Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynsay shines while making you howl!!
Lynsay absolutely rocks with her new series about a dysfunctional vampire family! I won't go into the plot line
too heavy because you need to experience all the surprises
and delights yourself.
A mother, two sons and a daughter (and more relatives to come hopefully) face the every day struggles of vampire existence in the 21st Century. In this tale,...
Published on 25 Aug. 2003 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review of SWV
The book was very enjoyable, that is the first thing I would like to say. However, it was not funny and the scene about the hero vampire chasing around naked and aroused, searching for condoms was downright cringe-making. I know Lyndsay's vampires don't conform to the totally undead thing, but really, would a vampire need a condom? And then they have unprotected sex a...
Published on 20 Mar. 2009 by Emma C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynsay shines while making you howl!!, 25 Aug. 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lynsay absolutely rocks with her new series about a dysfunctional vampire family! I won't go into the plot line
too heavy because you need to experience all the surprises
and delights yourself.
A mother, two sons and a daughter (and more relatives to come hopefully) face the every day struggles of vampire existence in the 21st Century. In this tale, originally called Lucern, we meet Lucern Argeneau, the first son.
He is a four hundred year old vampire, getting by in the dreary world by writing contemporary romances about...well, vampires...only no one catches on he is merely writing about his family. To his surprise, they are a big success, so much so his editor, Kate C. Leever of Roundhouse Publishing is determined to drag the reclusive writer to the Romantic Times Convention.
Lucern is a grumpy - albeit sexy - curmudgeon, and he is determined NOT to go to a book convention. However, Kate is a whirlwind, an editor - who has little life outside her work - so she is firmly determined to drag him kicking and screaming into the limelight. She gets aid from his family, who think Kate is not only a super editor, but also the perfect mate for Lucern. And while Lucern loves her as an editor - at a distance - he hates to admit he feels an attraction for the pushy lady.
Only, romance for the vampire - as well as attending a book convention - has a lot of modern day drawbacks. Kate fits in well with his family, though she finds them a bit odd. Lynsay is known for her side-aching humour, but she is at top form as Lucern is forced into the world of sunshine and supermarkets. Being your totally civilised vamp, Lucian does not go around biting necks - let's face it, in today's situation of aids, drugs and diseases only a foolish vampire runs around taking blood without knowing the donor's lifestyle! Being a smart vampire family, they have invested in a series of blood banks, and have a steady supply delivered to them. Only Kate's presence causes Lucern to miss din-din more than once, making him so famished he considers attacking a steak in the local market.
By the time Kate installs Lucern in the convention hotel, she is becoming concerned there is something very wrong with Lucern's health. From the mad escapade at the Ball for the Romance Times (with an appearance of Lady of RT herself!!) to Kate coming to terms with her popular vampire writer might just be writing biographies instead of fiction, it is typical Lynsay wit and brilliance.
Lucern is sexy, deliciously grumpy and is the new wave of vampires for the 21st Century. I have always enjoyed every book Lynsay was written, but I must say she takes the gold ring with this wonderful funny book! I fell in love with Lucern, so cannot wait for the rest of the Argeneau family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny as hell!, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
Dwayne @ Girls Without a Bookshelf (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
There is something in the dysfuntional Argeneau family that is strongly magnetic, and I doubt it's solely due to the fact that they are centuries-old vampires. They are so fun to read, so entertaining to spend a sunny afternoon with and so devastatingly hilarious I find it hard to part with them everytime I finish reading an Argeneau book. Single White Vampire (SWV), the third in the series, is my current favourite.

I have read and reviewed its predecessor, Love Bites, and that revived my thirst for reading and for more Argeneau moments. I have wanted to get my hands on SWV since I first read its prologue, which consists of the funniest correspondence I have ever come across!

This book is still to be beaten at the top of 'most hilarious book' list. Combine an independent, aggressive and slightly bossy twenty-first century editor with a grumpy, obnoxious, reclusive vampire writer, sprinkle them with the melodramatic Argeneau clan (spearheaded by the match-making matriarch) and dump them in a romance conference, and there is neverending hilarity. I love it.

The characters are so distinct and expertly perfected. Lucern Argeneau, our grumpy vampire, is the autobiographer of the family. A published writer loved by many women, he is reluctant to embrace his fame. He dislikes television, day dreams of sucking some juicy neck and dislikes his bossy editor, Kate Leever. The said Kate is forcing him to attend a romance conference, and he sure as hell isn't going to. Their tug of war romance is full of everything nice, of seduction and of stolen 'necessity-driven' moments. Fun.

It's hard to dislike a book this funny - but, there are some flaws that, if corrected, would give this book an edge over many. Lynsay Sands' vampire lore is already solid; it's the plot in each book that makes a difference. Firstly, though the romance in SWV was fun to read, it seemed a little abrupt to me. Nothing major, but there was no gradual change of heart (at least for Lucern, but really he's an oldie, so...), that slow transition from hate to love that I crave for in a romance novel. There was not much action sequences in this book, but heck, it totally failed when it did come up. Made the book a lot more hilarious.

Overall, the perfect paranormal romantic comedy. Of course, if you love the Argeneau family as much as I do, it's totally unmissable!

Read it when you're looking for a book that's funny as hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 1 Jun. 2010
Third book in the series and I am still addicted. The Argeneau of focus in this one was Lucern and he played the role of the curmudgeonly old vamp (over 600 years old) who was growing tired of life. Enter his editor - Kate C Leever. Kate took over "handling" Luc when his old editor died of a heart attack. Growing increasingly annoyed at his lack of communication she finally - in a desperate bid - flew to his house in Toronto to make him commit to an interview or a book tour or just to giving her a phone number so she could contact him. The funny is that Luc writes paranormal romance novels - which of course are actually non-fiction chronologies of his families lives - but are sold as paranormal romance. (Reminds me of a certain J.R. Ward....)

Anywho - Kate gets to Luc's house and of course slap stick comedy and misunderstandings abound. Finally Luc agrees to do the "R.T. Thing" just to get Kate out of his house and out of his life. Poor Luc didn't realize he agreed to 5 days in New York at the Romantic Times Convention! (I know!) And Kate doesn't know he is a Vamp at this point - so you just know it's gonna be all kinds of goodness!

It was fun following Kate and Luc's misadventures and steamy adventures while they wondered what that ringing was - It's the Clue-phone people - answer it! Seriously though - it was very enjoyable and I am already slowly ingesting the 4th book in the series to see what Argeneau Vampire will end up in the Love Seat next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review of SWV, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was very enjoyable, that is the first thing I would like to say. However, it was not funny and the scene about the hero vampire chasing around naked and aroused, searching for condoms was downright cringe-making. I know Lyndsay's vampires don't conform to the totally undead thing, but really, would a vampire need a condom? And then they have unprotected sex a couple of chapters later.

Anyway, buy it as a good read or because you want to get to know more Argeneau characters but don't expect to be rolling on the floor laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, love it!!, 8 May 2004
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book because of the reviews I read & I wasn't disapointed. The style of writing reminded me of Sandra Hill. There are some very funny parts which had me bursting out laughing. One instance is when Lucern is at the conference for romance writers & he is searching for condoms, I was laughing that much that I had tears running down my face.
I don't want to spoil the plot by giving to much away. But if you like red hot passion & laughter in a story this book is for you. I'm about to start "Love bites" about Etienne & Rachel, (Lucern's brother). Can't wait for the rest of the family's stories to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another hit, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lynsay sands has done it again.... single white vampire is funny and again fall in love with the characters. this series just gets better and better, i can't wait to read the next book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant again, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
unless you want to get addicted don't read one because they are so good I now have to read them all! if you do read you will love them, they are excellently written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Single White Vampire, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was not much of a storyline but still enjoyed reading this book. Found the book amusing in some places but some parts which were supposed to be amusing were for me a little over the top. But saying that I found the book easy to read and it was refreshing to read something a little different. Will be reading the next book as now hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Single white vampire, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed reading the whole series and getting to know the family involved with in the books. I recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Storylines, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the previous ones, it is quite different from the usual vampire stories, even the origins of their race are different. The books also have a humorous side and each book is different with each character unlike some that continue with the same story lines. I think the Kindle Books are quite exepensive considering they are only 20 chapters long, espcially as there are quite a lot in this series, it gets quite expensive. I would recommend reading this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires)
Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires) by Lynsay Sands (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews