Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influential books in science, a must have for anyone studying physics or the history of science
Isaac Newton was a genius and after studying his work and his letters, I can only conclude that the man was ahead of his time. Newton didn't just "discover" gravity, he understood all the mechanisms behind it and detailed them all. His research is still used for astronomy and astrophysics outlining the general importance of it. It's due to Newton's work that we are able...
Published 8 months ago by QuantumAtom

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality printing!
The text in this book looks like it was scanned or photocopied, letters on the same page change size, some are much darker than others and characters have run together in a few places.
A modern printed version would be a more pleasant read.
Published 21 months ago by bmh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality printing!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text in this book looks like it was scanned or photocopied, letters on the same page change size, some are much darker than others and characters have run together in a few places.
A modern printed version would be a more pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influential books in science, a must have for anyone studying physics or the history of science, 21 Aug 2013
Isaac Newton was a genius and after studying his work and his letters, I can only conclude that the man was ahead of his time. Newton didn't just "discover" gravity, he understood all the mechanisms behind it and detailed them all. His research is still used for astronomy and astrophysics outlining the general importance of it. It's due to Newton's work that we are able to build planes that fly because we understand the fundamental interactions of gravity. For this reason I believe Newton is one of the greatest and most influential scientists in our history next to Albert Einstein, Gregor Mendel, Louis Pasteur, Max Planck, William Thomson Kelvin and the discoverers of DNA (Francis Crick, James Watson, Rosalind Franklin, Maurice Wilkins).

The principles by Newton describe and detail fundamental forces and interactions observable all around us. These include acceleration, deceleration, motions, motions of celestial bodies and inertial movement. Oh and did I mention that the man invented calculus? Newton wasn't just a brilliant scientist but a brilliant mathematician.

The principia is divided into three volumes:

Volume I - The Motion of Bodies
Volume II - (Same title as first)
Volume III - The System of the World

---

Just some quotes from the Principia:

"...now we might add something concerning a certain most subtle spirit which pervades and lies hid in all gross bodies; by the force and action of which spirit the particles of bodies attract one another at near distances, and cohere, if contiguous; and electric bodies operate to greater distances, as well repelling as attracting the neighboring corpuscles; and light is emitted, reflected, refracted, inflected, and heats bodies; and all sensation is excited, and the members of animal bodies move at the command of the will, namely, by the vibrations of this spirit, mutually propagated along the solid filaments of the nerves, from the outward organs of sense to the brain, and from the brain into the muscles. But these are things that cannot be explained in a few words, nor are we furnished with that sufficiency of experiments which is required to an accurate determination and demonstration of the laws by which this electric and elastic spirit operates."

(In the last paragraph Newton is describing how the brain works and sends signals to the muscles and nerves. Even on a subject totally unrelated to the principles, Newton displays impressive knowledge)

"Blind metaphysical necessity, which is certainly the same always and every where, could produce no variety of things. All that diversity of natural things which we find suited to different times and places could arise from nothing but the ideas and will of a Being, necessarily existing."

(I needed to quote this of all things especially with the influx of atheists on the internet arguing that science and belief are incompatible. I believe this statement here not only argues for the logical necessity of a creator but does away with atheism. Yes, next to being a mathematician and scientist, Isaac Newton was also an amazing theologian unmatched in his time)

---

Just by reading these short paragraphs you can see what an intellectually bright man Newton was. The way he writes is almost like poetry and yet he retains to teach you in every sentence how the world and the universe functions. The man was an amazing scientist, mathematician and theologian. If you're fascinated by science (or the history of science itself) or just want to understand the motions of the world and universe from the man who first "discovered" and detailed them, then this is a must have.

It's a massive read though so be warned. The good thing though is that you can always just flip it open and always find something interesting to read. However I recommend a thorough read which is what this book deserves.

(In terms of the printing itself for this edition: as another reviewer pointed out, it's simply been photo-copied so the quality is poor although very readable. For the price though, I have no complaint)

P.S

I don't read comments so there will no responses from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It will be a year or three before I manage to read and understand the contents in detail - my BSc Maths/Physics is proving a bit rusty - but just to own a copy of such a momentous book is enough for now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original Newton is the most interesting, 22 Mar 2009
By 
Jens Peter Mortensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is refreshing for a layman to read the original Principia by Newton, and not interpretations. The first explanatory part of the book forms a good supplement to the original text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for Pure Genius, 8 May 2005
This review is from: The Principia: Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy (Hardcover)
It scared the life out of me when I saw the size of this book but like paulsaunders18 said, don't be put off by the size of the book. I've read bits here and there and it does amaze me how Newton wrote this book, it's no surprise nobody could write anything to confront him. I really recommend this book to anybody that knows of Newton's works like F=ma, but that is all high school stuff. Newton really really makes you think hard in following his work which is an honour to read. No wonder he went mad. Buy it..quick..in the mean time do some weights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world-altering classic, 4 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This book changed the course of science and human knowledge. Isaac Newton was one of the first natural philosophers to understand that mathematics could be used to predict the behaviour of natural phenomena. Rightly ranked as one of the three greatest mathematicians ever, this is his most famous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

The Principia: Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy
The Principia: Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy by Isaac Newton (Hardcover - 29 Sep 1999)
72.00
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews