Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, delightful! paranormal
After Dark is the prequel to After Glow - just out recently under the Castle name. It was a super paranormal/off-world tale that I really adored and thought it a great, vibrant tale, much in the old Krentz mold. Strangely, it was not received well by her fans at the time - before the big Paranormal Romance boom. Its reception was so cold that her publisher put off putting...
Published on 17 Oct 2004 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blah, Blah, Blah.
Boring. If it wasn't for the name on the cover I wouldn't even have believed this was written by Jayne Castle - a.k.a Jayne Ann Krentz. After several duds in the modern and historical catagories, I was really looking forward to this, since I've never been disappointed by one of her fantasy/sci-fi's. Well, there's always a first time. This really wasn't worth the money,...
Published on 3 Oct 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, delightful! paranormal, 17 Oct 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
After Dark is the prequel to After Glow - just out recently under the Castle name. It was a super paranormal/off-world tale that I really adored and thought it a great, vibrant tale, much in the old Krentz mold. Strangely, it was not received well by her fans at the time - before the big Paranormal Romance boom. Its reception was so cold that her publisher put off putting out anymore in this series for nearly four years. I guess the Paranormals burning up the charts caused them to rethink that line, and they brought out the sequel to After Dark - After Glow - which received great reviews. My, my what a time frame can mean to the readers mind?
After Dark was a great Off-World tale of Harmony, where earth travelers colonized and then were cut off from Earth connections when the "curtain" closed. (See Amaryllis, Zinnia and Orchard, books set on the same planet). A race of aliens once lived on the planet, leaving behind vast underground ruins, all protected by "trap" illusions. It takes a special sort of "detangler" to derazzle the traps that were known to fry people's minds. Lydia Smith is a detangler for an archaeologist team working in the eerie green glowing underground. When something goes wrong, Lydia finds herself without a job or a professional reputation. In comes Emmett London, who is tracking down lost antiques. He hires Lydia as a consultant. Alien ghosts and "traps" start haunting the couple left and right as it's obvious someone doesn't want the team to solve the riddle of the missing alien artifacts. Lydia and Emmett sizzle. This was one paranormal that was ahead of the pack.
Super use of Multi-POV (Point of View), the way all romances should be written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 April 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've had this book a number of years and I often find myself re-reading it and enjoying it each time. It's a standalone book that works well on its own although there is a follow up, After Glow, which follows the same hero and heroine and is also great fun.

I believe this was the first of Jayne Castle/Jayne Ann Krentz/Amanda Quick's paranormal romances and when initially published it didn't do very well; however, after the market for these novels grew it became more popular and, I think, deservedly so.

Jayne Castle's strengths aren't particularly in fantasy worldbuilding (her worlds always seem to be pretty much like Earth but with one or two differences, rather than a more thought-provoking option). In this book, set on the planet of Harmony which has been stranded on its own since The Curtain, a kind of wormhole to Earth, closed, the people have spent 200 years living isolated and have discovered some strange abilities in some of them. It appears that everyone has a certain level of psychic ability - probably not psychic as we think of the word, but in fact an ability to operate some machinery, unlock doors etc with a burst of energy focused through amber. However, some people have far higher levels of this energy which goes in two directions - some become 'Ghost Hunters' and are able to manipulate the clouds of energy and use them as weapons or to dissolve them when they are found, and others become 'trap tanglers' who are able to dissolve the strange traps of psychic energy in the underground catacombs that can knock the unwary out, sometimes permanently. Ghost Hunters and Trap Tanglers have a kind of symbiotic working relationship but they also experience a lot of antagonism and professional jealousy.

Our heroine is Lydia Smith, a Trap Tangler who has lost her job since a bad experience six months ago (known as her 'Lost Weekend') when she was found in the catacombs after being caught in an illusion trap; most people think that she's lost the plot and is likely to have a breakdown. She's hired by Emmett London, a man who turns out to be a Ghost Hunter, to look for a family heirloom which has gone missing. Unfortunately in searching for the heirloom they find themselves stumbling over bodies and realise there's a lot more to the case than initially thought.

Jayne Castle writes the relationship between Emmett and Lydia very well. Their hunter/tangler disagreements are fun as we see the prejudice that they both hold against the other - and yet at the same time they are attracted to each other. However the romance is definitely a lesser part of the book than the plot and the plot is a good one - it's an interesting tale with twists and turns and some great side characters. There are flaws in this book, of course, including one or two unlikely plot areas, but it's still an enjoyable read. The sequel, "After Glow", looks more into Lydia's Lost Weekend and is equally good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic jc mystery/romance on a future world...., 16 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Why did'nt you tell me that you're a dissonance -energy para-rez?"...is the heroine's complaint to the hero in this classic reprise of jc's usual concoction of mystery, romance, suspense, paranormal abilities, futuristic stuff...and of course snappy one-liners. The story is that Lydia, suffering from post traumatic para stress hooks up with Emmett to solve a murder, find a missing teenager and discover some treasure. If the main para abilities here are a bit clunky-sounding, that's only a minor moan. The dialogue and descriptions are great and I loved Lydia's pet dust-bunny. Even poor Chester, introduced as a corpse in the very first line, was a fully fleshed out character and I thoroughly enjoyed this 'read in one go' keeper. It did drop a star (in comparison with the Zinnia, Orchid & Amaryllis trio, which all rated 5++++ for me!) because I could'nt warm up to the para abilities here, quite apart from the long names! Also Emmett seemed just a bit more detached then say Nick Chastain or Lucas Trent who lost it big-time (with a sizzle!) for their respective ladies. But hey, the heroine was great, the hero was a babe, the imagination & humour were fab so go for it - its a good'un!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love jayne castle books, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love jayne Castle's books, alway exciting and keeps me glued to the page. Only problem is that I cannot put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a paranormal tale way ahead of the pack, 5 Oct 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
After Dark is the prequel to After Glow - just out recently under the Castle name. It was a super paranormal/off-world tale that I really adored and thought it a great, vibrant tale, much in the old Krentz mold. Strangely, it was not received well by her fans at the time - before the big Paranormal Romance boom. Its reception was so cold that her publisher put off putting out anymore in this series for nearly four years. I guess the Paranormals burning up the charts caused them to rethink that line, and they brought out the sequel to After Dark - After Glow - which received great reviews. My, my what a time frame can mean to the readers mind?
After Dark was a great Off-World tale of Harmony, where earth travelers colonized and then were cut off from Earth connections when the "curtain" closed. (See Amaryllis, Zinnia and Orchard, books set on the same planet). A race of aliens once lived on the planet, leaving behind vast underground ruins, all protected by "trap" illusions. It takes a special sort of "detangler" to derazzle the traps that were known to fry people's minds. Lydia Smith is a detangler for an archaeologist team working in the eerie green glowing underground. When something goes wrong, Lydia finds herself without a job or a professional reputation. In comes Emmett London, who is tracking down lost antiques. He hires Lydia as a consultant. Alien ghosts and "traps" start haunting the couple left and right as it's obvious someone doesn't want the team to solve the riddle of the missing alien artifacts. Lydia and Emmett sizzle. This was one paranormal that was ahead of the pack.
Super use of Multi-POV (Point of View), the way all romances should be written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blah, Blah, Blah., 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
Boring. If it wasn't for the name on the cover I wouldn't even have believed this was written by Jayne Castle - a.k.a Jayne Ann Krentz. After several duds in the modern and historical catagories, I was really looking forward to this, since I've never been disappointed by one of her fantasy/sci-fi's. Well, there's always a first time. This really wasn't worth the money, and I'd recommend that if you HAVE to read it, you either borrow it from a friend or get it from the library.
On a more positive note, JAK's latest historical and modern books 'Eclipse Bay' and 'Wicked Widow' are a great improvement on her last ones, so ignore any nasty reviews they got (sour grapes) because they show a re-emergence of the talent that made us love Janie, and ARE well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Humour still there but extremely leaky plotline., 17 Sep 2000
This review is from: After Dark (Ghost Hunters) (Mass Market Paperback)
If this hadn't been a Jayne Ann Krentz book I probably never would have gotten through it. The humour is still there but the plot was neither fish nor fowl and completely unbelievable. I think Ms. Krentz should stick to contemporary and historical novels but leave science fiction alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After Dark (Ghost Hunters)
After Dark (Ghost Hunters) by Jayne Castle (Mass Market Paperback - Sep 2000)
4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews