Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Book in the Sister Frevisse Series
This is only the second book that I have read by Margaret Frazer but I was so impressed by the attention to historical detail that I will now be on the lookout for any others that I can lay my hands on. It is very refreshing at a time when a lot of the historical novels being churned out at the moment are mediocre in the extreme to find an author who loves her subject and...
Published on 27 May 2008 by J. Chippindale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie's tale
The read was a bit hard going but I got into it after a while and enjoyed it. Good content.
Published 17 months ago by pauline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Book in the Sister Frevisse Series, 27 May 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Novice's Tale (Hardcover)
This is only the second book that I have read by Margaret Frazer but I was so impressed by the attention to historical detail that I will now be on the lookout for any others that I can lay my hands on. It is very refreshing at a time when a lot of the historical novels being churned out at the moment are mediocre in the extreme to find an author who loves her subject and is prepared to take the time to research it. Many authors think that the time taken to research their subject matter is better employed churning out another book. Some reader's may say that there is too much historical detail but I thought that it added more credence to the story.

The novel takes place in 1431 and has as the leading character Sister Frevisse who is soon called to hone her skills as a solver of mysteries. The arrivalo of the lusty blaspheming dowager lady Ermentrude is a shock to the system of most of the inhabitants of St. Frideswide convent, but before she can get what she came to the convent to retrieve, her niece, the novice Thomasine, the calm and tranquility of the convent is even more disrupted when she is found murdered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Bubbles "bubbles" (southampton, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I love reading medieval mysteries and,I am always looking for new authors. I wasn't disappointed I couldn't put this,book down, from the first page it was gripping. I can't wait to read more of this authors books. Very original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sister Frevisse's Mysteries, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pleasantly surprised . I enjoyed the Sister Frevisse Mysteries very much . I gives an insight as how life was like , even if it was a Nunnery . a Medieval Mrs Maple .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once i started reading i was gripped. Set in history a true crime story solved by nuns. The information about herbs and medicine of the day were fascinating and a grim but realistic view of the people with money of that era. Looking forward to reading more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written novel. Characters introduced when they first appear and are all believable. A fast paced and interesting read with an interesting twist as to who the culprits were
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 15thc country house murder, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never heard of the author but at 77p why not try another writer of historical crime fiction? Set in a convent in 1431 the story rattles along with good historical detail and feel. My problem was that I didn't like the novice, Thomasine, of the title. I would really have preferred she die and Lady Ermantrude live, a nastier but more human charácter than the milksop Thomasine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very unusual mystery, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much, it is set in a Convent in the time of Henry V1. A very good mystery, i was kept guessing to the last chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars of two minds, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found character Thomasine at times irritating. Would have enjoyed feeling the force of Frevisse sooner. Loved the character Domina like my lovely sister in law... Long gone sadly. The ending was interesting... Made the book worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Medieval mystery, 1 Feb 2014
By 
R. Watson (Tattingstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good pacey read. Accurate observations of the people and the times. Interesting and believable characters. A few red herrings to keep you guessing.
The only thing that detracted from the feel of the time and the, otherwise credible, language, was the use of Americanisms such as "look out the window" "go get" etc.
However, I enjoyed it and will read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good start., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First time I've read a book by this author, I'm sure it won't be the last. Nice easy read nicely written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Novice's Tale
The Novice's Tale by Margaret Frazer (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jan 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews