Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Seen the exhibition had to get the book
Saw the original exhibition in Madrid well worth having
Published 8 months ago by Tresise

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing
The photographs in this book are of poor quality. They are too dark and grainy. It was a big disappointment.
I compared the photos in this book with the very same photos in other books, such as "The Europeans", where the quality of photos is far better. The photos of this "Here and Now" look as if they were scanned. It is really poor.

The book is "a...
Published 14 months ago by lucas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 8 May 2014
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
The photographs in this book are of poor quality. They are too dark and grainy. It was a big disappointment.
I compared the photos in this book with the very same photos in other books, such as "The Europeans", where the quality of photos is far better. The photos of this "Here and Now" look as if they were scanned. It is really poor.

The book is "a monograph published to accompany France's first major retrospective since the photographer's death in 2004".
It traces the whole career of Cartier-Bresson but it does a poor job on that because Cartier-Bresson's life was made with photographs and the ones in this book are of rather poor quality that doesn't do justice to the original photos or the photos in other books. I don't think this book is worth ordering at all and I will be returning my copy.

If you are interested in Cartier Bresson's books then keep an eye on "Henri Cartier-Bresson: The Decisive Moment" which is, according to its publishers, an exact facsimile of the original "Images à la Sauvette-is" published in the 50s and one of the most important photography books ever. The book will be released by the end of september for about £80. Don't let the price scare you. The average price of the original book on Abebooks is £1000...

You could also check the excellent "Photographe", the French edition of "Henri Cartier Bresson Photographer" . It costs £46 whilst the version in English costs four or five times that. Have in mind that there is a short text in French. Everything else is image...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
To be honest, I don't think it's the best book available. The quality of the printing is cheap, so I'm not entirely satisfied. I can't complain because it wasn't expensive but I would have preferred to pay a bit more and get better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seen the exhibition had to get the book, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
Saw the original exhibition in Madrid well worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
Packaging not brilliant but fantastic value book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
By 
M. A. Markey "Absonus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
One of the clear best buy books of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 10 May 2014
By 
Loren N. Lind (COLLINGSWOOD, NEW JERSEY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
This is one of the great collections of one of the most important photographers of the 20th century. A magnificent publication that anyone who has an interest in great photo images should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Michael David Treacy (Lewes, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now (Hardcover)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now
Henri Cartier-Bresson: Here and Now by Alain Seban (Hardcover - 24 Mar. 2014)
£29.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews