Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH EVERY PENNY, 13 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
I have resisted buying this book for ages because of the expense but, in a weak moment, I treated myself. I am a big fan of Martha Stewart's practical approach to just about anything. I wish that I hadn't waited so long. This is a very useful book. The sort of manual that you buy once and refer to over a period of years whenever you are stumped about how to deal with something. It is like having your granny on the bookshelf or a modern-day enquire within. I would highly recommend this book and think it is brilliant value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 19 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
I totally love this book. In an age when we are deluged with interior decorating books, there are very few books which focus on the mechanics of what makes a house a home - rather than its external appearance. The book deals with everything related to managing a house and making it a comfortable, inviting, well-run place. It deals with almost any question you might have about your home, from fixing leaks to how to choose the bed linen. A mine of information and a great reference manual for all who yearn after the lost art of housekeeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Bulky but Informative, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Alia K L (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
I personally loved the book, I was expecting it to be a little different (as in smaller) but was in no way dissapointed. It's very bulky so you are getting value for money. I had to read it with a cushion on my lap :)

The photographs are in black and white (keep printing costs down I suppose) but it would have been nice to have colour shots in there.

The books content page reads like this:

Chapter 1: Introduction: a guide to how to use the book as well as a mini course on cleaning products
Chapter 2: Room by Room: listing all the possible rooms of the house and how to clean/manage them
Chapter 3: Throughout the House: advice on routine cleaning and periodic maintenance
Chapter 4: Comfort and Safety: with topics ranging from air quality and lighting to living with pets and pest control
Chapter 5: Moving: a guide to moving home or just moving things around
Chapter 6: Materials Guide: ranging from cast iron to gold to lace, how to deal and look after a range of A-Z materials
Chapter 7: Reference

This books is ideal for the man or woman wanting to add a touch of class to the way he/she organises their home. I would reccomend it if housekeeping is something you enjoy and of course have time for...

I didn't give it a 5 star because (a) its very heavy and not a book you can just pick up and read which might seem a silly reason not to give it a 5 stars but a book like this should be easily accessible - you can't just pick it up and have a read it needs more attention than that...

Otherwise excellent, go ahead and buy if you love your home and want to keep it in tip top condition...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its almost an Encyclopaedia, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
This is a huge book, luckily, I was guided by previous reviews.
I cannot think of anything that I need that is not in the book
t has massive information that should last a lifetime.

I wish the demonstrations were in colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book for your home, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs M. (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
I wish I had had this book years ago. Concise and practical detail is given to each type of surface, fabric etc, enabling me treat each item correctly, saving time and money. I am currently renovating my kitchen and the advise and useful tips given for this procedure has been invaluable. Thank you Martha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Homekeeping Handbook, 29 Jan 2007
By 
H. Kingsbury (Fareham, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
This book has so many tips on how to clean and organise your home. I would call it a modern day Mrs Beeton. Something that I know I will and have already referred to a number of times. Not your classical Martha Stewart book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
Great book, full of lots of information in a easy to reference style , makes a great present for the new home maker or to refer to for the older home maker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for housekeeping, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
I like reference books with pictures and although I would have liked colour pictures, the detail in the pictures is still very good despite the black and white photos. As I have just moved into a new house, it is providing useful information on how to set up my house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
Amazing book. Great quality print, and great tips. Haven't read it all, because frankly I think it's the kind of book you read from when you have a question, but so far I found it very informing.

It also has a great plastic cover on top that protects it. I have to admit the size makes it a bit difficult to hold while reading, but I guess it gives you a bit of a workout while reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough homekeeping book, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home (Hardcover)
The only reason why I gave this book 5 stars is because I don't believe Martha Stewart wrote any of this- apart from a few personal words before each chapter. This book is written by professionals within specific industries linked to homekeeping and is therefore very detailed and specific- to the point I felt a little bored. With soo much information- I finished the book without remembering much- I felt a little overwhelmed by the sheer facts and instructions.
As someone who (don't laugh) enjoys homekeeping books I would definitely recommend, this is a book I would use as a homekeeping reference/ encyclopedia. I would not buy if your after a quick read on how to improve ones homekeeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews