Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have book for all crafters.
If you have never picked up a needle and applied coloured thread to fabric, then you will after reading this book. Kaffe's enthusiasm and designs lead the unwary on a path of constant design possibilites and maybe down the path to needlepoint addiction. Kaffe has taken the simple shell, played around with size, design and texture and from that designed a lamp shade...
Published on 24 Mar. 2001 by ga.dean@bigbluesky.uk.net

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment.
The book is great as an inspiration source. Lots of photographs of completed projects together with interiors for which they were designed. It is also interesting to see what inspired particular design. I really admire author's imagination and talent.
But as for stitching from it... It will be difficult. The colours in the charts are not clear. It is not easy to...
Published on 5 Jun. 2003 by beta gamma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have book for all crafters., 24 Mar. 2001
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Paperback)
If you have never picked up a needle and applied coloured thread to fabric, then you will after reading this book. Kaffe's enthusiasm and designs lead the unwary on a path of constant design possibilites and maybe down the path to needlepoint addiction. Kaffe has taken the simple shell, played around with size, design and texture and from that designed a lamp shade. There are also roosters, ducks, broken pieces of pottery and many more wonderful everyday items that have been used. Kaffe's use of the ordinary and turning it in to the extraordinary by using simple stitching and basic shapes is a great gift, but a gift that any one can work on. The colours in the book are bright and vibrant and they really make you want to start working on a project just so that you can see if yours would look like that. The us of text and explanations of how and why throughout the book are also great. This is not so much a "you must do" book, but an "if I can do it,so can you" book. I think the book is a great reference item and I will happily spend time just leafing through my copy and picking up ideas for other designs that I am doing. In the back of the book there are helpful tips on fabrics, yarns etc., so even a beginner should be able to do the basics in next to no time. Steve Lovi's photography is clear and shows every piece as well as any photograph is able.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an inspiring, colourful classic, 10 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Paperback)
This is my favourite Kaffe Fassett book out of the many craft forms he has turned to - rugs, painting, mosiac, murals, knitting etc. Although he gives several patterns including - pear cushion, plum cushion, flower pyramid cushion, rooster tea cosy, shell motif, cabbage cushion, cauliflower cushion, striped knitting bag, geometric flower carpet bag, lichen frame, buddha cushion, plaid cushion, blue-and-white pot cushion, kabuki face cushion, flower shoulder bag and circles spectacle case, the real value of the book is as a source of inspiration for my own designs.
He gives lots handy hints on how to look for source material, how to translate it into a design and what simple but effective techniques will really bring it to life. He even gives a list of stockists of top quality wools etc. It's so inspiring. A real feast for the eyes and the imagination. A must-have for all artists who are serious about pattern and colour, not just needleworkers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment., 5 Jun. 2003
By 
beta gamma (Warsaw, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Paperback)
The book is great as an inspiration source. Lots of photographs of completed projects together with interiors for which they were designed. It is also interesting to see what inspired particular design. I really admire author's imagination and talent.
But as for stitching from it... It will be difficult. The colours in the charts are not clear. It is not easy to distinct between the shades, because they were coloured with pastel pencils. They look so. An editorial idea?
(For the perfect example of charts see Elian Mc Cready's Needlepoint - clear colours and graphic symbols to recognize shades)
Not all the projects presented have the chart printed. The ones I liked the most (generally the ones more elaborate) were without. And many of those presented charts were simplicistic, as if a child made them. Smart guy to keep the lovliest projects to himself!
To sum up - beautiful book showing needlepoint in its glory, great for looking at but not many interesting projects to choose from. Certainly good inspiration for proficient stitcher/designers (which I am not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weeeell ok then, 29 Sept. 2010
Pretty pictures, Kaffe Fassett has a reputation and so I bought the book. Well, not that many projects in the book and the one's that i really really liked were not in there. Only pictures of them. So I would say that if you love the luscious KF colours and want to do them, then I'm not sure that this is the right way to be getting on with it. Sort of feel like he's deliberately left out the good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legendary Kaffe Fassett turns needlepoint into artform, 10 Nov. 2004
By 
Mr. C. Bacon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Hardcover)
Kaffe Fassett shows you how to branch out on your own to create individual colour schemes and designs. This book is suitable for both the novice and more-experienced person with easy-to-follow charts for adapting or creating your own. The possibility are endless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful and inspiring., 3 July 2014
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Hardcover)
If you want a book that's full of charts for you to follow, then probably best to look elsewhere. There are literally hundreds of needlepoint patterns in books and magazines and even cross stitch charts can be used for needlepoint.

But this is still my favourite needlepoint book. It's different, it's full of colour and inspiration and makes me want to go away and design my own charts based on the things I see around me. And that's really what being artistic and creative should be all about. It makes me aspirational. One day maybe I'll get there. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth collecting, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Hardcover)
I just love the colours created by Kaffe Fassett. I once heard him speak at a talk about his needlepoint and he is such an enthusiast. The samples of his work that he brought were superb. The book is an excellent record and encouragement to all of us who like his work. Beautiful photos and clear well written text make this book worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good charts, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
C. Combes "cc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Hardcover)
Considered buying this book before but too expensive at that time. This second hand one was great, in good condition. Loads of charts for embroidery inside book, could be used for various types of fabric and thread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Needlepoint (Hardcover)
Great book, arrived promptly and in good condition as given in the advert. Lots of interesting information in the book, I was very taken by Kaffe's work it's amazing!
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book for needleworkers, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classical book about bright needlework! If you'd like to create the patterns yourself from everything around you, buy this book for advice and inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glorious Needlepoint
Glorious Needlepoint by Steve Lovi (Hardcover - Oct. 1987)
Used & New from: £4.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews