Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
Ive been a huge fan of the Anita Blake series since I was introduced to them last year and haven’t managed to put them down ever since. So u can imagine that I was over the moon when I got my hands on the new Micah book.
I finished it in a matter of hours but was left a little disappointed.. don’t get me wrong its still a good book and LK Hamilton writes...
Published on 14 Mar 2006 by Squooshy

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars negative stars for this one - very disappointing
The Anita Blake series was recommended to me as being 'entertaining, if you could stomach the increasingly graphic sex scenes in the later novels'. I spent some time reading through the lot, and indeed the later books became less plot intensive and more oriented towards cheap thrills.

This latest available installment - Micah - does not even qualify as a...
Published on 16 Jun 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars negative stars for this one - very disappointing, 16 Jun 2006
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Anita Blake series was recommended to me as being 'entertaining, if you could stomach the increasingly graphic sex scenes in the later novels'. I spent some time reading through the lot, and indeed the later books became less plot intensive and more oriented towards cheap thrills.

This latest available installment - Micah - does not even qualify as a book! Her last two novels to this point were almost double the word length of the first Anita Blake offerings. The Micah story is tiny in comparison and actually belongs in an anthology of mediocre erotica, where the cobweb thin plot and lacklustre characterisation would not be out of place.

I agree with other reviewers - this is not worth keeping. Borrow it from the library if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to scratch, 29 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love the Anita books but in my view this is missold as a novel. The use of double line spacing gives it away. An obvious tactic to at least give what is at best a short story the physical appearence of a more meaty affair. I feel duped into buying it. The content is also flacid, with too much sex and not enough story. I would not be surprised to see it with the soft porn in Ann Summers and at times the writing is of a similar quality to Mill & Boon! Shame on you Ms Hamilton. If I was new to Anita I would not buy this, as it would put you off what is an excellent series of novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed, 14 Mar 2006
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ive been a huge fan of the Anita Blake series since I was introduced to them last year and haven’t managed to put them down ever since. So u can imagine that I was over the moon when I got my hands on the new Micah book.
I finished it in a matter of hours but was left a little disappointed.. don’t get me wrong its still a good book and LK Hamilton writes a true to form as ever.
going by the title of the book I was hoping for more on Micah yes you got a little information on his background but was hoping some deep dark secret was going to be reviled.
Oh well was still a good read and most Anita fans should really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Magnificent, 13 Mar 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
Micah. The one character in the Anita Blake series that nobody really wants to see more of -- really, we've heard too much about his physique already.
And because of this, Laurell K. Hamilton has turned out a very short novella, "Micah," to show off her latest creation and his enormous member. "Micah" has many of the same problem as her latest books -- too much emphasis on sex, annoying attitude -- but it's also horribly boring and unnecessary.
Anita Blake is woken when a coworker calls her. A federal witness died before he could be put on the stand, and the coworker can't go, since his wife is suffering a miscarriage. So Anita hops on a plane. But since she needs the occasional quickie to feed the ardeur, her boyfriend Micah tags along.
Though Anita has been shacking up with Micah for the last year or so, she actually doesn't know much about him -- he's a wereleopard, has kitty-cat eyes, and that's about all. But as they spend time alone together (no Jean-Claude, alas, and no Richard), Anita begins to find out what her boyfriend's past contains.
Here's a warning for potential readers: "Micah" is short. Very short. Too short for its size. It strains to fill the few hundred pages of its length. In fact, it's more like a longish short story than a novella, really.
And at the end of the day, "Micah" commits that cardinal sin -- it's completely unnecessary. There's not much of a plot, no exposition, no new revelations worth knowing. There isn't even any excitement until the ending of the book, and that peters out quickly.
Even Hamilton doesn't seem terribly enthusiastic. She's going through the motions: unimaginative (and sometimes gross) sex, lots of Anita whinging, and soap-opera angst about Micah (horrors!) being a good boyfriend. The writing suffers the most, since there's little detail and equally little atmosphere. The sex scenes, of course, are the exception. We get too much detail in those.
Admittedly, Hamilton DOES try to give Micah new dimensions as a character, by giving him a traumatic background. Unfortunately, this trauma is that his girlfriend dumped him because Micah's Magnificent Member was, uh, too big for her to handle. It will move readers to tears... of laughter. And you can only imagine how the Magnificent Member's, uh, size has an impact on the rather icky sex scene that follows. Although since they have been together for a year, it's not clear why the size is suddenly such a problem.
With "Micah," Laurell K. Hamilton has served up a pint-sized story that doesn't really accomplish anything. It's not much of a story, but somehow that seems appropriate for someone who is not much of a character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Author should apologise, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Fantasy fan "Jen" (Huddersfield England) - See all my reviews
I'm not a habitual reviewer but as a erstwhile lover of previous Anita Blake books felt compelled to warn others of the absolute dissapointment I suffered on reading Micah. I feel Laurel K Hamilton owes all her fans an abject apology for this dire tale, (or lack of). I found it tepid with no story as such and a book that if it was my introduction to the series would put me off any other by this author. I have previously been a keen follower of books written by Ms Hamilton, but will now be more cautious about purchasing any of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down, 22 May 2006
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
Buy this book only if you are a massive fan of Laurell K Hamilton and need to have the entire collection. It is well written but it is not a horror novel. This book is woefully short and has none of the trademark battling with the forces of darkness that usually takes place; the zombie raising is merely a plot device that serves only to get Anita and Micah in a hotel room alone. I usually relish the darkness in the Anita Blake series but this seems to be more of a romantic aside to the main series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Further Into The Abyss..., 31 Mar 2006
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ever since I was introduced to the Anita Blake series I have been a huge fan and read every book with enthusiasm, even going as far as to read and re-read the entire series upto book 12 a total of 10 times.
So imagine my excitement when at last book 13 of the series `Micah` was finally released, but my excitement was short lived.
I hate to be critical of Laurell.K.Hamilton but this book is nothing more than a teaser to tide over sales until the release of the next book `Danse Macabre` - due in June/July.
The whole story takes place in the space of 24 hours and starts with Anita getting a call from her co-worker and fellow Federal Marshal Larry Kirkland who is due to fly to Philly for a zombie raising but unable to go due to his wifes majorly early labour.
So it`s Anita to the rescue with one of her many lovers `Micah` in tow to feed the Ardeur, a vampire power she gained from The Master Of The City of St Louis (Jean-Claude) when becoming his human servant.
Then it`s all based around her trip to Philly, Anita and Micahs relationship and ends with a zombie raising that goes wrong - and there is no Jean-Claude, no Richard, no Asher, no Damian and in fact none of the other characters apart from Nathanial who comes in at the start and at the end but isn`t in the main part of the story..
All in all this book is short (it took me under 3 hours to read it all) and does little for the series.
I still enjoyed reading it as it`s Anita Blake and it has some of Anitas typical attitude and sharp wit that help.
But at the end of the day this book is by far the worst of the series if not quite as pornographic as some of the other later novels but only due to the fact it`s spaced over the 24 hours.
If you`re a fan like me you`ll buy it, read it and likely be disappointed but if you`re not a fan and it`s the first of the series you read it most likely will put you off reading any of the other books in the series.
My advice is to start at book one `Guilty Pleasures` and go through the series to at least make this book worth a look.
Let`s hope that book 14 of the series `Dance Macabre` get`s back on track and shows the kind of writing skills that made this series so amazing at the beginning.
Let us also hope that we get less porn and more substance than the last few books in the series that, although being readable, have fallen further and further into the abyss with the lack of plot and way too much graphically discribed sex.
I`m not sure why this has been so but Laurell.K.Hamilton has suddenly started writing like a nymphomaniac obsessed with sex, especially clear in the Merry Gentry Series.
I`m aware that in the case of Anita Blake sex needs to be present due to the Ardeur and Merry Gentry is trying to become pregnant but it doesn`t need to be so graphic all the time.
Sorry to say that if the next book doesn`t show improvement I may well just give up reading the series altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only if You really are a fan!, 8 July 2006
By 
K. L. McGivern (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read the other reviews for Micah I almost hesitated in actually buying it, despite the title being in my wish list since January.. It arrived today and like a woman possessed I ripped the packing open and settled down to read.

And I have to agree with the other reviewers... it wasn't great but it wasn't lousy either. It wasn't Micah's story but it wasn't Anita's either. This one is definitely for the diehard fan.

If Ms Hamilton is going to write any more like this it seems only fair that she chooses Nathaniel next and then works her way through the rest of the men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unrealistic expectations, 23 April 2006
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book fills in a space between Incubus Dreams and Danse Macabre in the Anita Blake series. It's not as long as the others, tho not that much shorter than her first books, which were also only a couple hundred pages long. If you're expecting a book the size of the last one(600+ pages), then you'll be disappointed, but as there's the latest book due out in June, and promised to be a full length one at that, you hardly have to wait long to satisfy your cravings.

I found it to be exactly what it said it was, a story about Micah and Anita alone together. It gives more background to Micah and reminds the reader that Anita is actually a person apart from Jean-Claude and Richard.

The only reason I can see to be disappointed in it is if you don't bother to find out how long it is before you buy it, so that you are expecting the next full length one in the series, rather than a short accompanying story.

I found it excellent as a reminder, as I haven't re-read the books again since just before the last one was out. This was really useful to get me back into the plot before the next one is due out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Micah, who is he?, 5 Oct 2006
This review is from: Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book because I wanted to know more about Micah. I have been intrigued with him as a character since he is consider the quiet easy going one. If you expect to learn indepth information about this character, you will be disappointed. There is little information about how he came to be wereleopard and tiny bit about his family.

The book really isn't about Micah. It is mostly about Anita raising a zombie for testimony, which in my opinion could have been added to Danse Macabre. There are 2 questions that are left unanswered after reading this book. Why did I buy this book? Who is Micah?

*Side note: If you are a really big fan of LKH and expect the plot and suspense of her earlier books, then I think you will be disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter)
Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter) by Laurell K Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - 28 Feb 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews