Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure it will do what it says on the cover..., 1 Nov 2013
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this book with my 13yr old daughter in mind - she mostly draws fashion. But I have had a good study of it, and toyed with a few sketches to try out some of the tricks of the trade too.

The book starts out with pages of inspiration from the sketchbooks of top designers past and present and a foreword by Zandra Rhodes. You can instantly see that despite all developing their own style, the basic techniques of fashion drawing have all been honed and practised by them all.

We then move on to drawing the body - those elongated legs, and slim bodies with the half side-on pose. If you get the proportions right it all falls into place. Then you have to clothe it - and this section takes you through all items of clothing you may choose - from cloche hats to kitten heels, ball-gowns to cargo pants. It's all there.

I thought it was marvellous. My daughter isn't a fan of the unnaturally thin and super-long body (good for her!) and wasn't quite convinced about the suggested proportions, but she was certainly interested in all the clothing drawing styles. I hope she will be inspired by this book. An ideal gift for young fashionistas who want to improve their drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to draw like a fashion designer, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am gradually working my way through this book and believe it will help improve my drawing skills immensely. I can "draw" but always feel that my fashion sketches are lacking, hence the reason for getting this book. Lots of inspiration is at hand in the form of sketch samples from well known designers (Lacroix, Valentino etc) and the book takes you through the process of how to draw bodys (fashion bodies) and then how to dress them using samples of various pieces of clothing and accessories. 5/5 so far for the book and slightly less for my drawing skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Fashion, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (Farnham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very thorough and complete look at the world of fashion and how to draw it.

I would say that this is pitched at somebody who can already draw at quite a strong level. I would hesitate getting this book for somebody less than a teenager. Although if somebody was totally obsessed with drawing fashion at an age younger than 13 then it might be perfect for pushing them to the next level.

The book contains interviews with Anna Sui, Christian Lacroix, Zandra Rhodes, and Valentino...

Nearly a hundred pages to get into. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves this book, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
My daughter loves this, it has kept her entertained rather than wanting to watch TV and use IPADs. A well put together book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and detailed book, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book really blew me away with its detail, useful advice, inspiration and great pictures. It's ideal for any budding fashion designers, and although the blurb says it's aimed at young people, I think it's suitable for adults as well as teenagers. It probably isn't ideal for most children but if you have a pre-teen with a high reading comprehension and good artistic skills you could give it a go.

The book starts off with a series of interviews from world-famous designers, accompanied by examples of their drawings, which are very interesting to read/look at and are fantastic for inspiration. The drawing section follows, with clear and well-illustrated step-by-step advice on how to draw the figures, including faces, different body types and different positions. Clothes come next, with examples of all different clothing items, and examples of the different details that you might want to include - there are pages on different types of pockets, cuffs, heels, collars, etc. Each different drawing has an explanation and an idea with it for how you might develop or expand your own interpretation of the design. The book ends with general advice on how to enter the fashion industry and how to research and invent designs.

This is such a beautiful and useful book that will be of great help to anyone interested in drawing and fashion. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise Fashion Direction for Beginners, 15 Dec 2013
By 
G. Bright "chronically sedulous" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is presented in three sections. The first contains inspirational interviews of existing fashion designers. The second is the basics of figure drawing for fashion. The final part concentrates on design with helpful advice on accessories, working to a brief, research, making a mood board and building your own personal collection.

With an eyecatching orange cover, the book is laid out simply and in sequence with clear, direct drawings and easy to follow instructions. A glossary and index complete the package.

I found this book a joy to work with. While aimed at young people, it is also an ideal starting point for adults looking to start a career in fashion design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the budding fashion designer in your home, 5 Dec 2013
By 
father2 "father2" (England Europe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Loving fashion never seems to go out of fashion: every era has their legions of fashion devotees. In our home, our little girl loves fashion regardless of whether its dressing up her dolls or using felt clothing to put onto felt girls. So when we gave her this book, her enthusiasm boiled over the top. We couldn't get her away from it for at least a week. How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers is packed with information that will inspire the budding fashion designer in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For aspiring Fashion Designers everywhere., 5 Dec 2013
By 
JoMaynard (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I would guess this is aimed at teenagers, but is suitable for preteens to adults.
It has a forward by Zandra Rhodes, and is a good basic guide to what is involved in fashion designing.
It starts with the basics, moves through some designers, then on to the serious business of drawing people and designs. It finishes with discussions of mood boards, whether or not you should go to Art college, and what you need to do to get a job as a fashion designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - perfect for my 8 year old diva, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Quinn (MANCHESTER) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My little girl has always loved fashion design but she has been getting quite a perfectionist and ripping things up when they dont look quite right. This book really helps with how to begin from scratch and getting the correct shape of the body to start with. The best bit for me was the section that shows you how to draw a body with the head as the measurement, ie 1 head, then half a head for the neck, two heads for the body etc. Simple and effective, I even ended drawing some excellent models!

Lots of fun away from the TV, iPad, etc. She sings away or chats with us while she is doing this, reminds me very much of my childhood days colouring away (though all my drawings were of the Millennium Falcon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for all ages, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Rachael (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks Tips from Top Designers (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Do you know your placket from your yoke?

It's a random question to ask, but by the end of reading this book you'll know everything there is to know about all the parts that make up a garment, and different styles of clothes (including little facts and snippets about their history), there's interviews by different fashion designers (try picking a favourite after having a look at each designer's work, all are equally inspiring yet at the same time eclectic) and the most important part: how to draw like a fashion designer.

It teaches you the basics - how to draw your model, including great tips on how to draw the model to scale so that you can easily draw your garments on top, and gives great inspiration on drawing many, many different garments. The book is brilliant in that it gives you ideas alongside a how to. And you can do whatever you like, which is the best part. You might even find yourself creating a new trend! Speaking of which, the book even gives you a bit of advice on careers in fashion if you're interested in taking your new found drawing skills further.

I think this book is suitable for all ages, from a young adult upwards. I'm a grown up who loves clothes and fashion (especially street style) and learning more about the art of creating and designing clothes is fantastic. I'd recommend this to anyone who fancies trying something new and loves doing a bit of doodling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3b445c)

This product

How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer: Inspirational Sketchbooks  Tips from Top Designers
12.95
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews