Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure it will do what it says on the cover..., 1 Nov 2013
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this book with my 13yr old daughter in mind - she mostly draws fashion. But I have had a good study of it, and toyed with a few sketches to try out some of the tricks of the trade too.

The book starts out with pages of inspiration from the sketchbooks of top designers past and present and a foreword by Zandra Rhodes. You can instantly see that despite all developing their own style, the basic techniques of fashion drawing have all been honed and practised by them all.

We then move on to drawing the body - those elongated legs, and slim bodies with the half side-on pose. If you get the proportions right it all falls into place. Then you have to clothe it - and this section takes you through all items of clothing you may choose - from cloche hats to kitten heels, ball-gowns to cargo pants. It's all there.

I thought it was marvellous. My daughter isn't a fan of the unnaturally thin and super-long body (good for her!) and wasn't quite convinced about the suggested proportions, but she was certainly interested in all the clothing drawing styles. I hope she will be inspired by this book. An ideal gift for young fashionistas who want to improve their drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and detailed book, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book really blew me away with its detail, useful advice, inspiration and great pictures. It's ideal for any budding fashion designers, and although the blurb says it's aimed at young people, I think it's suitable for adults as well as teenagers. It probably isn't ideal for most children but if you have a pre-teen with a high reading comprehension and good artistic skills you could give it a go.

The book starts off with a series of interviews from world-famous designers, accompanied by examples of their drawings, which are very interesting to read/look at and are fantastic for inspiration. The drawing section follows, with clear and well-illustrated step-by-step advice on how to draw the figures, including faces, different body types and different positions. Clothes come next, with examples of all different clothing items, and examples of the different details that you might want to include - there are pages on different types of pockets, cuffs, heels, collars, etc. Each different drawing has an explanation and an idea with it for how you might develop or expand your own interpretation of the design. The book ends with general advice on how to enter the fashion industry and how to research and invent designs.

This is such a beautiful and useful book that will be of great help to anyone interested in drawing and fashion. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise Fashion Direction for Beginners, 15 Dec 2013
By 
G. Bright "chronically sedulous" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is presented in three sections. The first contains inspirational interviews of existing fashion designers. The second is the basics of figure drawing for fashion. The final part concentrates on design with helpful advice on accessories, working to a brief, research, making a mood board and building your own personal collection.

With an eyecatching orange cover, the book is laid out simply and in sequence with clear, direct drawings and easy to follow instructions. A glossary and index complete the package.

I found this book a joy to work with. While aimed at young people, it is also an ideal starting point for adults looking to start a career in fashion design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
This books is very good as it helps me learn the tricks of fashion drawing from a learner's perspective. It is cheap and delivery was prompt. Quality is good also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the budding fashion designer in your home, 5 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Loving fashion never seems to go out of fashion: every era has their legions of fashion devotees. In our home, our little girl loves fashion regardless of whether its dressing up her dolls or using felt clothing to put onto felt girls. So when we gave her this book, her enthusiasm boiled over the top. We couldn't get her away from it for at least a week. How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers is packed with information that will inspire the budding fashion designer in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For aspiring Fashion Designers everywhere., 5 Dec 2013
By 
JoMaynard (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I would guess this is aimed at teenagers, but is suitable for preteens to adults.
It has a forward by Zandra Rhodes, and is a good basic guide to what is involved in fashion designing.
It starts with the basics, moves through some designers, then on to the serious business of drawing people and designs. It finishes with discussions of mood boards, whether or not you should go to Art college, and what you need to do to get a job as a fashion designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - perfect for my 8 year old diva, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Quinn (MANCHESTER) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My little girl has always loved fashion design but she has been getting quite a perfectionist and ripping things up when they dont look quite right. This book really helps with how to begin from scratch and getting the correct shape of the body to start with. The best bit for me was the section that shows you how to draw a body with the head as the measurement, ie 1 head, then half a head for the neck, two heads for the body etc. Simple and effective, I even ended drawing some excellent models!

Lots of fun away from the TV, iPad, etc. She sings away or chats with us while she is doing this, reminds me very much of my childhood days colouring away (though all my drawings were of the Millennium Falcon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for all ages, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Rachael (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Do you know your placket from your yoke?

It's a random question to ask, but by the end of reading this book you'll know everything there is to know about all the parts that make up a garment, and different styles of clothes (including little facts and snippets about their history), there's interviews by different fashion designers (try picking a favourite after having a look at each designer's work, all are equally inspiring yet at the same time eclectic) and the most important part: how to draw like a fashion designer.

It teaches you the basics - how to draw your model, including great tips on how to draw the model to scale so that you can easily draw your garments on top, and gives great inspiration on drawing many, many different garments. The book is brilliant in that it gives you ideas alongside a how to. And you can do whatever you like, which is the best part. You might even find yourself creating a new trend! Speaking of which, the book even gives you a bit of advice on careers in fashion if you're interested in taking your new found drawing skills further.

I think this book is suitable for all ages, from a young adult upwards. I'm a grown up who loves clothes and fashion (especially street style) and learning more about the art of creating and designing clothes is fantastic. I'd recommend this to anyone who fancies trying something new and loves doing a bit of doodling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Design for Teens and Above, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A comprehensive introduction and guide to creating fashion plates, this useful book begins with inspiration and examples from designers such as Zandra Rhodes, Christian Lacroix and Valentino. It is interesting to read what inspires them and their design style and how the drawings are all very distinctive styles.

Then the book takes you through the whole drawing process from what media to use, to a step by step analysis of anatomy to focussing on each part of the body from head to toe and then a detailed look at each item of clothing plus accessories. Different angles are considered plus how to address a fashion brief, create a mood board and design a collection and, extremely useful, how to find different jobs in the fashion industry.

There is also a short glossary of technical and design terms. This is a perfect guide for anyone considering a career in women's fashion design from young teens upwards. Unfortunately there is no reference to designing clothes for men...perhaps something which could be addressed in a future edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove for aspiring designers of any age, 26 Nov 2013
By 
J. Dawson (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Shortly after receiving this book, I took it to one of the afterschool art workshops I run. The nine year old girl I showed it to asked, after a quick look through it, if I could write down the title and author so she could ask for it as a Christmas gift, and then proceeded to work through the initial projects systematically for the rest of the session. A very good start!

This is a really well thought out and comprehensive book for anyone interested in fashion design. There are interviews with a range of designers and reproductions of their sketches, notes on where to find inspiration, drawing tips, loads of examples of different fashion styles, from collar shapes to shoes and sleeves, design briefs to work from, and even advice about how to pursue a career in fashion. It's absolutely full of useful ideas, advice and inspiration, and will be useful to aspiring designers of every age.

For those who teach, there will be useful ideas for lessons here, as well as some excellent general advice which will be valuable for any young artists looking to develop their confidence. An absolute gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks  Tips from Top Designers
£10.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews