Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of crimson- marjorie m liu
This book is fast paced fun and well written. The central character is a werewolf, she is brave, gutsy, niave and funny. She is willing to put herself on the line for her family and friends and does not rely on her partner (the vampire) to rescue her(unlike so many female protagonists seem to.) There is a nice twist in the tail at the end of the book, which you can...
Published on 19 May 2006 by Melanie Eagles

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very lightweight. Not even holiday reading
If you want just a lightweight novel with a bit of darkness thrown in, then this is it. The 'baddie' of the plot was disappointing, due to lack of development. He just appeared. I would have rated this more if it was in a collection of short stories, rather than a book in its own right.
Published on 3 Jan 2006 by Joanne K. Pilsworth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of crimson- marjorie m liu, 19 May 2006
This review is from: A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is fast paced fun and well written. The central character is a werewolf, she is brave, gutsy, niave and funny. She is willing to put herself on the line for her family and friends and does not rely on her partner (the vampire) to rescue her(unlike so many female protagonists seem to.) There is a nice twist in the tail at the end of the book, which you can probably see coming, but which is satisfying anyway. The other good thing about the book is that it stands alone, you do not have to read any of her other books to enjoy it and the story comes to a satisfying conclusion, even though it sets up the next book in the series. If you like Sookie Stackhouse and Anita Blake then you will enjoy this. I reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly interesting and thought-provoking story, 6 Dec 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City) (Mass Market Paperback)
When you do a random library pick you often end up with complete rubbish - I picked "A Taste Of Crimson" from a shelf in the sci-fi category without expecting too much of it - the cover image had a wolf howling at the moon overlaid with a picture of a man in a big cloak running down a road. The blurb on the back seemed overblown and cheesy (as usual) so I expected another run-of-the-mill vampire-werewolf-romance-thriller-chiller story.

"A Taste Of Crimson" surprised me. Yes, it is a story whose main characters are werewolves and vampires. Yes, it's a romance with all the usual trimmings. Yes, there are heroes and heroines and magical vampirey/werewolfy things going on. But there is a very strong theme running through this book that is definitely not run-of-the-mill - it's the theme of acceptance or ostracism of those different to you.

In the Los Angeles of this book, the humans are aware of the vampires and werewolves but are afraid of them and are starting to discriminate against them; werewolves are the bottom of the pile as they aren't rich, well-dressed and sexy like the vampires, so our heroine Keeli Maddox, a werewolf, can barely hold down a waitressing job because of the suspicion with which she is faced. And it's not only the humans who dislike the werewolves, there is also huge mutual antagonism between the vampire and werewolf community. Thus when Keeli meets Michael, a vampire assassin (he kills vampires that have gone rogue and is therefore disliked by his own kind), they face huge difficulties from both her culture and his over their relationship. What is so good about this book is the way in which these problems are described. This may sound a bit trite but sometimes reading this made me think of Germany pre World War 2 when various minority groupings in society were demonised and discriminated against, and often those behaving the worst to these minorities were other minorities. The werewolves and the vampires can't get along but they have to learn to work together in order to deal with the expected future problems from the humans.

Keeli and Michael find themselves working together to find the murderer of vampires - and the evidence suggests that a werewolf is carrying out these killings. The human police don't care about deaths within the supernatural community and so Keeli and Michael are battling against indifference from all but one of the human police and obstructiveness from the werewolves and vampires. Plus Keeli is finding herself becoming stronger and having to avoid challenges to the Alpha of her clan as well as having to do physical battle against those who want to punish her because of her relationship with a vampire. Michael has his own demons - his past as an assassin as well as some less-than-savoury events in his distant past. The way in which two flawed people work together to try and help their ungrateful kin is well written.

As in many books in the sci-fi genre there is a certain element of "Deus ex machine" to help the author out of tricky areas in the plot - in this case Grindla, a demon. What do you do when you need to rescue someone from a Fort Knox-type building? Well, you find your own handy demon who can magic you in and out just like that. And what about the short life span of werewolves compared to the almost-immortal vampires, when your hero and heroine have found each other? Well, perhaps your friendly demon Grindla can help with that too. Perhaps this is slightly lazy writing for an author but overall I didn't mind - the story has so many merits that one or two things like this are acceptable. I found it an enjoyable book to read and apart from a slightly slow section in the middle it kept my interest and I enjoyed finding out about the characters as they learned about themselves and I learned about this new world that they inhabited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets Better & Better, Gripping Stuff....., 21 Aug 2005
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City) (Mass Market Paperback)
Los Angeles is no longer the City of Angels; dark things haunt its streets - dark, restless things. Bodies have been found, and the tentative peace between humans, vampires and werewolves teeters on the brink of collapse. Keeli Maddox needs to know why. If she and her kin are to survive, she must trust a man as different from her as night from day, as tooth from claw. He's a slayer, a betrayer, an enemy. But nobility lurks in dark places, and Keeli herself is no stranger to shadow. As sure as the moon will rise, Michael was meant for her. Life is about to change. Only three things will remain: the color of blood, the hot joy of skin on skin, and the danger in...A TASTE OF CRIMSON.
This was the first one I read in this series...it was gripping stuff, kept you guessing till the end, but love always wins through if you trust it enough... This author knows how to write a story and keep you interested, right till the end and still want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Adventure, Vampires & Werewolves, 27 Feb 2006
By 
Ladybubbles (Croydon, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City) (Mass Market Paperback)
I originally bought this book after reading “Tiger Eye” by the same author and was not disappointed.
I have to disagree with the previous reader who called this a “lightweight”; this is more than a romance and if that is only what you are looking for, this book is not for you. The baddie IS well developed but not by focusing on the character itself but by the shadow impressions and interactions of other characters with the baddie. It is a build up of evidence which keeps you guessing right till the end. The loves scenes are hot and the love story develops at a nice pace and involves all the good stuff a story such as this should – strong attraction, caring, conflict and resolution.
Not only is it a well written book which launches the “Crimson” series, it is a great stand alone book. The other books in the series are written by other authors and as I have not read them yet, I cannot comment on how the series continues. However, even if you don’t buy the others in this series, this is a great book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best by far, 27 July 2011
By 
by far her best novel.i pick up each new book with the hope that they will measure up but they never do.the mix was perfect,just the right amount of adventure,fantasy,eroticism & romance.not overblown with too much drama and yet the story unfolds so cleanly, full of emotion that the reader picks up without it being rammed down your throat.i hope she finds whatever inspiration drove her to write this and writes more of the same.a good talent that i believe is capable of a lot better than all her works since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very lightweight. Not even holiday reading, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you want just a lightweight novel with a bit of darkness thrown in, then this is it. The 'baddie' of the plot was disappointing, due to lack of development. He just appeared. I would have rated this more if it was in a collection of short stories, rather than a book in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City)
A Taste of Crimson (Crimson City) by Marjorie. M Liu (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Aug 2005)
6.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews