Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book with fantastic photos, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a lovely book!

Covering visits to the Arctic and the Antarctic, this book contains amazing photos interspersed with great facts and interesting inforamtionj about life (and the art of photography) in two of the most extreme climates on this planet. the presentation is lovely; and I really like the way so many facts are interspersed throughout the book. As well as the hints for photography in these extreme conditions (such as wearing thin, thermal gloves under your mittens and only removing the mittens for as long a is necessary to make the final shot!) I also loved the general photography hints and ideas in the back of the book. I'd love to just sit with my camera and take time to produce the quality photos that he demonstrates that we can take.

In addition to a simple camera, this book would make an ideal gift for any animal loving 7 to 12 year old. Without the addition of the camera, it is, nevertheless, a lovely gift for an animal lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography - North & South Pole adventure., 20 Jan. 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My Polar Animals Journal by Steve Bloom - In search of polar bears, penquins, whales and seals.

This is a photographic journal by much loved wildlife photographer Steve Bloom and follows his progress as he goes on a expedition through the North and South Poles in search of animals and birds.

Days 1 - 20 - he travels to the Arctic to photograph Polar Bears, Whales and other animals.
Days 21 - 40 - he travels to Antarctica to photograph Penquins, Seals and all kinds of birds.

48 pages of facts and photographs in a large, hardback book that's quite thin and not particularly heavy so suitable for smaller children to handle. The photographs are undoubtedly it's strength although most of them are small and you do lose a lot of the "WOW" factor. There aren't many full page photo spreads. Somewhat disappointed with the minimal facts about the animals and would have preferred more about them than an entire section on how to take a better photo, Just a personal opinion.

Nobody will look at the photos of the polar bear with her cubs and not go "AAAAHHHH" but; I'm not sure about the rest of it and I couldn't begin to guess at the targeted age range. Younger children will love the photos but struggle to read the facts. Would a 6 year old want to know how to take a better photo? I can only advise that my grandson, 6, looked at the book with total awe and admiration a few times but; it's been unloved and on his bedroom floor since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars completely enchanting, 13 Nov. 2012
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really wonderful book which gives a much better sense of polar animals than some of the other competing volumes, and would make a particularly good winter gift for a child because it is lovely and heavy with a satisfyingly 'posh' red spine binding, quite apart from the excellent content.

Steve Bloom is a celebrated wildlife photographer and the concept of the book is that he is taking a voyage to both North and South poles, photographing the different animals and behaviours you might see there. My kid is only 2 and a half, but has already learned a lot of amazing facts from watching Octonauts, so was consequently both excited and enraptured to see real photos of humpback whales, elephant seals and polar bears (all of which feature in that TV show).

Of course the book is actually targetted at an older age group - containing a few tips for how to take your own wildlife photos, for example - but I just want to show that the images are captivating even to a small child.

Also great photos of the northern lights, ginormous icebergs, and how the on-location photographer manages to go to the loo in the snow!

Five stars definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great photos are the star of this polar holiday scrapbook, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An excellent photobook aimed, I think, at children somewhere between 7 and 10 years old interested in polar bears, penguins and seals.

The photography (all Bloom's own) is excellent. There are some stunning, award-worthy shots, and some simpler animal portraits. Every one's a winner, and the print quality is good.

The text is nicely weighted I thought. For the younger audience there's a very slight anthropomorphism involved, but this is not a Disney-ified story- polar bears are endangered, and they hunt and eat seals, for example.

The narrative (a 40-day trip to first the Arctic then the Antarctic) has a bit of a holiday scrapbook feel to it, so kids might be a bit disappointed to find out they can't go out tomorrow and photograph their own polar bear, but it does encourage kids to think about taking interesting photos of their own. There are a handful of digital camera tips (including one about batteries running down quickly in cold weather- useful tip for adults, that!) which seem to be aimed at a slightly older audience than the nature text.

Visually impressive, this will really capture an interested child's imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VISUALLY IMPRESSIVE BOOK OF ENCHANTING PHOPOGRAPHY, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Swarfield - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a book that will captivate adults and children alike. Steve Bloom has created
a masterpiece of a reference book filled with stunning photography and comphrensive facts
about polar bears and other wild animals in the Artic and Antartica.

Packed with animal facts - my granddaughter absolutely devoured this and has spent more
time on this book than on any other that she has.

Not only is the photography visually stunning the author has included many handy tips on
surviving in frozen condions and he also gives brilliant ideas and tips on the best way
to photograph wildlife and the surrounding landscapes.

Visually impressive - this is one of the best books that l have ever come across and
whilst l had not heard of Steve Bloom I shall be adding to this journal with more of
his work - a brilliant book and well worthy of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of Fresh (Cold) Air!, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Angela - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is just perfect for my book loving 6 year old, the language is accessible but not dumbed down and the photos and the subject matter are fascinating. Over 46 content pages and in lovely bound format with just the right balance of photos and text, Steve Bloom takes the reader on an expedition to both the Northern Arctic and the Southern Antarctic via his pictures, along the way gently educating the young reader about the creatures that live there and the methods used to capture their images.

This is a lovely book for any child who is interested in non-fiction, and I enjoyed reading it with my daughter, who has also spent lots of time dipping into it by herself. There are some truly beautiful photos that transport you to another world. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Polar Animals Journal, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This wildlife book, by photographer Steve Bloom, is packed with stunning photographs and lots of facts about polar animals in the Artic and Antarctic. My eight year old son, who loves any books about wildlife, really enjoyed this. It includes handy hints about how to survive in the frozen landscape (including building a toilet out of snow!) and gives lots of information on polar bears, whales, penguins, seals and other creatures. The author also gives lots of useful tips about how to take photographs of wildlife and landscapes. I would imagine this book would appeal to a wide age group - my younger daughter also liked it, but the photography is so beautiful that it could equally be enjoyed by much older children who have any interest in animals and/or photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will inspire children, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Keith Lawson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Uncomplicated but imaginative. Designed to look like a scrapbook collection of photos (excellent quality) and information, it will appeal to young minds. I believe it could inspire careers in wildlife and photography, or at least a passion. Tidbits of information not only on the animals in our cold regions but also on working and taking photographs. I think the kids will be very amused at the snow toilet!
Adults will enjoy reading with children and then letting them read for themselves. I see no reason why not to take it a stage further and get the kids to create their own scrapbooks, either by cutting out pics from magazines or taking their own photos of local wildlife, with observations. This book is a boon to infants teachers, as well as mum and dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for budding adventurers or photographers!, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My Polar Animals Journey is a stunning book full of beautiful wildlife photos and is divided clearly between the the Polar North and the Polar South. So, it contains polar bears, a range of penguins, albatrosses, arctic foxes, whales and seals. There are also some great pictures that show the practicalities of daily living such as the igloo toilet! It contains good basic information about the animals given in an accessible way, such as a male polar bear weighing the same as seven men.

At the end there are some basic tips of creating your own photographs, such as getting some practice by using stuffed toys, and also some basic photography projects.

Fantastic value for money, this really is a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Colliesaluki "Gub" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
what a lovely book, the photos and information are excellent,it makes ideal reading for older children but also a great book for reading with younger kids.

the discussions it sparks off are interesting and informative, but at it's very least it provides fantastic photos for a great picture book.

the information provided is not too intense but just enough for children to gain an insight into the lives and habitats of all the creatures it portrays.

it leaves everyone wanting more of the same, to see these wonderful animals in their natural environment, and how they interrelate with each other and nature.

wonderful, more of the same please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Polar Animals Journal: In search of Polar Bears, Penguins, Whales and Seals
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews