Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '...and now the rest of the story...', 14 Jun 2004
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
On page six of this large book, Stephen Shore writes, in the Artist's Note, 'The book you are holding in your hands amounts to what might be called the photographic equivalent of a director's cut.', and in the nature of such things you now get an additional ninety-four photos with the forty-nine that were in the original 1982 Aperture edition of the book, though this is not strictly true because some that were in the original are not in this edition.

I bought the original book because I loved the way Shore captured the everyday urban American outdoors and of course the amazing colour and detail. This new edition is even better because the photos are now larger, mostly 10.5 by 8.25 inches. The other thing I love about some of these photos is the way Shore captures the street corner, this seems to be a favorite composition (stretching back to the famous FSA photos of the Thirties) with contemporary photographers and Photorealists painters like Richard Estes or Davis Cone. Shore's 'El Paso Street, Texas, July 5, 1975' could just as easily be an Estes painting. There are several corner photos in the book and they are just stunning.

Another reviewer (on US Amazon) has commented on the amount of detail in these photos, helped of course by the two hundred plus dot screen, the original book used a 175 dpi. Apart from the screen it is interesting to compare images that appear in both books and the color does vary. 'Beverly Boulevard, June 21 1975' in the original (page 39) is predominately brown for the street area, in this edition (page 115) it has changed to a predominately blue cast. I wonder if this is the sort of thing that concerns collectors of first edition photo books?

In addition to the photos in this beautifully designed and printed book there are two text pieces, the first one, by Stephen Schmidt-Wulffen, includes twelve photos from Shore's 'American Surfaces'. The back of the book includes biographical notes and a useful bibliography.

This latest 'Uncommon Places' will be a book I'll look through for some years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Shore:Uncommon Places: The Complete Works, 4 July 2009
By 
H. E. Harris (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
If you are both a fan of large format colour photography and a disciple of the New Topographics movement of the 1970s, then this book is a must. Shore takes you on a journey across the USA and Canada, giving you a visual diary of the places and the people he encountered. It is not a travelogue, but a vital and beautiful chronicle of the life and times of 1970s USA. The way Shore can turn an ordinary scene into a multi-layered statement on the world around us is amazing. Oh, and by the way, the image and printing quality is second to none. Just marvel at the detail and the hidden secrets in the images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A photographers' photo book., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented, produced and well rounded book that presents an aspect of Stephen Shore's work very well. The relatively large and landscape format does great justice to the large format images and the colour has a very negative film feel to it as opposed to a colour reversal, contrasty transparency one.
Some would argue the images seem hum-drum and ordinary looking, they may even say theres a bit of "I could do that" about them. I would say those folk are not looking at, merely seeing the pictures.
Anyone with a nostalgic nemory of what the US was like in the 1970's and 80's will really like this I believe.
It is a period piece this heavy book, and I like it tremendously.
Well worth the purchase and at a terrific price with excellent despatch - so great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous journey, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
It's just plain amazing. You feel as if you time-traved to the 70's and made a huge car ride all around the USA. Great documentary work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Shore, Uncommon Places, photo collection, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
Fascinating book of Shore's work showing a keen eye for the uncommon within the common or ordinary.
Excellent source book for students of photography who focus upon urban scapes and demographic variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Shore - Excellent work and book, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
Shore is an essential listing in anyones collection of photographic material (books or prints). This book gives a great overview of his work and influences and is reproduced very beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An American Photographic Roadtrip, 23 Dec 2011
By 
N. Sheppard "Neil Sheppard" (London, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
Facinating and stylish, as its title suggests, this book takes you on a trip round the America you see every day, yet never bother to really notice. Shore a master of colour photography. The subjects may be everyday, but the quality and composition are anything but. My personal favorite is the Standard Gas station in LA. An everyday scene, but somehow, a work or art, like pretty much the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Saccheri Paolo (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
Wonderful, nothing else to say.
He's a master of colour photography in my opinion.
And this is a great book.
Highly recommended for your library and to look into every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 28 July 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
Stephen Shore is a photographer who has intrigued, illuminated and baffled in equal measure since he first emerged as a serious photographer in the seventies. His USP at the time was the revolutionary use of colour (yes, really) but, in the aftermath of this profound shock his work can be viewed from the viewpoint of the more sophisticated viewer. Colour art photography no longer is an issue of concern or debate, it is here and we accept it.

What I think, in the final analysis, is the lasting influence of Shore's work is that he used a medium format camera in a documentary style, grabbing snapshot quality photographs that, due to the nature of the camera used, would have taken an age to set-up.

The detail, dynamic range and colour pallette of these large format images is just stunning, what is of huge importance is what he chose to turn the lens to with these precious exposures. So, we have street corners, diner interiors, left overs from a greasy meal and hotel interiors, the type of thing we often take ourselves with a digital camera.

These images are definitely of a time and a place but they do not suffer for this. They are both a documentary record of a rapidly disappearing America that was on the cusp of being homogenized by big corporations and an emotional insight into a world that was.

Given that people the world over know (or think they know) America in minute cultural detail, these photographs make you nostalgic for a place you never visited. I think if Shore worked in a less culturally relevant country these images would lose much of their impact.

In another book concerning Shore (see my review: http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R17SHXWCXD030U/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm )
Shore discusses with an interviewer how great works of art are not immmediately decipherable and need intense and repeated viewings to 'activate.' This is a great description for many of Shore's works, they gain power and impact when studied closely.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift. He was very impressed that ..., 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift. He was very impressed that I had found this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works
Stephen Shore: Uncommon Places: The Complete Works by Lynne Tillman (Hardcover - 7 Jun 2004)
Used & New from: £59.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews