Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, passion and intrigue in Elizabethan England, 23 Oct 2002
By 
laineyf "widnes" (warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legacy (Hardcover)
This is the story of Elizabeth I and her great love, Robert Dudley, later Earl of Leicester. It tells the story of their
great passion for each other, and also, Elizabeth's passion for England, and how her desire to be Queen was greater than her desire to be Robert Dudley's lover. You are able to draw your own conclusions as to whether Elizabeth and Leicester were lovers in the true sense of the word, or whether she was merely stringing him along, until, goaded to the limit, he looked elsewhere for what Elizabeth refused him. It also details Elizabeths' flirtations and immense vanity, and her insecurities
which were many. They were immensely suited to each other, both of them being narcissistic in the extreme, vain, proud and haughty. I do believe that they did love each other, and that he truly was the love of Elizabeths' life, and that under different circumstances, they could have been very happy together. However, both of them were very ambitious, and Elizabeth in particular was never going to risk her crown for anything or anyone, not after everything she had to go through to win it!
This is a wonderful story, very well told, and makes you feel as though you were actually there, watching everything take place. I found the ending very sad, very affecting, yet uplifting. It is the ending I would have chosen for their story. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and have read it many times. It is a great story, told with a very human touch, which somehow makes it more real. Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glorious tale, Elizabeth Tudor lives again......, 25 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
Elizabeth Tudor led a turbulent early life, losing her closest relatives and friends to the axe, she was imprisoned by her sister, Queen Mary, and many times feared for her own life. Early in childhood she was introduced to Robert Dudley and they formed a strong bond that was to last until his death. This is the glorious story of Queen Elizabeth I and the men who served her.

Detailed, moving and highly entertaining this is one of the best novels I have read in a long time. From the first page to the last the book is utterly gripping. Bold characters, passionate scenes, violence and heartbreak, the whole range of human emotions leaps off each page. Portrays Elizabeth as a real person, with real feelings, instead of the two-dimensional character she is sometimes shown as.

A glorious tale, very well told. My only wish is that more historical fiction was as good as this. One of the best novels on the Virgin Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a legacy indeed!, 10 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a truly maginificent piece of historical fiction. I have always been interested in History and the book capulated both fiction and fact in an extremely successful way. It is a wonderful way to read about such a significant monarch in our history, and be able to feel and experience her way of life and feelings. This book puts you in a very sentimental and personal position within the novel, making you feel as if you are apart of the main characters passionate and traumatic escapades as the Queen of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply- the very best of the genre., 28 Mar 2006
This review is from: Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this wonderfully engrossing book quite a long time ago, and have reread it very often indeed: it simply is incredibly well written. Aside from Miss Kay's enviably researched historical detail, accounting for many well-documented stages in Elizabeth's life, her suppositions regarding her internal psychological life are achingly familiar to the human mind in all their resonance. Tying Elizabeth's mental and emotional progression in life in an original way to the revolutionary religious and personal triumphs of the equally fascinating and complex Queen Anne Boleyn, her mother, in one deft stroke fleshes out a totally believable and highly probable 'secret' regard and veneration, especially considering Elizabeth was forced by her real-life cultural contextualisation to legally introduce capital punishment for witchcraft, a 'crime' her mother was ludicrously accused of and for which she was resultantly murdered. It;s all here- told at breakneck speed. Buy it- it is a fantastic read. One point: Anne's possible psychological hold over her daughter should ultimately not reflect quite so poorly on her- Queen Anne was not, I believe, selfishly driven, as the book somewhat squarely suggests. A fabulous and yet credible account, nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ebook needed, 31 Aug 2012
By 
PLEASE amazon... GET THIS BOOK ONTO KINDLE!!!!
It is without doubt an outstanding work on Elizabeth 1 and Dudley, there is simply no other work that compares!
But please please please get with it and get this onto Kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Novel of Elizabeth the First, 30 April 2008
By 
Mrs. Judith Lugg "Judith Lugg" (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
Have loved this book for many years and often re-read it. Tudor history is my particular favourite and this telling of the often traumatic story of Elizabeth as a sad, lonely frightened child and young woman is great. In my opinion, she was a sad and lonely woman all of her life and this book brings all that to life.

Of course, a lot of it has to be poetic licence, but I believe that Kay has the large part of it quite right. The story of Elizabeth and Robin (Robert) Dudley is, of course, well known, but it is brought to vibrant life in this book; it is also made quite obvious here that although Elizabeth loved Robin she loved England more, unfortunately for her personal happiness, but happily for England!
Please read this book - I know it will be enjoyed as it's not only an excellent novel but it is beautifully written as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely amazing book - didn't want it to end, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As other reviewers have said, this is a truely amazing book. I was gripped from the first chapter and seriously didn't want it to end.

The book is written as a novel around the events of the sixteenth century, with good background before Elizabeth's birth, through her childhood and growing up years. How the events that happened made her who she was. Having read other historical books, I'm not necessarily a fan of Elizabeth herself from the ways she treated others for example, Katherine Grey, and her manipulation of the men around her, but this book restored a little of my faith and gave good reasons for why she acted as she did.

I really liked the day to day detail in the book, of Elizabeth and Dudley enjoying quiet evenings in her closet playing chess and sitting by the fire. It made the characters come to life and you almost felt you were there as a casual observer.

I will definitely read this book again and would recommend to anyone whether they are interested in this period in history or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really classy page turner with historical gravitas, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Dr. Sarah Jordan (Co Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with other reviewers here - this is the best novel about Elizabeth I have read, and I have read a lot of them! Both Elizabeth and Robert Dudley are very three dimensional here, and you can begin to understand Elizabeth for the brilliant but damaged woman that she was. I thought the description of her relationship with Mary was very well done. Mary is also given a role other than the tyrant of history - she also had a terrible and ultimately very sad life. Despite knowing the story very well, I still found the book generated suspense and excitement, and even the occasional laugh. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 4 May 2011
By 
Hiraethus o Gymru (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
Of the many novels I have read about "the virgin queen", this towers far above them all. It was recommended to me by an author of historical novels that I class as a superlative writer and a valued friend, and because of that I bought it without hesitation. This book bears out all the praise that came with the recommendation, and enters the very psyche that was Elizabeth, one of the greatest monarchs in our history. Susan Kay's research is awesome, not only in the case of the queen herself, but in the detail she brings to all the secondary characters, be they lovers, advisors, enemies or even servants. These were real people, and Susan portrays them as such. Whether you are, or, as I am, not, a "Tudor" fan (I consider Elizabeth the best of a most unpleasant bunch) this is captivating stuff. Read and Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid recreation of Elizabeth's reign, 1 May 2011
By 
Devaki Khanna (India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book presents a vivid picture of Elizabeth, the woman and the queen; her reign and her courtiers. Elizabeth's response to her mother's and her cousin's beheadings is firstly, a refusal to wed and secondly, a hesitation to send people to the block. However, her refusal to wed does not mean she is immune to passion--her relationship with Thomas Seymour is described realistically, keeping in mind the fact that he was ambitious and not above using anybody, including his nephew the king or the women in his life, to further his ambition. His death would have further embittered her against the Seymours in particular and men in general--hence the will-she won't-she relationship with Dudley. Her hesitation in using the axe is shown on more than one occasion, the first relating to the Duke of Norfolk and the second relating to the Queen of Scots. However, she is less hesitant when it comes to getting rid of Essex. This is yet another book that is difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legacy
Legacy by Susan Kay (Hardcover - Feb 1988)
Used & New from: 3.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews