2003
I am simply enthusiastic about this software. I was trying the QUICKfind while surfing the Internet and found out that turning on the automatic sound and pointing the mouse on a word, its sound is spoken up by HUMAN voices. I then tried it on a Word document and it happened the same. Everyone who's willing to improve his English pronunciation MUST try it, for it's really...
Published on 9 Sep 2003 by VENTURINI VIVIANA

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows only!
Mac users, beware! I have found out the hard way that the CD-ROM included with the 17th edition contains only a Windows version of the software. This information is nowhere in sight (at time of writing) on the product page. Hopefully, the publisher will at least disclose the System Requirements for the software they are selling before actually selling it.
Published on 20 July 2009 by Andrew Yourkin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful item indeed. Simply wonderful! Sept 9 2003, 9 Sep 2003
By 
VENTURINI VIVIANA (NAVE, BRESCIA Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Pronouncing Dictionary (16th Edition) (With CD-ROM) (Paperback)
I am simply enthusiastic about this software. I was trying the QUICKfind while surfing the Internet and found out that turning on the automatic sound and pointing the mouse on a word, its sound is spoken up by HUMAN voices. I then tried it on a Word document and it happened the same. Everyone who's willing to improve his English pronunciation MUST try it, for it's really worth. I'll advise all foreign languages university students to buy it. The interactive exercises are also worth, as we hear whole sentences, and I like the idea to look for words both by typing in the text and the phonetic symbols. Highly recommended to up-to-date languages lovers. Last but not least, the book contains many words you cannot find on other dictionaries, such as proper names, surnames and cities. There's even my Brescia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows only!, 20 July 2009
Mac users, beware! I have found out the hard way that the CD-ROM included with the 17th edition contains only a Windows version of the software. This information is nowhere in sight (at time of writing) on the product page. Hopefully, the publisher will at least disclose the System Requirements for the software they are selling before actually selling it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
If you study Phonetic or linguistic, this book will be your bible. All the words you need are in this dictionary, written in english phonetic and in american. You have the verbs and their tenses. At my University Marc Bloch in Strasbourg, all the teachers recommend this book. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... for our French speaking Belgian friend and he was delighted with it, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought this for our French speaking Belgian friend and he was delighted with it, he has an old one but wanted a newer edition. The price and delivery were very good, when we ordered it we weren't sure that we would get it in time to take with us when we went on holiday but it arrived early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 July 2008
By 
Chakrit Ratanamook "ken" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic book with audio CD to help with pronunciation. The CD comes with both British and American pronunciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Pronouncing Dictionary (16th Edition) (With CD-ROM)
English Pronouncing Dictionary (16th Edition) (With CD-ROM) by Daniel Jones (Paperback - 22 May 2003)
Used & New from: £3.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews