Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at it's best !!!, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Destiny (Mass Market Paperback)
For anyone who has read and enjoyed a Maggie Shayne fantasy romance (and those yet to discover her)this is a must. Nibida & Eannatum (Nathan)were starcrossed lovers in the year 2500BC, when fate (and a women scorned) conspired to part them. Then Nathan spots a newspaper article about the miraculous survival of a woman who jumped off the roof of a four storey building, alongside is picture of a woman he thought to have died 4500 years ago. This is a magical story of witches (good and bad), revenge and love refound, told skillfully using seamlessly interwoven flashbacks, compassion and humour. We can only hope Ms Shayne does not keep us waiting too long for another installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Jun 2003
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destiny (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading Eternity & Infinity I couldn't wait for Nidaba's story. Nidaba is the mother of Nick from Infinity & Nathan, his father in Nick's previous life. We find out more about Nidaba in her very long life (4500yrs.) Nathan finds Nidaba, locked in a mental institution, kidnaps her & helps her recover. But there is someone from both their past who is looking for her as well, a dark witch or so it seems. After reading about the next book in the series, i'm not so sure. There is a taster in the back of this book.
I do hope this series continues & Maggie brings back characters from the previous books, especially Nidaba & Nathan. I just love them all & don't want to see them end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 8 Jan 2014
As I started reading this book, I could not put it down, it one of the best I've read in a long time, the characters were full of life and the story was truly spellbinding :)
A must read, once you start, your hooked :)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read. I'm hooked I have always enjoyed Maggie Shayne books but feel this is her best series so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommends it for: individuals who like to read mysical books, 21 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Destiny (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great mysical and sensual book that flows as you read it. This book is about a king, a queen, and a high priestess that are high immortal witches 4 thousand years ago until present. It is full of adventure from begining to end. If you read this book, it is so great that I am sure you will read it in 2 days. This is a "can't be put down book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal Romance set in ancient Sumer and modern America, 28 Dec 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Destiny (Mass Market Paperback)
"Destiny" works very well as a standalone story and it's not necessary to have read the previous stories ("Infinity" and "Eternity") to follow the action, although one or two nuances, as well as some characters, aren't explained completely. This story follows Nidaba who was mentioned a great deal in "Eternity" as a four thousand year old woman whose mind was perhaps letting go. We meet Nidaba in this story after she has just committed suicide after jumping from a high building, only to recover in the ambulance and to be drugged and then kept in a mental asylum. When Nathan Ian King sees her photograph in the newspaper with the question "who is this woman" he is sure he knows who she is... only that she died four and a half thousand years ago. However he goes to investigate and discovers that she is indeed Nidaba, Priestess of Inanna who was his childhood playmate and only real love when he was the King of Lagesh in ancient Sumer.

With the help of two of his friends, Nathan rescues Nidaba from the mental asylum and cares for her at his house, trying to help her to recover from her catatonic state. However when she does they have a lot of history to cover - they both have much for which to be forgiven. The novel takes place in two times in history, with the modern-day sections when Nathan is caring for Nidaba and the historical sections where Eannatum and Nidaba are growing up and learning to love each other in ancient Sumer. The Sumerian sections are interesting and reasonably accurate.

Of course there is a 'baddie' in this book. Nathan's former wife Puabi, who is trying to get Nidaba's heart to extend her own immortality and to finally pay back her old, old adversary (and who gets her own story told in the much shorter "Immortality"). We also briefly meet Arianna and Nicodimus from "Eternity" but most of the action is between Nathan/Eannatum and Nidaba. It was an interesting story and the historical sections in Sumer added a great deal to the story but somehow it never really completely drew in this reader to the world described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destiny
Destiny by Maggie Shayne (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jan 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews