Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but Unstructered
Full of mind-blowing and fascinating facts and theories. It's difficult to dismiss the author's proposition that advanced civilisation dates back thousands of years earlier than is currently the "official" view and that these early civilisations may have been virtually wiped out by the catastrophic flooding and volcanic and earthquake activity accompying the ending of the...
Published on 28 Feb. 2011 by Miker

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not totally convincing
Fingerprints of the Gods seems to be the type of book that is either loved or loathed, either convincing people utterly, or leaving them mocking its credibility. I don't particularly stand in either camp.
Although many of the theories are interesting, and even possible, they are probably not the answers to the mysteries highlighted and the questions asked. Just...
Published on 23 July 2004 by Gryph


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling read., 12 Jan. 2004
By 
There will be those who will like a book like this, and there will be those who will never like books that have the capacity of turning one's world view upside down...
It takes an open mind to absorb and evaluate the flood of information presented in this book, a willingness to go beyond what one has learned before as the so-called accepted truth...
It is very much part of the flock-like human character to want to discard the compelling flood of anomalies as irrelevant, dangerous, or worse.
Some comments in these reviews point in that very direction...
Admittely, the book is written from a "let's show established archaeology how it's done" point of view, a little scholar-bashing if you will, but the long list of hints, proofs, hunches, etc. does make one wonder what might lay under thosemiles of ice over Antarctica.
Let's wait and see what the first digs in Antarctica will produce...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indy chasing the laws of precession, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
I am really glad this became a huge-selling best seller - glad that its insight, quality, and urgent importance didn't dwarf its sales , as it , sadly many times happen with many other radical works. This is not just a must-read ; Hancock's travels and searches are a heritage for all of us - as of course was the work on the same field of a few other researchers before him, who didn't get as famous as Hancock did. Well, it's great he did.. Most importantly - this book is shaking the foundations of Egyptogoly, and of many other "established" ways of thinking about our "past"... Ways of thinking that are now the basis of education and a norm distributed through the media. Things should change - this book is throwing some light onto our ignorance and darkness, and poses intriguing questions. It can be read as a transatlantic, transpacific Indiana Jones adventure , as well, if you want.. only this time it's based on real-life, disturbing facts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of humanity freed from narrow views of establishment's archeology, 20 Jun. 2011
Great compilation of scientific research and worldwide information resources written in easy-to-read and really interesting way. If person has no other than school-learned information so far concerning the history of the planet, this book can truly open the eyes to see how much is missing from the "official story of history" and put to think what are the motives to suppress the mysteries concerning the ancient monuments worldwide and impossible coincidences concerning the similarities of pieces of information derived from the ancient times trough the legends and literal/oral traditions of native peoples all around the world.

The information contained in this book should definitely be part of the public education and it will be sooner or later.
This book is like a Gift of Knowledge to humanity which has forgotten so much.

Very good read for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening..., 27 Aug. 2006
By 
Duncan Rose "Dunk" (Billingborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fingerprints of Gods (Paperback)
I read this book a few years ago and it inspired me to travel which I have since spent a year of my life doing, during which time I was fortunate enough to visit many of the ancient civilisations' statues and monuments etc. around South America and the Pacific mentioned in the book.

Most of the documented theories in the book cannot be proved, however interestingly enough can also not be disproved by any scientists! I beleive the author Graham Hancock invited his public mockers of the book to a live television debate to which none of them agreed...!

Even if everything discussed in the book is entire fiction it is a work of art and an extremely interesting read which precipitates a plethora of issues to debate.

I've just ordered the sequel... 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind-expanding stuff, brilliant from cover to cover, 8 April 2000
By A Customer
I first saw Mr Hancock on a TV documentary. I found his theories on the alignment of the Giza pyramids with the Orion constallation fascinating. Shortly after, I saw another documentary which set out to disprove his theories. I was left with indecision.
Now that I have read this book, I understand why there is such a disinformation campaign surrounding his work. The powers-that-be simply don't want people to learn to think along these lines. It would upset the status quo.
Throughout this admittedly long but rivetting read, the author manages to provide the information for the reader to piece together for him/herself. The views and ideas expressed are mainly those of many other thinkers and specialists in their individual fields - over centuries! Graham Hancock keeps the reader absorbed, informed and enlightened with a totally entertaining mixture of travel writing and interesting explanations of many complex concepts in science, astronomy, and pre-history. It has provided me with a framework on which to place all my further understanding of this subject; the timescales, the places, the peoples all fall into place now.
It has also given me the courage to look objectively at our global heritage, free of the systematic indoctrination of school textbooks. This book is breathtaking in its scope, yet very accessible to anyone who wants to learn more about our origins and our present position in the scheme of things.
Highly recommended! 10 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars With such books roads to great discoveries are paved..., 6 Sept. 2000
To ask questions and seek for answers is a solely human trait - trait that lead to great discoveries and meteorite speed of technical and intellectual progress of modern times. However, to spread new knowledge and theories, if they contradict accepted conventions is equally difficult: it's a "prejudice" of all highly developed societies to acknowledge that their theories on creation and development of civilization might well be wrong or that it's finally time to doubt them. History numerously proves that it's easier to reject and ignore than to refute. This book can be rejected or its theories refuted, but it can't be silently ignored.
As the headline for this book I can mention author's words: "I'm just following the science where it leads me... If my findings are in conflicts with their theory about the rise of civilization then maybe it Ò time to re-evaluate that theory".
Indeed, some aspects of the book's topics (eternal questions of "who are we", "who were our ancestors", "what is the message of ancient civilizations", "what stands behind stupendous monuments of Incas, Mayas, Egyptians", "why ancient mythologies have so much in common", "are civilizations cyclic and are we heading for a disaster'' etc) made me wonder, some I didn't quite grasp (e.g. part on solar equinoxes and solstices, precessions of earth and ecliptic cycles), a few seemed to be a little farfetched, but overwhelming flow of new information made me eager to investigate further, to doubt the facts we usually read in textbooks and also to express support to the author by writing this.
It was a genuine pleasure for me to read a very comprehensible and persuasive account on travels, research and evidence Mr. Hancock carried out. I truly admire his courage and devotion. His theories are fascinating, logical and stand on the basis of new (or old, but "unnoticed") facts and research carried out by various scientists in archeology, astronomy, geology and anthropology.
Although I have a great interest on research and new theory, I hardly belong to the credible lot and flow of info during last couple of years (especially all the "year 2000" craze), taught me to view very critical all these pseudo-scientific and simply laughable theories. This author is not blabbering some nonsense that Pyramids were built by Martians or were used to pump water, or that Ice Age was caused by a nuclear explosion or that dinosaurs died of flu.
But 4 stars account for the ending of the book: theories, however persuasive and alluring, were left hanging in the air, and singular message suddenly became supreme: that there was a civilization, equal in development to our own, although different in thinking, ca BC 11 000 that wanted to warn us about a recurring natural catastrophe. It seems we've had enough of this "last judgment" staff, even if it's going to occur. To my opinion, other questions initiated by the author were of much more interest.
However, the book should definitely be read as a tribute to spread quest for truth and knowledge in the name of the progress of our own civilization (oops, do I sound like Fox Mulder here?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life-changing book, 22 Aug. 2000
There are not many books you can call life-changing, and I've read many great books in my time, both fiction and fact-based. However, Hancock's FOTG has to go down as the only book that has changed my entire worldview, and for the better.
His lucid and nonfantastical 'neo-chronology' is brilliantly researched and explained without overly resorting to engineering or astronomical jargon. Where the detail does become somewhat technical, he attempts to describe this to a universal audience and without pretension. He plants in our minds the notion that human civilisation is perhaps eons older than 'we' (ie, traditional Egypologists, archaeologists and anthropologists) first thought, something that like-minded readers have always suspected. Hancock goes on to prove that not only is each monument astronomically aligned, but that all these sites are somehow interconnected within a truly global network. During a sudden global-warming period of cataclysmic proportions, perhaps they were our ancestor's only means of communicating to their descendents 'We were here, and this is what we were capable of' .
Hancock is a renowned construction engineer and thus he has taken the monuments for exactly what they were designed for, not what historians 'think' they are (ie, temples, burial chambers etc - that all came much, much later), although he has not ignored the spiritual elements to these structures. His use of applied engineering mathematics/geometry and modern astroarchaeological modelling is very concise and this is where the real evidence lies. There is so much engineering logic and so many alignment-based coincidences that his findings cannot be easily ignored, and he almost single-handedly displaces all the known civilisation theories of ancient Egypt, South East Asia, South/Central America et al. Tried and tested, empirical scientific theories that actually appear to work hold more far weight than the stoic, literal translations of hieroglyphics from the remenants of the Giza Plateau etc. Hieroglyphs tell us the history of the Egyptians, but not of the civilisation that built the Giza monuments (just try to find hieroglyphic texts dedicated to the construction of the pyramids). If this has rocked the foundations of historical, archaeological and Egyptological academia, then this book was certainly worth the huge effort, for what is the point of referring to human history if we cannot look back at our proud ancestors for what they really were - the first true civilisers of the 'modern' world.
Forget the Bible, forget the Koran, forget the multitude of the religious dogmas of human history, forget the orthodoxies of academic human prehistory. Read 'Fingerprints of the Gods' and many of your questions will be readily answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing view on the history of civilization, 6 Mar. 2012
A must read for everybody who thinks that we don't know all by reading history books. This book really gave me a new look on the ancient civilization of the egyptians and the connection that must have existed between ancient civilizations. I liked the way the Graham leads you into his findings without coming to conclusions yet. It give you time to come up with your own interpretation before he gives you his version. Graham presents a lot of detail and investigations that makes you wonder and gives you many discussion topics with your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fingerprints of the Gods., 25 May 2010
By 
Peter Rayner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fingerprints of the Gods (Paperback)
This is an excellent and thought-provoking book for those interested in the true pre-biblical history of the world that we live in. For the open minded, this and other books amply demonstrate the existence of truly advanced civilisations that existed tens and even hundreds of thousands of years ago.

'Fingerprints of the Gods' does not provide answers, only evidence of pre-historical cultures, science and technology. It is essential reading for those with a thirst for unindoctrinated knowledge and unadulterated facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing premise that fails to be verified . . ., 26 Jun. 2000
By 
Hancock provides some rather exciting correlations between ancient South American and Egyptian cultures. He hopes to unite the cultures with a "missing link" which he fails to provide substantial evidence for. This, however, is not the main flaw of the book. Hancock can hardly be expected to provide concrete evidence for that lost civilization when he has located it on the frozen continent of Antarctica!
The tragic flaw of the book is his insistence on reckoning these ancient cultures with the astronomical phenomenon of procession. While it is a fact that ancient cultures used their knowledge to trace the heavens, it is doubtful that they had an advanced knowledge of procession. Deviating further from possibility, Hancock insists that ancient cultures used the language of procession to make their mark in history. Finally, if you use Hancock's own 'scientific' calculations, you will discover that the current processional cycle does not match with the cultural evidence he gives in the book.
It is an interesting book and not without merit. One must be reminded that it was written before the dawning of the year 2000 and has a forboding sense of the 'coming doomsday.' If nothing else, the book will at least promote further thought about our beginnings and the technology we have somehow forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fingerprints of the Gods
Fingerprints of the Gods by Graham Hancock (Paperback - 2 April 1996)
Used & New from: £2.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews