Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book arrived in perfect condition
I've been after this book for a while so when I won some money on a Photo competition I didn't give a second thought about buying it. Despite other comments to the contrary, my copy arrived in perfect condition and it's only protection was a small amount of brown paper around the sides and top. It was despatched through Hermes not Royal Mail so maybe that helped. I also...
Published on 27 Oct. 2012 by idazz

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating content, Badly bound, Dreadfully packed by Amazon
If you are a serious photographer than you will be fascinated by this book. You will already know many of the photographs featured in the book. What you won't have seen is what other photographs were on the same roll of film. This book shows you that. If you've spent hours agonising over which of several versions of a picture is the one to show the world you'll want to...
Published on 18 Nov. 2011 by John Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Photojournalists, 15 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
Magnum is the photo agency, set up in 1947, that has represented some of the world's most celebrated photojournalists, including Robert Capa, Don McCullin, and Herbert List. Often compared to an artist's sketchbook, the contact sheet, a direct print of a roll or sequence of negatives, is the photographer's first look at what he or she captured on film, and provides a uniquely intimate glimpse into their working process.
The images featured - both celebrated icons of photography and lesser-known surprises - encompass over seventy years of history: from the Normandy landings of 1944, and the Paris riots of 1968, to René Burri's filmic sequence of close-ups of Che Guevara, classic New Yorkers by Bruce Gilden, and Eve Arnold's iconic portrait of Joan Crawford. This landmark book presents an unparalleled wealth of unpublished material, revealing the story behind many iconic and historical images of modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Contact Sheets Rewarding in many aspects, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
MR IAN M MCCURRACH (ABERDEEN, Aberdeenshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
I have been exploring this book regularly over the past month and find that the biographical details and illuminating notes on the individual photographers work featured to be consistently rewarding.Kirsten Lubben sets the context and relevance of Photographers Contact sheets in an insightful and very well written introduction.The presentation and chosen scale allows for an experience close to viewing actual size contact sheets allowing the reader to view individual frames easily.
It does not so much "drop" through the letterbox as be handed to you with the warning that " it is heavy"….it certainly commands respect and has an authority that is enviable. Unique and worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for anyone interested in photography, 21 Jan. 2012
By 
Philip Giles (Thurlaston, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
In kind with some of the other reviews, I agree that the binding on this book is very poor, especially considering the price. Even at £50 it should be a to better than it is - and £90 it's pretty inexcusable!

Once you get past the fact is will probably come apart at some point, the content is absolutely engrossing. I love the whole concept of the book and for the first time is it possible to see how situations evolved leading up to (and after) some of the most powerful photographs ever created. It a book I'll go back to time and time again. A must buy for anyone interested in Magnum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars film or digital: doesn't matter - this book is highly recommended for every serious photographer, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Hardcover)
Magnum Contact Sheets is a fantastic - but really heavy! - book, absolutely recommended for every serious photographer. I was fortunate enough to see the exhibition in Budapest last year as well and was instantly hooked. This is the second edition which is a bit cheaper than the previous one, so there's no excuse not to buy this book for this great price. Images are near print quality and everybody - whether shoots film or digital - can learn a lot of things from these contact sheets of the best photographers in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The view behind the scenes..., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
...of the most prestigious photo agency.

Contact sheets, at least in analog/film times was the witness of how a photographer looked at their subjects.
Magnum now has published for many of their photographers the contact sheets, and the story behind an iconic image.
This is a great source for inspiration, for understanding how the great photographers see and work and maybe removes some myths how pictures are created.
Definitely the book for people who want to learn from the masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
If you're serious or passionate about photography this is a must have book.
Sooner or later you will need to understand why the photographer picked that particular photo over all the others and now with digital that you shoot hundreds of photos of the same event this is more important then ever.
The authority that comes from being Magnum's own files only makes it even better and mandatory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Hardcover)
This book is huge and beautiful. No complaints about the print quality, it is flawless.

It has a lot of really well-known classics and awesome backstories to every contact sheet. The most important photos in every sheet are enlarged on the opposite page, so you can see all the tiny details.

In my opinion, this is a must-have for all photography enthusiasts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster of a book in more than one way, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
This is a big heavy book but it's packed. I just love it. I always had the impression that 100%of Magnum photographers images would be sharp and correctly exposed. What a relief it was to find out that these guys are not infallible and like most photographers not all images are perfect. However the contact sheets are a great way to see what was shot and what was used. The used images are iconic.

May sound strange that I like the book warts and all but I really do like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a lot of book, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
My son bought this book with his christmas money, Very large heavy book and after reading other reviews regarding pages coming loose he has been vary careful when reading it.
He is very please with the book and its contents and glad he got it. The book arrived promptly and was well wrapped, Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Tanaka (shropshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
Wonderful book which gives great insight into some of the worlds most famous photos. Unfortunately, despite arriving in good condition, one 'chunk of around 15-20 pages in the middle of the book have been bound in upside down, splitting up 2 double page photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue)
Used & New from: £58.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews