Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Payne returns
WEB Griffin has done it again, a fast moving book that, as with all of his books, puts over very well the nobility, humour and fraternity of the police. I love the way that the characters and settings have moved to the present (the early books in the series were set in the early 1970s), so that mobile phones, internet, computers can all be used to enhance the police...
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by Jonathan McKay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
having waited ages for this follow on I must admit I found it somewhat disappointing. We get pages of historical biography of bit players whilst some of the main characters from previous books get little if no mention (what happened to Peter Wohl?). The whole book appears to be a mish mash, as though the authors couldn't quite make up their minds where it was supposed to...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by Mike G


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Payne returns, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Jonathan McKay (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WEB Griffin has done it again, a fast moving book that, as with all of his books, puts over very well the nobility, humour and fraternity of the police. I love the way that the characters and settings have moved to the present (the early books in the series were set in the early 1970s), so that mobile phones, internet, computers can all be used to enhance the police procedures. This book covers only a few days in "The City of Brotherly Love", and is about the discovery and tracking down of a very nasty piece of scum. Once again the hero, Matt Payne, finds a new love interest, but this one doesn't come to an unfortunate - ie fatal - end.. Yet! I am sure there are more books yet to come in this series. If you haven't read his books before, you should, you are missing one of the great supporters of the police and military who writes with such affection and admiration for these guys in uniform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor of Spies, 12 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Sarah Band (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book lived up to my expectations with the continuing saga of Cletus Frade. W.E.B Griffin continues his espionage tales which are intricately plotted and packed with factual details. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Aug 2010
By 
Mike G (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having waited ages for this follow on I must admit I found it somewhat disappointing. We get pages of historical biography of bit players whilst some of the main characters from previous books get little if no mention (what happened to Peter Wohl?). The whole book appears to be a mish mash, as though the authors couldn't quite make up their minds where it was supposed to be going. The ending is rushed and disappointing. As though ideas had stalled and it just needed to be finished. It seems to me that many writers, when they have to resort to and rely on other co-authors (Clancy, Patterson, Cussler and now Griffin, to name but a few)should just 'pack it in'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard, 19 Feb 2010
By 
B. Mcguckin "B McGuckin" (Belfast Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not up to his usual standards, disappointing. Seems to have little input by W. E. B. Griffin himself.poor ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Big, Sprawling Novel That Sweeps You Up into History as Though You Were Living It Today, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Have I therefore become your enemy because I tell you the truth?" -- Galatians 4:16

Who can you trust? That's the key issue captured by this book.

It's 1943 and the Germans are clearly going to lose the war. Some Germans want to eliminate Hitler, a goal that the OSS would like to aid. Others want to escape the Allies and re-establish Fascism in Argentina. Still others are looking to make money any way they can. Into that mix, young Cletus Frade finds himself as the key to leading history one way or the other. As the book opens, he's asked to help a German prisoner of war escape to become an advocate for peace. Life, death, and the fate of the world continually depend on his judgment, especially about who to confide in.

This novel has many impressive qualities that will make it memorable for anyone who reads it: fascinating insights into lots of famous people, fitting in historical events in a smooth way, clever descriptions of complex negotiations, poignant references to family and faith, good-hearted commitment to righting wrongs, fascinating references to technology, and villains you love to hate. The sheer number of characters and their interactions provide enough food for thought to keep you wondering about the brilliance of the authors for a long time.

Seeing World War II from the perspective of Argentina is a brilliant way to make the story stand out. That setting also makes the Americans and Germans seem different than they do in an "us" versus "them" story.

The book's main weakness is that having carried into the story so many characters and complexities, it's not simple or quick to resolve them. So the action moves a bit ponderously at times. But it's the kind of real-life slowness that often affects matters of great import, adding a note of further reality to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honor of spies, 27 May 2010
By 
An excellent book which shows a part of the second world war most of us were unaware of. It's written in a way which brings history to life in a way that history books never could. I hope Griffin goes on to write about what happens in Argentina when Peron becomes president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Traffickers, 8 Oct 2009
By 
D. A. Valentine (Poole, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After quite a delay in the series, this latest book fails to deliver on the character development. The previous strong lead players are either scantily introduced or disappear completely. It ends too quickly, gathering the loose ends together as if in a hurry to reach a deadline. I consider it to be poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Honor of Spies (Honor Bound (Paperback))
The Honor of Spies (Honor Bound (Paperback)) by William E, IV Butterworth (Mass Market Paperback - 28 Dec 2010)
5.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews