Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Drake Sisters" series book 6
At last 6th born daughter of the magical Drake clan; the impulsive, highly independent Joley meets her match in the form of assassin and body guard to the Russian mafia Ilya Prakenskii. Joley has successfully kept her dark side hidden from her family and has turned her attraction to "bad boys" into a family joke; however Ilya has seen into her very soul and knows every...
Published on 21 Mar 2009 by Book Addict

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable
This is the third book of this series that I have read (besides "Magic in the wind" and "Safe Harbor"). The others sisters didn't seem interesting enough for me to buy their books. I loved the first, didn't much like the second and bought this one with doubts. I actually liked it a lot; it was interesting, the plot kept my attention and the characters were likeable. I...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable, 3 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third book of this series that I have read (besides "Magic in the wind" and "Safe Harbor"). The others sisters didn't seem interesting enough for me to buy their books. I loved the first, didn't much like the second and bought this one with doubts. I actually liked it a lot; it was interesting, the plot kept my attention and the characters were likeable. I think it managed to avoid the two worst mistakes that writers make when writing a series: a) it focused on the hero and heroine. The sister's bond is an integral part of the books, but each book is supposed to be a romance, about one couple's love story not about the sisters, and b) it was not used to set up the back story for the next one. Feehan had done both those mistakes with "Safe Harbor"; the sisters got so much "screen time" and the Joley/Ilya relationship was such an interesting subplot that I ended up finding Hannah's story a bit boring!
Two things I would have liked to see in this book: One is more details about Ilya's background; I couldn't understand where exactly he was raised and by whom. Apparently, these people were villains who abused him as a child in order to train a killer, but he somehow ended up a policeman. How did this happen? A scene where he shares his past with Joley would have filled this hole nicely. The other is that the whole thing with Joley's "dark needs" is not explained very well. The way I saw it was that she is an essentially good person, but feels less worthy, because she compares herself with her sisters, most of which are too good and nice and proper, and she eventually comes to realise that being different doesn't make her bad. That was very intriguing, but it was only implied, not shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Drake Sisters" series book 6, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last 6th born daughter of the magical Drake clan; the impulsive, highly independent Joley meets her match in the form of assassin and body guard to the Russian mafia Ilya Prakenskii. Joley has successfully kept her dark side hidden from her family and has turned her attraction to "bad boys" into a family joke; however Ilya has seen into her very soul and knows every hidden fantasy she harbours. That said, Joley is determined to battle for her independence and remains unwilling to offer herself body and soul to a man who not only wields more magic than she does, but who is believed to be a stone cold killer.

The action runs fast and heavy as popular chart topping singer Joley appears to be targeted by a killer, yet she remains determined to continue her tour despite the growing anger from Ilya believing she is placing herself in danger. The intimate scenes positively steam up the reader's glasses as Joley gives in to her deep attraction to the extremely alpha Ilya; who in turn wants a permanent commitment from the flighty Joley rather than the hot affair she envisages with a man she believes is incapable of love.

I now eagerly await the final book in this magical romance series scheduled for release in June this year. Although "Hidden Currents" holds no surprises as to who will be matched to Elle; the youngest and most magically powerful of the Drake sisters, I am sure CF will produce a fabulous finale to a wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good ideas bad reality, 19 July 2009
the premise of the book is interesting but the reality is enough to put you off sex for life,and is it just me but i would hate to be in love or loved by this controlling and overbearing man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greast story, 5 May 2014
By 
The characters just grow and expand through these stories. Good stories that intertwine. Please let teh characters carry on in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best book in the series. What we would give to have a husband / lover like Ilya....someone to love, cherish and to protect ..... Wow !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romance, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoying all these books. Love the witchery and dont know how Ms Feehan thinks of the plots but they're good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turbulent Sea - Book 6, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really adore this series! I missed seeing Sea Haven in this book as it was based on the road with Joley when she was touring, but I suppose it gave a chance for Feehan to really expand her descriptions (there are only so many times you can describe one single town I suppose). Ilya was just a dream but I think anyone who has ever read this book would probably think the same *fans self*. Joley I found to be rather annoying! Her emotions didn't make sense to me but in fairness to her I felt her actions were justified in all cases. The action itself in this book is great - not too over the top but still enough there to keep me satisfied. I did call some of the more 'spoiler' bits fairly early in the story (in fact one particular plot line I had called in another book...) but it still kept me interested enough to stay up way too late finishing it. Jolly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Drake Sisters just catch my imagination totally. This story of Joley and Ilya is a good continuation. Would love to read more of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book loved all the stories with the drake sister's couldnt get enough. couldnt put the book down. Really keeps you invovled wondering whats gonna happen next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Paranormal Romance Novel, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this author, her novels are amazing and so well written. She writes stories that allow you to lose yourself and you find yourself journeying along with the characters that you are reading about, you actually get a glimpse of what they are going through and can metaphoracally speaking experience everything that they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turbulent Sea (Drake Sisters Novels)
Turbulent Sea (Drake Sisters Novels) by Christine Feehan (Mass Market Paperback - 29 July 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews