Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a gem!
Well, I get books shoved in to my hands and told to read. And I have to admit I rarely dislike what is handed to me. But being it's a female doing the shoving, I a male sometimes see things a shade different. In this book, we are in total agreement.
This is one dynamite book. A celebrating of Brit quirkiness, for wow-pow instantaneous attraction, of interesting...
Published on 6 Mar 2003 by J. Marshall

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame..
I was so disappointed with this book. I absolutely adore Katie MacAlister. I love the Aisling Grey books which always have me snorting with laughter on the train in the mornings but this one just sort of left me cold. Admittedly there are some hilarious moments in the book (which I won't spoil by writing - but are the only reason I gave two stars) but it was the main...
Published on 3 Oct 2007 by Goomfish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a gem!, 6 Mar 2003
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, I get books shoved in to my hands and told to read. And I have to admit I rarely dislike what is handed to me. But being it's a female doing the shoving, I a male sometimes see things a shade different. In this book, we are in total agreement.
This is one dynamite book. A celebrating of Brit quirkiness, for wow-pow instantaneous attraction, of interesting well-drawn characters. I fear, however, maybe the Yanks will miss the boat, as they often do on British humour. I am hoping I am wrong on that assumption. MacAlister captures the Brit reserve and all the steaminess beneath, she fleshes out so well the almost proud indulging in off-beat behaviour the Brits adore.
It's wickedly funny, I pulled a stitch in my side laughing. It's fresh and charming. Alix is a pain, but she is a pain I 'know' in real life, adore and love, so it was a howl to see someone else understand a writer crippled with insecurities, someone who jumps at feeble excuses to hide their pain and vulnerability.
I especially loved the purple prose, shame we could not have a WHOLE Alix book. And I KNOW Alex is my brother....he even has green eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Romances I have EVER read!!!, 10 Mar 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
WOW! Where to start? It's hard to write a good review for a good book. You want to do it justice. It's even harder to write one for a SUPER book. And that is my task.
Katie MacAlister joined my writer's group this time last year and so I rushed off to read her first book NOBLE INTENTIONS. She really delighted me with her freshness. I have read thousands of romance books, and so few impress me with how original their treatment is. So many settle for tried and true where the books fade into fog as soon as you put them down. Katie's first book was sharp, funny and so FRESH. So I was eager to read more from her. This happened to me once before with Lynsay Sands. Her first book was so special that it left you wanting more. We had to wait two long years, but fortunately she had kept us supplied regularly since. It was a years wait for Katie's second book, but OH WHAT A BOOK!!!!!!!!!!
Since I have lived my life on both sides of the pond, I grew with an oddball humour that delighted in the quirkiness of the Brits. Katie MacAlister understands this and puts it on a showcase guarantee to have you HOWLING. To say this book is a contemporary romance it to say the Titanic was a ship. It is warm, loving, sexy and quirky with a capital Q. Katie's freshness gives you a tale you will not forget. She burrows a way into your heart and leaves you so sorry when you have to put it down. Due to time, I rarely reread any books any more, Outside of Lynsay's, JAK gems and a couple Linda Howards. I will reread this, likely more than once. It's just that good.
Alexandra Freemar is a Yank on a two month stay in London to write her first romance book. Told in first person, it's a little jarring for first few pages. Years ago, Gothics were mostly in first person, but that style faded and first person is an oddity in today's market. However, Katie wields first person with a razor sharp wit, and you will soon be in the flow. Alix is a bit of a failure at life. 29, divorced and with the mother from hell reminding her of all her failures, so she views her writing this book as a make or break point in her life. She does not have time for romance, though she is not against a quick summer fling. Her landlady says she has MR. PERFECT for Alix, but he won't be interested in a quick fling.
The next day she meets Detective Inspector Alexander Black, a Scotland Yard detective in the Internet Squad who closes down porn sites on the net. He lives in the apartment just above Alix's and just happens to be "Mr Right" that her landlady wanted to introduce her to, sure they are a perfect match. They are instantly attracted to each other, but having been hurt so many times in the past, Alix is scared of how strongly she is falling in love with Alex. Their romance is wickedly funny, steamy sexy and dead on. Katie sprinkles the mix with warm and loving, strong supporting character, that are as vivid as the leads, and you end up wishing you could live in this zany apartment building.
But the romance is only half the joy. You actually get to read Alix's 'WIP' (Work in Progress), some of the most terrible purple prose ever put to pen as she drags her book around London asking for everyone's opinions and input from the grocery to her hairdresser, and learning in the process 'too many cooks spoil the soup'.
I saw one reviewer say they got tired of Alix's self-centredness ...and sorry, they missed this point. Alix's is a wounded, long-unloved bird and she is going through healing and rebirth. Sure the readers gets ticked at Alix, just as the other characters do! You see, it not as selfishness, but SURVIVAL, her defence of being hurt yet once again.
It's a brilliant, witty romp that is just so original it will go on that keeper shelf and be visited like an old friend.
Only thing, I may have to sue Katie....I hurt myself laughing so hard I might have re-broke that rib that pained me so when I was reading Lynsay's Loving Daylights!!
Fortunately we won't have to wait a year for her next book since NOBLE DESTINY will be out in May 2003! Can hardly wait!!
WISE Writers and Readers Book of the Month March 2003
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame.., 3 Oct 2007
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
I was so disappointed with this book. I absolutely adore Katie MacAlister. I love the Aisling Grey books which always have me snorting with laughter on the train in the mornings but this one just sort of left me cold. Admittedly there are some hilarious moments in the book (which I won't spoil by writing - but are the only reason I gave two stars) but it was the main characters who spoiled it for me. Alex (the "hero") has no personality whatsoever. He doesn't read, watch TV, like to dance, go out in the country.. anything. He just works. Now while he has a worthy job, that's just not enough for me. He's got to have something going for him or else it makes no sense why the heroine (and by association the reader) should fall in love with him. Alix (the heroine) is a spoiled, whiny brat that is just so immature and self-centred I found it virtually impossible to relate to her. if I missed the chapters where these characters are given souls then please someone point them out in a review.

This book won't stop me buying more Katie MacAlisters, but this is not one I'm having anywher near my keeper shelf..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable read overall, does have its moments, but the heroine did my head in, 20 Sep 2012
By 
S. Richards (Deep South) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improper English (Kindle Edition)
You know, this romance started off pretty good. I loved the setting of London, and I absolutely loved the tall, dark and handsome English hero, a very proper but very sexy Scotland Yard Detective Inspector. I also enjoyed the lovably oddball secondary characters. I even had some good like going on for the heroine, initially. Alix is quirky, somewhat loud and even funny at times. Then, about halfway through the book, she just started to irk me. The author acknowledges that the heroine is flawed and has many issues that may annoy a reader, and I am one to appreciate an imperfect heroine/hero. But by the end of this book, I just felt drained and tired out by Alix. I guess I needed her in a smaller dose.

She was a hard person to truly like and have deep empathy and understanding for. Many times in the story she is told that she is selfish and needy and whingey, and I have to agree with that. I'd also say that she was inconsiderate and cruel in her cluelessness. At one point, towards the end of the story, that gorgeous hero, sounding very much like a love poem, says to Alix, "Be with me. Live with me. Marry me." You won't believe her reaction to his heartfelt entreaty, and no way would I have treated the hero like that. She should have counted her lucky stars that a man that sweet and that fine wanted to put up with her for the rest of his life.

I feel Alix's 'evolution' was stretched out a little too much, took too long for me, and even then, I don't know if I bought into it all the way. By the end of it all, I had lost my last bit of patience for her. She has a man who actually sees that she is imperfect, and he loves her, completely, despite her obvious flaws of insecurity, jealousy, and selfishness. IMPROPER ENGLISH did have its good moments, some funny and some sweet. I just failed to connect to this heroine, and that greatly tempered my overall enjoyment of this romance.

This story was previously published- Improper English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars American in London, 25 Nov 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
Alexandra (Alix) Freemar is in London trying to write a romance novel. Her controlling mother has given her two months before she has to go back to America and submit to what her mother wants her to do (with Alix you're never quite sure if this is a good or a bad thing, it's something she doesn't want to do), she stays in a large house with several apartments and one day she bumps into one of the other residents in the House Alexander (Alex) Black, literally. He's convinced at first that she's trying to break in and his detective inspector self comes to the fore. Once they clear that up they keep bumping into each other and as Alix tries to deal with England and the novel they find themselves attracted.

The purple prose of Alix's story is written in samples, as she reads it out to anyone who will stand still for long enough to listen, I found it painful and was skimming it as I was reading. Alix was seriously needy and really I wanted to slap her a few times. Alex didn't really have a lot of depth to him and really could have done with some sort of hobby to unwind from his day job - I can see a nervous breakdown in his future without an outlet.

Yes it was readable and a high 3 stars but it wasn't quite 4 for me. Each to their own though, what irritated me may amuse you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic find!, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
I laughed throughout the entire book and only put it down to find a tissue for the parts where I laughed so hard I cried. MacAlister knows how to write in the first voice a delighful romance like few others; please Katie, write more and do be quick about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noble Intentions is so much better, 12 May 2003
By 
theTramp "thetramp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoy a good romance, well written makes a nice change and a little freshness is even better still. So when Noble Intentions, McAllisters other book, was recommended to me I decided to give it a go and thoroughly enjoyed it. All that you expected with a wry twist of humour and a few bawdy asides for the 'guffaw' factor. And I did guffaw, out loud, on the tube, at least twice and for all the right reasons.
Indeed, I enjoyed it so much that I purchased Improper English soon afterwards. Perhaps I should have read this book first and then I would have been more enamoured with it. As it was I felt somewhat disapointed. The gaps that I swept past with Noble,laughing as I went, seemed so much larger in this book, so much harder to ignore. It had it's moments, but on the whole I felt annoyed by the principle character - 28 going on 14 and her bizzarely unexplored tall dark and (supposedly) droolsome object of desire (stallion references and all).
Noble Intentions made me laugh out loud. Improper English left me slightly annoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Fun!, 14 Mar 2007
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
As an American in England I bought this book because of the storyline and because I love Katie Macalister's books. I was not disappointed in the slightest. This book was absolutely hilarious! At one point I laughed so hard I had tears rolling down my face. It was great! I would highly recommend this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny, 27 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
i am a macalister fan and have loved the vampire love stories so far so this was a change. i loved the book, loved alex and although at time alix seems whiny i loed the last 4 chapters. good read if you have a day to kill or are travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED this book!!, 21 Mar 2003
By 
Leeanne Grant "Leeanne 'Tink" (not New Orleans at the moment) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
Okies...what a gem!! I laughed so hard think I hurt myself! I simply loved Alix and Alex. Loved Alix's attempt at writing, can related to her insecurities and the needs to pick out a stupid excuse to distance yourself in order to keep from getting hurt. I loved the odd ball tenants in the flats that surround them.
Sheesh...I just loved this book...what more can I say!!
Thank you, Miss MacAlister. I am eagerly awaiting you other books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Improper English
Improper English by Katie MacAlister (Mass Market Paperback - Feb 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews