Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wines of South West France
I doubt whether this well researched book on a little documented and varied wine growing area will be bettered for many years. All the appellations, their histories, terroirs, grapes and growers are covered in fascinating detail. Paul Strang is not afraid to defy conventional wisdom in his assessment of estates and gives the reasons, often over-oaking, which will allow...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by John Timothy York

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but maps not useable
As the other reviewers have said this is anexcellent book. But, the maps are frustrating. The maps show numbered locations but there are no numbers in the text.
For those seeking a very good quide to French wines try Gault Millau which covers the whole of France very well. It is in French and obtainable from Amazon.fr
You can get a list of map number references...
Published 13 months ago by R. A. Newbury


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wines of South West France, 10 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
I doubt whether this well researched book on a little documented and varied wine growing area will be bettered for many years. All the appellations, their histories, terroirs, grapes and growers are covered in fascinating detail. Paul Strang is not afraid to defy conventional wisdom in his assessment of estates and gives the reasons, often over-oaking, which will allow those with different tastes to aim off.

I find that some of the wine descriptions, admittedly a difficult art, do not give me a clear idea of what to expect from unfamiliar appellations like Marcillac and Tursan. Furthermore there is some sloppy editorial work by the publishers, e.g. lack of captions under the photos, maps of poor quality and failure to reference estate locations on these maps. However these are small niggles in the face of a scholarly and readable work which will in future accompany me on my visits to the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive guide to the wines of South-West France, 21 April 2010
By 
Kristian T. Sorensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
Poul Strang new and improved revision of his 1994 guide to the ampelographic museum of South-West France is really a very good wine book. Not just for people planning on visiting the area, but also for wine lovers who want to go beyond the well-known varieties. Read about little known varieties like Ondenc, Loin de l'Oeil, Mauzac and many more. You also get the benefit of Poul Strang's long history in the area - he really knows the (often idealistic) producers behind the wines and brings their stories to his readers in a well written manner.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ditto, 31 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
I couldn't agree more with the earlier review, although flawed this is a valuable addition to any library on French wine. Despite some sloppy publishing and patchy tasting notes the authors enthusiasm for some of the most neglected of French wine appelations is obvious. He is not afraid to mark down 'Prestige' cuvees, which he feels are sometimes produced to win acclaim rather than be indicative of the terroir or appelation.This is refreshing when we are in an era of super cuvees, 'garagistes' and boutique wineries producing wines few can afford.
I have had an interest in Cahors, Madiran, Irouleguy and Jurancon for some years and it is good to read about the top producers but also the lesser lights and those who have not exported their wines. This is a book that will accompany me on my trips to South West France.
If you are looking for bargains from France this is an area to explore, if you are in Britain you will need to have a good local wine merchant or venture onto the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars south west wines, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
Absolutely brilliant and comprehensive guide to the wines of South West France which I did not know much about before. We were staying in Gaillac and found it very informative for these distinctive individual wies. Will now set to and explore other areas in more detail that he describes so well. Well written and pulls no punches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
Great insights into wine and wine producers in south West. Pity the book falls short in locating the particular vineyards. A proper key linking the vineyards to the map of the area would be so helpful . Perhaps the next edition could go as far as giving co-ordinates. The adoption of a small amount of modern technology by the author would make such a difference.
I enjoy reading the book and searching for the wines in the Caves of France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars map references not shown in text as suggested in introduction (Page 8), 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
This colourful book was given to me as a present.The introduction (page 8) boasts how producer locations are identified on a map at the beginning of each regional chapter. While numbers are shown on each map, the associated numbers are then missing in the body copy so it is not possible to link the map identifier number to an actual producer. This is clearly an edit error in the print run. The book has been returned due to this error which is repeated throughout each chapter in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book for finding great wines in the SW france area, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
The wine descriptions and recommendations are great and we managed to find many enjoyable wines as a result of reading this book. The only problem with it is the poor descriptions meaning we missed out on a couple of the wines we set off for on our wine tasting trips.

Overall - if you are heading to this neck of the woods and like good wine, take this book with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but maps not useable, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
As the other reviewers have said this is anexcellent book. But, the maps are frustrating. The maps show numbered locations but there are no numbers in the text.
For those seeking a very good quide to French wines try Gault Millau which covers the whole of France very well. It is in French and obtainable from Amazon.fr
You can get a list of map number references and the corresponding articles in the text by going to:
[...] and down loading the pdf file.
Alternatively go to
[...]
search for Paul Strang and again down load the pdf file.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile effort, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers (Hardcover)
You need to start by admitting that the global market for a book like this is relatively modest. If you are reading this you are in a minority of (non-French) people who know or care that there are wines in South West France other than Bordeaux. This is, as far as I know, the only recent book to do an orderly survey of these wines. The book is well presented and nicely printed with some nice photographs. There may be some editorial imperfections as indicated by a previous reviewer, but this is to be expected in a book which was probably printed in 100s of copies, rather than thousands. Whether the recommendations given are the best is hard to say as one man cannot try them all and remain objective; I suppose they are a good place to start none the less and the biographical details give extra interest. In summary a well organised guide where you can easily find what you want to know about these regional wines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cc24d4)

This product

South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers
South-West France: The Wines and Winemakers by Paul Strang (Hardcover - 27 Nov 2009)
24.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews