Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an "easy way to learn Chinese", but still a great introduction
'Chineasy' is not, by any means, a book for learning Chinese, as most of its critics (judging from the negative reviews here and elsewhere) seem to believe. This fundamental misunderstanding of the purpose and function of this book can be blamed squarely on the author and publishers for promoting it as such (in TED talks, etc.), taking a charming little concept and hyping...
Published 7 months ago by Alan the Kaz

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Kindle version
Too early to say much about the contents and the method. Website is great. Found myself remembering the first basic characters after first viewing, so can't say fairer than that. I think there's huge potential for all sorts of learning materials based on this method.

However, no thought has gone into the Kindle version. Artistic design theme has been allowed...
Published 9 months ago by J H Chan


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I did, 7 July 2014
By 
A. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
Saw a lot of people raving about this book and I've been trying to learn Chinese for a little while now so I bought this to see if it helped. So glad I did. really simplifies such a difficult language to pick up! would definitely recommend for anyone attempting to learn Chinese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art and language mixed together: genius!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
My daughter has a keen interest in language and finds this book a fascinating guide to how Chinese words and phrases are 'built'. Whilst she does not intend to learn to speak Chinese, she loves this book as it offers an interesting, creative overview of the language, with superb artwork and ingenuity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So appealing and exciting for a graphic designer, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
Would never have bothered with Chinese is it wasn't for this great tome.

I will be supplementing my book with the new card set.

A very satisfying purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and Enlightening, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
An excellent introduction on reading Chinese. There is very little information on pronunciation but the book is about the writing system which makes complete sense by the time you've read through. Differences between traditional and simplified Chinese are explained throughout. An invaluable book for anyone interested in Chinese, and beautifully illustrated too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic to learn the basics, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
I had a quick read of the book in one sitting and it's fantastic. The concepts are easy to understand and quick to pick up. Some characters have immediately stuck in my head after only a quick skim! Chinese characters always seemed to intimidating before I got this book, but now they look kinda beautiful~ There is also a few cultural insights to help understand the origins of certain characters, such as why 'peaceful' is made up of 'roof' and 'woman'.

Be aware, though, that it switches frequently from traditional and simplified (but you are told which is which, so you can choose which you prefer) and that the pinyin is written in numeral style, which I am less familiar with but is not a deal breaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing idea!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
I have been dreading the day that i would have to learn the charters!!

Having learnt Chinese in conversation, i was looking to expand on my knowledge of China language and this was mentioned in the daily mail for its excellence, and excellence it is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
Totally hooked on learning something I would have thought impossible . Makes it all seem clear and logical and easy to visualise in mental pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful even my 4 year old is learning, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
Great introduction to Chinese in a simple yet engaging format. My son and I both love it, highly recommended. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 18 April 2014
By 
jack v (BEXLEY KENT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
This is a work of art that teaches Chinese. Highly recommended. Beautifully bound and the graphics are excellent. Bought for our daughter who lives in Hong Kong she loves it as she's learning the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book and great idea, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese (Paperback)
The book is awesome, easy to read and search, a very good idea to those who are learning Chinese. recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese
Chineasy: The New Way to Read Chinese by ShaoLan (Paperback - 10 Mar 2014)
£9.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews