Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic Text for Welsh Literature and Folklore/Mythic Studies, 22 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This is THE edition for the stories of Pwyll, Gwion Bach/Taliesin and Culwich and Olwen. The introduction and notes alone are worth the cover price. Translations are elegantly rendered, and Ford discusses the difficulties in explicating the history and meanings of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive translation, 14 Sep 2006
This is a far better translation than Jeffrey Gantz' Penguin edition, with good notes and first rate introductions, both to the work as a whole and then to each of the tales. For non-Welsh speakers, the Ford edition will bring you far closer to the rich feel of the original Welsh. I grew up with "Lady Charlotte Guest's" version, but now prefer this one. Mae'n dysgedig iawn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astounding achievement, 13 April 2011
By 
S. D. Nunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mabinogi and Other Medieval Welsh Tales (Paperback)
Ford's translation stands head and shoulders above any other. Additionally he provides the reader with handy notes and, where necessary, engaging encouragement to plough through the more tedious sections.

All in all an essential read. A must for fans of The Chronicles of Prydain and The Owl Service - basically this book is the homeland for a huge amount of contemporary fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mabinogi and Other Medieval Welsh Tales
Mabinogi and Other Medieval Welsh Tales by Patrick K Ford (Paperback - 29 Feb 2008)
£17.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews