Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing the earth from the air
This book holds so many diverse photographs - some geographic, others funny, others abstract and some reflecting the incredible features of nature, using images from all round the world. The photographs are informative and artisitc at the same time and the quality of precision and colour are fantastic. From dye wells in Morocco, camels with their shadows in the desert,...
Published on 2 Feb. 2003 by Claudine PROWSE

versus
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, great images, poor, poor layout.
I don't feel I can add much to the overall comments that have been raised, the images are indeed first rate, however I'd like to emhasise that the arrangement in this book seriously detracts from it, a travesty given the wonderful images it contains.
The use of double page spreads almost exclusively is visually awkward in a book you cannot actually lay flat, and the...
Published on 25 Dec. 2004 by enpmdg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, great images, poor, poor layout., 25 Dec. 2004
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
I don't feel I can add much to the overall comments that have been raised, the images are indeed first rate, however I'd like to emhasise that the arrangement in this book seriously detracts from it, a travesty given the wonderful images it contains.
The use of double page spreads almost exclusively is visually awkward in a book you cannot actually lay flat, and the focal point of many images lies directly in the fold. There are many images that are 'written off' purely through poor layout in the book, and for a book of this price (and images of this merit) I expect better. There is some justification in that the images are well ordered and plenty of good background detail given, but this is a book that presents the images, and adequate presentation of these images must be paramount, ahead of all other concerns. I concede that the images will be secondary to many, but I feel this is marketed as a book of photos, and hence these must take precedence.
I only write this as it is such a waste, the images themselves are extraordinary, I feel a sense of frustration that common sense couldn't prevail and images could not have been kept to one page or arranged in a less damaging manner. The more I look through the book the angrier I get, as so many images are impaired in this way. The fact that the images are so good is really the cause of my anger - I keep thinking of 'what could have been', and how simple it could have been to achieve it.
If the French version does indeed use single page images (as suggested in an earlier review), I would urge everyone who is interested to seek out a copy of that instead, the images deserve far better presentation than has been implemented here.
I cannot state strongly enough, the images are very good. Unfortunately I must include the caveat that questionable production has severely dented their impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing the earth from the air, 2 Feb. 2003
By 
Claudine PROWSE (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
This book holds so many diverse photographs - some geographic, others funny, others abstract and some reflecting the incredible features of nature, using images from all round the world. The photographs are informative and artisitc at the same time and the quality of precision and colour are fantastic. From dye wells in Morocco, camels with their shadows in the desert, flamingoes in their masses to field shapes and rows upon rows of tulips, this book offers unending scope for looking so closely at detail and texture. I would reccomend this book to anyone interested in photography, geography or just wishing to enjoy a great mixture of images from different cultures. It really is stunning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Earth from the Air, 12 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
A fabulous book with masses of inspired and inspirational photograhy, and all supported by great explanations/facts about our planet. Its an enormous tome and great value for money.
An outdoor exhibition of the photos is currently touring the UK. It's been in Birmingham all summer, understand its in Bristol and London for the Autumn. This exhibition is well worth seeing - 'cos when you have you will HAVE to buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book - but you never see a whole photo, 21 Oct. 2005
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
This is a really amazing book, and the photos are stunning. It would, though, have been better if the book was printed in landscape format with one photo on each page. In this book many of the photos are totally ruined by the fold, which effectively splits the images into two separate entities. This is especially annoying when you consider that the center of the image - the part obscured by the fold - often containes the focus point (a tree or a man). Buy this book if you must, but if you can: buy another version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly amazing!, 1 Dec. 2004
By 
Ms M. Rea "corkdragon" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
I'm an art student and have always loved the way nature produces true masterpieces and we don't even notice it! This book shows us that we will never beat it's beauty. The photographs are fantastic, inspirational and gives you a sense of awe and wonderment. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves photography, landscapes and just beauty in their surroundings :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 April 2013
By 
Mr. I. H. Hamilton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
great visual images and well presented book, paper quality excellent and being hard-back was great value for money. Have bought from here before and never been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Earth from the Air, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures of the world and excellent value for money would recommend people to buy it. It can be a coffee table centre piece and a talking point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography., 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
Stunning photography. A coffee table must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Earth from the Air (Hardcover)
Beautiful and unusual pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Earth from the Air
The Earth from the Air by Yann Arthus-Bertrand (Hardcover - Nov. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews