Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed
I feel I need to balance out the 5 star reviews by saying that although I have read every Anita Blake book I do find them flawed. For the first few books you feel that you have found a marvelous new series but as you continue reading through the series you begin to realise that they are getting a bit 'samey'. Sure the background 'case' or dilema is different in each...
Published on 28 Aug. 2004 by Mr. R. A. Hart-jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars easy read but nothing that will blow you away
Is it just me or does any body else have a huge problem with the way all the charcters dress, i mean Anita blake is meant to be this amazing vampire slayer but she goes around wearing big baggy polo shirts, nike airs and a fanny pack! and the men...jean claude with those frilly shirts and thigh high boots and why the hell does Richard wear a french braid!!!! I have to...
Published on 27 Aug. 2008 by bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, 28 Aug. 2004
By 
Mr. R. A. Hart-jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
I feel I need to balance out the 5 star reviews by saying that although I have read every Anita Blake book I do find them flawed. For the first few books you feel that you have found a marvelous new series but as you continue reading through the series you begin to realise that they are getting a bit 'samey'. Sure the background 'case' or dilema is different in each book but with each book the amount of time spent on police work decreases and more and more time is spent agonising over Anitas love life. In the most recent (or was it the one before?) the book starts with a fascinating case to be solved in chapter one then forgets about it entirely for the rest of the book only to solve it as an afterthought at the end of the last chapter. I have nothing against a book looking into relationships rather than being all action but the relationships in this series just irritate me as they just keep going round in circles. My favourite of all the later books was one in which Anita left town and left behind all her love interests and concentrated on getting the job done alongside someone she did not want to sleep with (Ted).
I will probably keep reading them because my Wife keeps buying them but they usually leave me feeling a bit disappointed. The Merry Gentry series has just the same problems but with the names of the characters changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Set, 16 Sept. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
This writer just gets better and better, I could not put the books down, I would recommend these books to anyone who reads vampire novels/stories. The way the author keeps you wondering the suspense is amazing, not knowing what is going to happen next or do you? Brilliant from start to finish! Buy them and read them you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars easy read but nothing that will blow you away, 27 Aug. 2008
By 
bookworm (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
Is it just me or does any body else have a huge problem with the way all the charcters dress, i mean Anita blake is meant to be this amazing vampire slayer but she goes around wearing big baggy polo shirts, nike airs and a fanny pack! and the men...jean claude with those frilly shirts and thigh high boots and why the hell does Richard wear a french braid!!!! I have to imagine totally different outfits for all of them that i would think would be more suiting!

Dont get me wrong the books are good and easy to read although i think Anita after awhile starts to bug me as she is a bit full of herself and thinks that she is always right but the stories are fast paced and each book has a its own individual story to tell. If you like vampire books then you should read a few of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars agree with letter titled flawed, 14 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
I quite agree with the comments of robinhj from Gillingham. The books are getting too obsesssed with sex and losing the real reason behind the character. She was supposed to be vampire slayer but she should be renamed vampire layer. I will still read the books because when the action starts it's very enthralling. The earlier ones were the best. And for goodness sake let her pick Jean Claude. Richard it a total plonker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love these books, 15 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
i have all 21 of these books and i love them i know some of them are mainly about anitas relationships and the dilemas in them but i prefer to read about her and her lovers then her police work it has the right amount of both for me i jus hate waiting for the next book and having no idea when its coming out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 20 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
I've loved every single book that Laurell K Hamilton has written, her Anita Blake books are some of the best books I've ever read and would urge people to buy them all! If you like these then you'll love her other series about Merry Gentry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
This has to be the most amazing series of books i have ever read except for her merry gentry PI books, very imaginative and extremely creative use of characters, everyone plays a differnt role in her life helping her to get on with things playing off amazing storylines and i have never read such fascinating stories,if you like her books then christine feehans dark series is one to consider!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anita blake: vampire hunter set, 8 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
wow! these books are amazing. a fantastic world of vampires and lycanthropes (were-people). racey, funny and totally bizzare in an almost belivable way. i loved the way different cultures are in this book it's not just the christian's v everyone else. even some of the vamp's and servents belive god is with them. only the one's that have seen the light though. really easy to read but you wont want to put it down. te plots are great and keep you gessig most of the time, oter times you have the answer but don't know the question until suddenly everything clicks into place. would recomend these to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 23 Dec. 2003
By 
This review is from: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set (Paperback)
I have read all of the anita blake books out and they are far better than any other books I have ever read! I cant wait for the next book which will hopefully be even better though Im not sure thats possible!!
In the meantime I am reading another of L K Hamiltons great series' Merry Gentry, a must read for any L K Hamilton fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set
Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Set by Laurell K. Hamilton (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2003)
Used & New from: £25.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews