Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster of a book in more than one way
This is a big heavy book but it's packed. I just love it. I always had the impression that 100%of Magnum photographers images would be sharp and correctly exposed. What a relief it was to find out that these guys are not infallible and like most photographers not all images are perfect. However the contact sheets are a great way to see what was shot and what was used. The...
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke

versus
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating content, Badly bound, Dreadfully packed by Amazon
If you are a serious photographer than you will be fascinated by this book. You will already know many of the photographs featured in the book. What you won't have seen is what other photographs were on the same roll of film. This book shows you that. If you've spent hours agonising over which of several versions of a picture is the one to show the world you'll want to...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by John Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster of a book in more than one way, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
This is a big heavy book but it's packed. I just love it. I always had the impression that 100%of Magnum photographers images would be sharp and correctly exposed. What a relief it was to find out that these guys are not infallible and like most photographers not all images are perfect. However the contact sheets are a great way to see what was shot and what was used. The used images are iconic.

May sound strange that I like the book warts and all but I really do like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating content, Badly bound, Dreadfully packed by Amazon, 18 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
If you are a serious photographer than you will be fascinated by this book. You will already know many of the photographs featured in the book. What you won't have seen is what other photographs were on the same roll of film. This book shows you that. If you've spent hours agonising over which of several versions of a picture is the one to show the world you'll want to see the images which were rejected by some great photographers.

If I was rating the content alone I'd give it 5 stars However.....

This is a huge a very heavy book. Thames and Hudson have cosen to attach the bound pages to the cover by the end papers alone (see the user contributed picture on this page). The consequence of this is that the weight of the pages begins to pull the endpaper off the covers. If you are unlucky the endpaper begins to tear and the covers come off the book.

Also Amazon packs this book in a box which is quite a bit bigger than the book itself. They put screwed up paper in the space round the book to "protect" it. This is a recipe for disaster. The box gets thrown about during shipment, the box stops but the book keeps going. The screwed up paper is no protection and the cover gets badly damaged. I've had two copied from Amazon and both were severely damaged in transit.

To Amazon's credit their refund and replacement service is first rate.

Sadly I've had a refund and will not be buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great content and fine publisher, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Alexander Komarov (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
This is a great book and fine compilation.
Unfortunately the book has a very poor binding. The front end sheet was torn off right after the opening of the book. Just by the weight of the book's front cover.

IMPORTANT UPDATE!

Thames & Hudson offered me free copy of this book right after my feedback posting. The brand new book well packed was delivered by UPS from London to Moscow in one day.
Great job, guys! Many thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
5 stars for the excellent content but 1 star for the 10 creased and torn pages.
Weighs a ton by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but awful packaging !, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
Great book, but like others my copy arrived in cardboard packaging that was too large and padded with screwed up brown paper. The spine had recieved a blow and the dust cover had a small tear at the same location. Not really good enough for a book,costing this much. Great book but awful packaging, I would have expected better from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 30 Dec 2011
By 
T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
This book is simply amazing, a fascinating study of something I knew little about beforehand. My copy came via Book Depository and as usual from them was in perfect condition. I can see what other people have said about the binding but I think as long as it's packed properly before transit you'll be fine. Just bear in mind it's huge and heavy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, inspiring, and indispensable, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
Never been moved to write a review ever, so I think it says everything about the content of this excellent Magnum book that it's managed to make me break my duck.

I'm a massive photography enthusiast (and photographer), with a wide collection of photography books - collaborations, retrospectives, and monologues - but this has brought something completely new to the table. As you flick through you'll recognise some famous photographs by some famous photographers. The genius part is that you get to see the whole process of how they came to that shot through the contact sheet and the views that they share. It's a real eye-opener - to re-live the moment, and the thought-process behind the composition of a subject of a picture is something I'd never thought I'd have the opportunity to see. It's also great to see that not every photo they took was 'Magnum' standard!

I haven't noticed anything with the binding that some reviewers have pointed to - this is only the first day of having it, but having flicked through it for most of the evening it seems pretty robust so maybe Magnum have listened to feedback and created a sturdier spine.

For me this isn't only a 5* photography book, but an indispensable insight into the minds of some of the greatest photographers that have ever lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, amazing content. POOR BINDING!, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
What an amazing book. It is an amazing source for any and all amateur photographer, photojournalist, or anyone wishing to know about the stories behind an image. I also own Magnum stories which is great, and I would highly recommend.

Unfortunately, there is a huge problem with this book. I've ordered it twice here on Amazon, and the other bookseller only to have to send it back. I don't know if it's the sheer weight of the book, improper packaging, or poor manufacturing, but both books had a detached spine. I actually considered going to my local paper source or bookbinder to have it fixed, but I shouldn't have to pay more money just to fix an obvious issue.

I would say order the book, but inspect it as you get it. Hopefully it was just a few bad batches, you will be spared the disappointment of having to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars abysmal, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
The content of the book is fascinating although the production values are not great. Luckily no binding problems as per other reviews; all pages intact.

The most disappointing element is amazon's packaging. Placed loose in an overlarge box with paper on the top only. The gift wrapping was badly ripped on two corners because the book could move in the box.

It will be interesting to see how they deal with the complaint.
No more expensive book orders with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing binding for such a good book, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue) (Hardcover)
I already have a lot nice books about the best photographers, but to be able to see behind the curtain of famous pictures is just an unique experience. It is very informative about the way the different photographers work.

Before to purchase this book, I read the comments, and thought the unfortunate experience to receive a book with some binding issues was just bad luck on one isolated product.
Unfortunately, I receive the book on wednesday, had time to open it 2 times so far and the interior of the cover binding already goes off.
And by comparing my item to picture of the books I can see online (on the editor's website for instance or amazon itself) it seems that my item has been exposed to the sun for a long time : the black glossy titles (magnum on the front and side) and the red are bleached!

In addition to this, the package came completely torn out on one side, which causes a 2cm scratch on the edge of the front cover

So great book, great printing but bad binding for a book at 95, . very disapointing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magnum Contact Sheets (Int'l Center of Photography, New York: Exhibition Catalogue)
66.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews