Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It�s above the rest
This book is fabulous. I have it lying around in the living room and just look at a few of the pictures at a time - this way it takes a while to read and every picture can be savoured. There is a picture for every day of the year and a couple of paragraphs about each picture that gives some background to the picture and ties it into the theme of the book - Ecology. The...
Published on 16 Aug 2004 by S. Greig

versus
9 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what is expected.
Be careful if you are buying this book without seeing it in person first. I love looking at ariel photos. However, this book has very few photos of places that people know. Out of the five or so photo's of the UK they are predominently of the Wiltshire Chalk Figures. As nice as these are there are plenty of more beautiful sites within Britain.
There are many other...
Published on 1 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It�s above the rest, 16 Aug 2004
By 
S. Greig (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Earth from the Air - 365 Days (Hardcover)
This book is fabulous. I have it lying around in the living room and just look at a few of the pictures at a time - this way it takes a while to read and every picture can be savoured. There is a picture for every day of the year and a couple of paragraphs about each picture that gives some background to the picture and ties it into the theme of the book - Ecology. The beginning of each month has a short essay by a scientist or similar subject matter expert about a particular ecological subject. I personally have not been reading them very closely!
The pictures are obviously why people buy this book and they certainly impress - they range from the famous (Venice) to eye-opening (The Hiroshima memorial building) to the whimsical (tyre tracks on an airport runway)! Every picture is wonderful and even if one does not appeal there are 365 other pictures to drink in. A nice feature is that the Lat/Long of each picture is shown so the very adventurous can go and see the locations for themselves!
All in all, a brilliant book to leave lying around and to sample whenever you have a spare five minutes. Drink in the wonderful pictures and then fantasise about visiting the locations in person. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Medium is the Message, 12 May 2004
This review is from: The Earth from the Air - 365 Days (Hardcover)
Almost pointless to review this book of lavish photographs on a site where you can't see the images, but take this one on trust: this is the most beautiful book in the world, ever. The photographs, one for each day of the (leap) year, are stunning aerial shots of the most striking features of every country in the world. It outscores its sister volume, The Universe: 365 Days, in sheer variety, believe it or not. Leave it open on your table, turn a page every day and you have a year's worth of wonder and fascination. Yesterday I had ice floes in northern Canada, near the Arctic Circle - just to the corner of the page, in the middle of one of the great white slabs, is a tiny speck than turns out to be a person. Today it's a village of subsistence living in the Sahara desert, near Timbuktu, where the only thing that makes the crops grow is the manure from the animals they feed with the crops...
Best of all, it's not just showy natural phenomena that catch the cameraman's eye - a lattice of working-class housing in Belfast or the scarred and crazed surface of a highway in Kentucky carry just as much interest. The only low point is the occasionally sanctimonious tone of the accompanying text, which invariably switches halfway through each description from telling you what you're seeing to a jeremiad against human beings and how we're wrecking everything. I could have done with more detailed explanations of the images. But you don't have to read the words: just look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book has a big wow! factor and is a definate must have.., 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
'Earth from the air - 365 days' is a compact compilation of some of the most beautiful aerial photographs ever. Beginning with its appearance, I find the book aesthetically captivating, both in its size and content. Although considerably smaller than Bertrand's former large-scale 'The Earth from the Air', I find this daybook version allows for more efficient presentation and viewing of Bertrand's beautifully photographed images. The only drawback of the book's smaller size may mean for some viewers, the images viewed are a tad too small to be fully appreciated. Yet I find, for a surprisingly small book, its compactness is completely adequate for viewing some of the most amazing collection of world landscapes and environments. The book has an amazing great big wow! factor. And if I had to sum up in one word, it would be impossible to describe a book that I find incredibly irresistible, compelling, amazing, stunning, gorgeous....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Earth from the Air, 18 Oct 2001
This is a delightful book! It contains 365 arial photographs, one for each day of the year. They cover the whole world, cities, cultivated and uncultivated land, rivers and oceans,some showing an unspoiled paradise, others the visual effects of war, pollution and despoilation.All the images are beatiful. some clearly recognisable, others more like absract paintings. Each is accompanied by a page of thought provoking commentary, This is a book to return to again and again.
My only criticism is that is deserved a larger format to do justice to it... but that would have moved it outof my price range!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 28 Dec 2001
By 
Stuart Olliver "Stuey" (Devon, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was well worth the wait from mid-November when it was put on my "wish-list" until I opened it on Christmas Day. You won't believe the weight of this book, considering it's size. It's very heavy. The pictures are too good for words, and the words that accompany each picture are both interesting and informative.
A wonderful book for either the coffee table, or if like me you don't have a coffee table, it will live a happy life in the bathroom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book!, 18 Nov 2001
A gorgeous book for anyone who loves travel, photography or just books generally.
If, like me, you're the sort of person who requests a window seat on aeroplanes in the hope of a glimpse through the cloud of the land beneath then this is a book you simply must have - don't wait til Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major "Wow" Factor book, 14 Nov 2001
By 
I love this book! Excellent photography and short-enough-to-stay-interesting narrative make it extremely browsable in a coffee table sort of way. Stunning photographs from all over the world reveal the geomorphological, biological and human patterns and variations across the face of our planet. An awe-inspiring collection.
The only thing I'd query is why hang the "page a day" type emphasis to the book..... the 365 day calendar effect kind of gets on my nerves as it doesn't seem to add anything.
Because of the weight of its pages, I'm also unsure how well the binding of the book will last, but for the price I guess you can't have everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 366 Days Of the World, in a book 366 million times smaller!, 26 July 2004
This review is from: The Earth from the Air - 365 Days (Hardcover)
What a great book. Picked it up whilst in Sussex Stationers one day and could not put it down, was forced by myself to buy it there and then. Anybody that is remotely interested in the natural world outside of their own, i am sure will feel the same way i do about this remarkable collection of photographs from around our world. From the slums of Rio to the idillic cottage in central England, this book shows and tells a great story, one of supreme diversity and extremes of nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning views, 15 April 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'd flicked through this in the bookshop and resisted shelling out so much money on just one book, but my wife bought it for my birthday.
Stunning photography, one can imagine that some of the scenes were especially staged for the shot (obviously not!), and some of the shots are so bizarre that one has to double-take to make sure one is seeing right.
I think a previous revieqwer missed the point, it's about images, not well-known places. The author's eye for beauty and form can even find it in rubbish, pollution and slums, very often it is the angle of the light which transforms the picture from an ordinary shot, into something startling, as in the evening view of Haghia Sofia in Istanbul, with the rest of the city in shadow - just awesome!
The text is opposite the photo - so you are not constantly having to refer to an appendix - with an apposite quote to help you appreciate the beauty (or not) of the composition.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Ideal Gift, 25 Aug 2002
By A Customer
You cannot fail to be impressed by this book which contains some spectacular views with a penchant for the artistic, although it seems perhaps you can, according to one reviewer, who is right in saying there are better views of England than the handful of pictures of Wiltshire. The notes accompanying each picture are weak, simply beacause they are mostly concerned with measurements than points of interest, but you cannot discriminate for this reason alone, as the pictures speak for themselves, and all that is needed is the one line explanation and location.
Above all, this is a book that for me inspired an urge to travel to the likes of Thailand, Brazil and Northwest Africa etc. etc., or maybe not. Maybe I could spend a couple of weeks thumbing through the pictures. This is definitely a book I shall keep returning to and dipping into for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Earth from the Air - 365 Days
The Earth from the Air - 365 Days by Christian Balmes (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2003)
12.60
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews