Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb introduction to life on Earth
Animals, birds, insects, fishes and reptiles have always fascinated people. This book provides as comprehensive a guide as it is reasonably possible to do on such a broad subject in a single book. There are plenty of photographs and drawings to support the text. All of it is well laid out and easy to read.
The overview at the beginning of the book makes clear that...
Published on 12 May 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
Just found yet another mistake in this book so I can't really use it. I bought it as a supplement to the DK Animal encyclopaedia, which I use all the time, yet it adds nothing new and appears to contain too many inconsistencies. For example, the Natural History Museum tells me there are 10,000 termites per square metre in a rainforest: this book tells me there are 25,000...
Published 1 month ago by Grace and favour


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb introduction to life on Earth, 12 May 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide (Hardcover)
Animals, birds, insects, fishes and reptiles have always fascinated people. This book provides as comprehensive a guide as it is reasonably possible to do on such a broad subject in a single book. There are plenty of photographs and drawings to support the text. All of it is well laid out and easy to read.
The overview at the beginning of the book makes clear that the co-authors believe in Darwin's theory of evolution, acknowledging the alternative theory of creation but being somewhat dismissive of it. This overview also covers biology, habitat and endangered species as well as evolution.
Anybody wishing to read it from cover to cover faces a daunting (albeit very enjoyable) prospect - however, the book is structured in such a way that you can dip into the book for the information you want and usually find it easily (though I wonder how many people would know to look for rabbits under their group name lagomorphs), with separate sections for each main category of creature and each section sub-divided appropriately.
Understandably, the biggest main section is devoted to mammals. Here you will find six pages devoted to the dog family, ten to the cat family and three to horses and related species. Obviously, a book like this can never offer much more than an appreciation of the diversity of life on our planet, but in this it does an excellent job. The pictures should appeal to people of all ages including even small children, thus helping to interest them in the subject. The text is not too technical so all readers can expand their knowledge via this book.
Of course, you can explore the natural world in greater detail by collecting books devoted to birds, butterflies, cats, dogs, horses, fishes or whatever appeals to you, but for such a wide-ranging book about animal life, this is as good as any I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide (Hardcover)
Just found yet another mistake in this book so I can't really use it. I bought it as a supplement to the DK Animal encyclopaedia, which I use all the time, yet it adds nothing new and appears to contain too many inconsistencies. For example, the Natural History Museum tells me there are 10,000 termites per square metre in a rainforest: this book tells me there are 25,000 per 10,000 sq km which is frankly not an impressive number (it makes them almost 'rare' by tropical insect standards!) and should have rung alarm bells with the editors. The artworks are lovely - but while many species are illustrated and named, they do not all have any text about them, which is a little pointless. Nice book - good for someone with a general interest in zoology but not up to the standard of DK Animal for the serious researcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exemplary manual, 8 Feb 2014
By 
P. D. Rayfield (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide (Hardcover)
Unusual book, because it is both reader-friendly and authoritative: you can give it to an 11-year-old and to a graduate in zoology. Photography and production is as good as the text, and the price is very reasonable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 1 April 2013
By 
M. Finn (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide (Hardcover)
Its a very informative book. My son was given this book as a Christmas present from a family member when he was 5 years old, and he could not put the book down this including falling asleep in bed at night with the book open. Although you may think far too young for it, far too many difficult words to read and far too many pages think theres about 600. Its looking a bit tatty now and nearly falling apart now. This brought another one. Lots and lots of pictures of all the animals that walk the planet includining the sea. They are grouped together by species and shows you by pictures in excellent detail (in colour) how each animal from every species has evolved over time to suit a particular habitat of a certain countries. Its sorted into different sections birds, mammels, fishes reptiles etc and sub sections. If you go to any of the sections i.e birds it will show you a picture of every species of birds. Also it will show you the different variations of example woodpeckers, robins, kingfishers etc it is like that for every section of animals thats why there are so many pages It has a fact file on each page only a small paragraph long highlighting where they can be found and also a little about about the indivdual species as a whole. So its great and very informative for school age children of all ages and adults alike do not be put off by the number of pages because its very digestable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animals, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. W. A. Downie "kingfisher1" (irvine,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide (Hardcover)
This must be one of the best books for animals, fish and reptiles.
Great for my 6 year old grandson who can now identify most in the book.
Brilliant photos and description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide
The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide by Hugh Dingle (Hardcover - 21 Aug 2014)
21.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews